We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average and Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sutherland House is not just Southwolds only seafood restaurant, it is also a neighbourhood restaurant which serves local food for local people.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Average and Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

8 of us visited Sutherland House last Friday evening for a family celebration. We were anticipating something special but were sadly disappointed and underwhelmed. The best word to describe the food was bland. The vegetable side dishes to accompany the mains were absolutely abysmal! Boiled chunks of carrot, cauliflower and broccoli! Could be so much more imaginative and tasty! Desserts were pleasant and nicely presented but nothing special. The service varied from disinterested to quite rude to gushing. Overall we were disappointed by our evening, the prices and reputation are indicative of something much better. I almost gave a 'poor' rating but there were one or two redeeming features and the restaurant is a nice building.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear reviewer
We were saddened to read that you felt our food was average.
I was particularly saddened to read you did not enjoy the complementary side dishes of additional vegetables. We pride ourselves on using the freshest seasonal ingredients from our own allotments whenever we can and would hope that most guests appreciate the flavour that these provide without the need for any additional sauces, I am sorry that you did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    182
    54
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a delicious 3 course meal here on our last night in southwold. Each course was full of flavour and cooked to perfection. Fantastic service- attentive without being overbearing and a lovely atmosphere. Would love to try every dish on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank salder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Southwold restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Three of us dined very well at this atmospheric Southwold restaurant. Razor clams and scallops followed by haddock were all well prepared and tasted fresh from the sea, even though scallops are not local. The dining room is very atmospheric with an ancient decorated ceiling. The service was superb and we will certainly be returning. We followed with delicious ice cream as we were too full for other desserts!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OldtravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I go to Southwold every year with friends and always visit this wonderful restaurant to enjoy a superb meal

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Good varied menu with perfect sized portions.

Best steak I've ever eaten - sweet and tender. Sticky toffee pudding very light and not over sweet.

Excellent service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing