We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sutherland House is not just Southwolds only seafood restaurant, it is also a neighbourhood restaurant which serves local food for local people.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having visited for a quite drink in the garden with a tittle tapas we decided to go for a meal . We were not disappointed. The service is excellent and the food first class. The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. We will certainly be visiting this little gem with our Geordie friends regularly . Thank you Andy and Gal and team.

Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 841 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a short break and do not usually eat in the hotels that we stay in as we like to sample local restaurants, however thankfully we had our Anniversary dinner here!
The food was wonderful, we complimented the chef the next day! Service impeccable and very friendly staff. The hotel/restaurant is run by Andy and his charming wife. Without doubt we will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent choice if you enjoy seafood, a more limited choice if you require red meat. We had not been for a couple of years but it was still good food in pleasant surroundings. Not a lively noisy place if you like that sort of thing. There are 2 sections of the restaurant, one part accommodates children, so mention which you would like when you book. Both the dressed crab and the halibut loin were top class and we shared a secretion of 'tapas' style starters. Pudding menu might be thought a little limited but those we had were homemade and delicious. One member of our party would have liked a larger plate of food but the rest of us were happily replete. Not the cheapest food on offer in Southwold but I think amongst the best. No parking adjacent to the restaurant so you may need to drop off any less able at the back where they can gain access via the nice garden (where you also eat) and then park on the common (5 min walk). Friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cicero57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were visiting Southwold for the day and had read about Sutherland House on tripadvisor.
The menu was very good. We had the daily special which was linquine with seafood and lobster bisque - the flavours were fantastic. All the staff were excellent and very friendly. I left my sweater behind and a few minutes later the manager came running down the street looking for us!!!
We would return when ever in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank SussexPeter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

8 of us visited Sutherland House last Friday evening for a family celebration. We were anticipating something special but were sadly disappointed and underwhelmed. The best word to describe the food was bland. The vegetable side dishes to accompany the mains were absolutely abysmal! Boiled chunks of carrot, cauliflower and broccoli! Could be so much more imaginative and tasty! Desserts were pleasant and nicely presented but nothing special. The service varied from disinterested to quite rude to gushing. Overall we were disappointed by our evening, the prices and reputation are indicative of something much better. I almost gave a 'poor' rating but there were one or two redeeming features and the restaurant is a nice building.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear reviewer
We were saddened to read that you felt our food was average.
I was particularly saddened to read you did not enjoy the complementary side dishes of additional vegetables. We pride ourselves on using the freshest seasonal ingredients from our own allotments whenever we can and would hope that most guests appreciate the flavour that these provide without the need for any additional sauces, I am sorry that you did not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing