We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”

The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 47 Restaurants in Southwold
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Swan is currently closed for an exciting refurbishment. Reopening Summer 2017.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We called in for afternoon tea after the Adnams distillery tour. The staff could not have been more helpful, we were a bit early but they still welcomed us with good humour. The food and tea were pure joy and at £25 per couple great value.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
I am glad that you took the opportunity to indulge in one of our Afternoon Teas and you thoroughly enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    101
    60
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal -excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a lunch with birthday friend and there were 14 of us on a large table in the dining room - great meal, excellent service, especially Mary, looked after us so well , table was beautifully decorated, if you have a birthday celebration go to the Swan. you will be looked after well.,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bredek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you – we don’t just do birthdays, come again for any occasion, Mary will be sure to look after you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Irish coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stopped for a brief drink, surroundings very pleasant but drinks expensive. We didn't eat but I wouldn't go unless for a special occasion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minifan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Please pop back for that special occasion soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Christmas Day lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

First time we've had Christmas lunch out and we were extremely impressed. Had a table of 8 friends upstairs in the library. Great food perfectly cooked. Staff couldn't do enough for us, especially Joanna. Will definitely be
back next year.
Thank you to all the fab staff for making our day so special.

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Special is exactly what Christmas Day should be, so I am thrilled that you had such a lovely experience – I will ensure your comments are passed on. See you next year, if not before?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Busy Saturday night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nicely cooked and presented food with interesting choices for 1st and main courses (wonderful venison) puddings a bit too fussy/heavy, cheeses would be better with a little salad.
Waiting staff were pleasant but could do with a lot more training as didn't know show any knowledge of the menu, took an age for me to get a glass of wine, they had served my husband with his beer!
A tad too long a wait between courses and we were there at 7 when it wasn't so full.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed the Venison and the interesting choices on offer. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Swan Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing