We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super lunch”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #27 of 50 Restaurants in Southwold
Price range: US$9 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Crown in Southwold is justly famous as a place to eat, drink and relax in a great atmosphere. The menu offers simple, outstandingly tasty dishes, unfussy and untampered with, made with the best quality, local ingredients. With an extensive wine list, you will be spoilt for choice for wines to pair with your delicious dishes. Or you might prefer an Adnams cocktail or pint of Adnams beer. Our chef and the team have a close relationship with local farmers and fishermen to ensure all our food and produce is as fresh, local and as seasonal as possible. The Crown’s menu changes regularly, depending on what our chefs have brought in fresh that morning from our local suppliers. However, we do keep some of our house favourites on the menu at all times.
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had a great lunch at The Crown on Sunday, the atmosphere was good, food delicious, smoked pigeon breast, delicious followed by halibut with buttered leeks and sautéed potato, both looked great and tasted just as good, husband had prawns followed by roast beef which he pronounced to be excellent. Well worth a visit, new menu, everything looked lovely, very tempting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Liz119462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to tell us about your experience. We are thrilled to hear that it was such an enjoyable one. We look forward to you dining with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 464 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is where tripadvisor really can't be trusted. The Crown is brilliant - atmosphere, service, food all superb. We have been coming here for years (but never wrote a review as we took it for granted they would have an excellent rating). However after a lengthy absence from Southwold, we checked tripadvisor and were misled into trying No 1 of 33. We only stayed long enough to find out we had made a big mistake and then hurried to the Crown for excellent pudding and coffee, which saved the day. In future we'll stick with what we know to be good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misslotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

It’s great to hear how highly you regard the Crown Hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words we do hope you visit us again soon and get to enjoy the full three courses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just got back from having a awesome sunday lunch at the Crown in southwold .
We walked in without reserving a table and were seated straight away by a polite member of staff.
The service was very quick and in no time we were enjoying our starter which was VERY tasty
me and my wife both opted for the roast beef main which with the roast potatoes & vegetables was cooked to perfection & melted in the mouth.
Topped off with a Fig & ice cream desert made the whole experience well worth the £49 we paid inc 2 rounds of drinks!.
All in all great food with very polite & attentive staff made for a great sunday afternoons dining experience.

We will be definitely going back and bringing friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carlosuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your feed back following your recent visit. We are thoroughly pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch at the Crown. We look forward to seeing you and your friends again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a very good lunch in here and it was very well presented and tasty food. Had the burger and croque monseur. Good beer of course

Thank soot30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have been visiting the Crown for at least 15 years. The food has always been good but the service is so hit and miss. Tonight a side order was missing, we were told it would be 2 minutes, finished meal no side order! Mentioned to manager who replied I know I'm sorry. Waited 15 mins without being offered desert menu. Asked for bill it came, manager asked if all alright and was surprised when we said no. We explained why and he was not really bothered. We do not expect this type of service for the prices charged here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review.
I am sorry to hear that the service you received was not up to standard on this occasion. We are currently undergoing extensive training with our team to ensure we are consistent with providing excellent customer service. I have also spoken with the duty manager on shift that day and he is very sorry if his responses came across in this manner but would like to assure you that he took all your comments very seriously and took time to speak to the relevant team members involved. Our apologies again and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing