We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1950s and all that..........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #9 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This place is a total time warp and the attitude of the owner is the same...breakfast 8till9 and the only breakfast option available is the greasy spoon - no yoghurt, no fruit-just rows of Kellogs cereals. The coffee they serve is revolting and on both mornings we were there the bacon was overcooked and the lone sausage was suffering from anorexia.
No duvets, just sheets and airtex blankets - pink at that! The shower had a complete mind of its own running hot one minute then cold.....ran out of hot water in our room on the first morning we were there......and the decoration quite unbelievable. Toilet for our room was down the corridor-not what we expected.
Positives were the place was clean and the owners very pleasant. However for £75 a night very poor value - on our next visit to Southwold we will avoid Avondale.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JERIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We popped in on the off chance there might be a vacancy and found the host Jo very welcoming and friendly. She showed us a choice of 2 rooms available so we could choose the room we wanted before committing to stay. Our room was immaculately clean with everything you need for a short stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Jo and the WiFi was quick and reliable.

The location is excellent and we found the room rate reasonable taking into account the well cooked breakfast and choice on the menu.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boogieknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A nice room and great breakfast. The parking situation could be considered a downside as the B&B has a lovely location on the sea front which only has roadside parking so if you wish to leave Southwold during the day and still have parking if you return mid afternoon you may struggle to park if the weather is good. A great spot which I would certainly recommend to friends

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hive42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This'd be a 4-star (comfortable, clean, good breakfast, single night booking on a Friday, advice on where to go in town, etc, etc) if it wasn't for the owners who were very warm and friendly and couldn't have done more to make me welcome and make this a 5-star. Great job!

Room Tip: The rooms are first and second floor, so ask for a first floor room if you can't handle many sta...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

It is what it is. This is not and does not pretend to be an upmarket hotel. However, it was clean, the owners really helpful and the view stunning. We enjoyed our breakfast and certainly intend to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

When I booked I read the reviews and was very doughtful
I think they must have stayed some where different to us as we had a wonderful stay ,
Every thing was very clean and the food was excellent so we defiantly be goong back well done Jo And Vincent

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gladpavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have just had a very pleasant four nights in this B&B - yes, its decor is dated - but so what? It's comfortable, clean, in a great location and the landlady very polite and welcoming. I, too, initially found the breakfast time slightly restrictive - resulting in us getting up earlier than on a work day! However, this did mean that we were up and out early enough to have some great days out.

Room Tip: Room one has a great view and a small balcony, even though the shower was literally in the corner of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mdexterlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southwold hotels
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
794 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#5 of 19 in Southwold
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sail Lofts
Sail Lofts
#17 of 19 in Southwold
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 18 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing