We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and really good room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avondale Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #9 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
East Anglia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and really good room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay here while on a walking holiday. The Guest House is very attractive and the room with ensuite was roomy and comfy, and very good value for money. Jo was very pleasant and helpful and she cooks a great breakfast too. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemontree133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Spent the weekend here and this guesthouse surpassed all my expectations. The rooms were very clean and the guesthouse was right by the beach. Jo was fantastic, she readily answered all our questions and made us feel so welcomed. She also makes a great breakfast. I travel a lot and Jo's breakfast was one of the best I ave ever had. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alkenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

My Husband I stumbled on this by accident , We actually decided to book once we spoke to the lady proprietor warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Although a review states this place is a little dated thats the beauty of the place why change something that's right. It's clean , tidy and the food is excellent coming from the hospitality industry take it from me great little find .
Well done credit where it's due !

Room Tip: Sea view is a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rissy895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

A nice small guest house on the sea fron and if you choose a front room a good view over the sea and to the pier. Breakfast is good and the hosts welcoming. parking on the road may be difficult in season but other times probably OK. easy reach to the town and its Restaurants and the pier is just 5 - 10 minutes walk. The Boardwalk restaurant is very good and at the start of the pier.

Room Tip: Sea views are good but the top floor room has a separate toilet and shower which may not be everybod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here April 2013. Very welcoming hosts, excellent service when booking over the phone and at all times during our stay. The Guest House could not be cleaner; bedding was fresh, rooms very cosy and spotlessly clean. Breakfast delicious - perfectly cooked and served in the bright breakfast room. Perfect location for exploring Southwold Town; free parking right outside; shops, cafes, pubs and pier only a few minutes walk; from the front door to the beach less than a minute! Have already booked to return later this year.

Room Tip: Raised position of the Guest House makes a sea view room well worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rf387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The guest house is very friendly but the accommodation is stuck in the 1970's and the breakfast was far from normal standards considering the cost. The room was very small and although I was alone had I had my partner with me it would have been intolerable, the shower in the corner of the room was very unique in todays market. The location is great on the front but that alone cannot justify the charges, customers also expect quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Our room was lovely and clean. We were welcomed by Vincent and showed our room. It was a large room lovely and clean with a sea view and view of the pier. Lots of tea making facilities. I must say we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was really nice, lovely atmosphere we found jo quite helpful and nothing too much trouble
Would certainly stay again.
Many thanks. Linda and Martin from Kent

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
12.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Property: Avondale Guest House
Address: 18 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing