We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value worst of 5 places we stayed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #9 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2010

back to the bad days of a guest house. breakfast 8 to 9am in a holiday resort, breakfast poor quality, rooms need updating, blankets no quilts, dust in a few places, did not go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank single-dad-glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Avondale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

Having booked after looking at their website this guesthouse did not live up to expectations. The room was very small, with only a shower in it and a toilet down the passage. We were expecting an ensuite bathroom.The furnishings were clean but very old fashioned. The welcome was not good, very curt and uninterested, almost to the point of rudeness. The coffee was from a packet, and frankly horrible. Every other place we have stayed at has produced fresh coffe, not difficult.Overall it felt very expensive for what we got, compared to other B and B's we have stayed in this year. I would not not recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleggyknowlesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

After reading the last review we this was to be a bad weekend,but we were pleasantly surprised.The breakfast was basic,but the rooms were clean and the location could not be better.The landlady was friendly and efficient and helpful .My wife said she found the bed uncomfortable although i did not mind it.The rooms were fine for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel is in such a need on renovation. The service is pleasant enough and the breakfast was nice, but I don't think it's been touched sinced 1990. And for a single night at a rate of £50, I found it rather steep for what was on offer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
784 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,035 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 18 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing