We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Smokin!”
Review of Sole Bay Fish Co.

Sole Bay Fish Co.
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.solebayfishco.co.uk/index.php
Thetford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Smokin!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food - the bread came out fresh and warm and very good value for money. The fish was lovely. When you arrive you see a small black shed looking building and think ok this could be interesting, but when you walk inside you notice the hard work that has gone into making the place welcoming, and I just love this place. We booked to go again in two weeks because we loved it so much and we can't wait. A must visit but ensure you book.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baileyrupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    127
    30
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for Fish Lovers”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I visited Sole Bay a couple of years ago and was looking forward to returning. A pleasant walk from Southowold centre they have made some great improvements - extending the restaurant and creating a garden area. They are now licensed so no need to bring your own wine and they provide locally sourced bread. We went for the half lobster with chips each - beautifully cooked in garlic butter and at only £15 per head it's a bargain. The restaurant is has a lovely buzz and is now open on Friday evenings. It's best to book for lunchtimes and evenings as it gets very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best fish in town.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great place to eat now as well as the beast place to buy your fish. We didn't come prepared to eat here this visit but wish we had. Defiantly a must on our next visit to Southwold.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieandgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phone in advance or you could be disapointed!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Phone before you arrive to check what
rations are in stock! We arrived the other day to find no lobsters, no bread, and not even .lemonade! All in all a bit "rinky dink".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had an absolutely lovely meal here - pan fried sea bass on a bed of samphire with warm crusty brown bread - delicious & very filling. Looking at the seafood platters which other diners had made us want to visit again soon & sit in the outside courtyard. I recommend you book to avoid disappointment or arrive early as service finishes at 3pm for lunch (we missed out twice by arriving too late)

Helpful?
Thank RuthLast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sole Bay Fish Co. also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Sole Bay Fish Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing