We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A* From the two Teachers”
Review of Barley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barley House
Ranked #12 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2012

WE stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Martin and Dinka were exceptional and their B & B one of the best we have stayed in. They were really friendly, the rooms were excellent clean, beds comfortable and the en suite small but perfectly formed. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Morning tea in bed was a dream, breakfast was well cooked and as varied as you wanted it. Tea and coffee was available all day in the guest lounge with something stronger on an evening if required. We will certainly recommend Barley House to our friends and family for a short break or a longer stay. Really friendly people with lots of local knowledge so eating places and days out were not a problem. Hope they continue to go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: The front room as a sea view and a bath in the bedroom. The rear room has an en suite shower and a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Barley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just returned from 2 nights as the priveleged guests of Martin & Dinka at Barley House. As regular Southwold visitors we have stayed in many venues over the years, & we can safely say this is one of the very best we have ever experienced. From the moment the front door was opened to us, we knew we had found somewhere really special. From the cozy lounge for guests exclusive use, to the beautifully appointed bedroom (how cool to have a seaview from the bath!!), to the excellent breakfasts, to our hosts perfectly pitched friendliness - every detail was expertly designed to make us feel at home from the 1st moment. The rooms are on the small side, but they have everything you need; some guests may not enjoy the idea of sharing the breakfast table with complete strangers, but the food is so good that before long they'll hardly notice; the beds may be a little soft for some tastes, but the soothing sound of waves breaking just yards away ensures a good night's sleep. A couple of points to note, which may be overlooked on a quick peruse of the website -: The East Room (the one with the seaview) only has a hand held shower over the bath & no screen or curtain to stop the water ending up all over the room;& the venue is licencesed (a very well-stocked "honesty bar" in the guests' lounge), so bringing your own alcohol (or food) onto the premises is not permitted. We truly felt that we were saying farewell to new friends when we checked out - but our sadness was tempered by the fact that we have already booked to return in September!

Room Tip: only 2 rooms to choose from -: The east room has a seaview & a lovely bath in the corner of the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaz_n_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here with friends for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard and are spotlessly clean. The beds are superbly comfortable, I slept very well. The location is spot on, on the sea front, one bedroom has a sea view, and just a couple of minutes walk from the town. The breakfasts were good with lovely fresh fruits and freshly squeezed juices. The things that stood this place apart from others I have stayed in, were the use of the beautiful drawing room as your own sitting room complete with newspapers, honesty bar and coffee machine and the luxury of having tea or coffee delivered to your room before breakfast in the morning. What a treat! Dinka and Martin who own this lovely place are the perfect hosts, welcoming, warm and friendly and so interesting to chat to. By the time we left, we felt like we had known them for ages! The only slight downside was that we would have preferred it if our room had been equipped with a shower rather than a bath. However, I would whole heartedly recommend Barley House to others, staying there is a lovely, relaxing experience and I certainly hope to return myself in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthie3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We were treated to 2 nights here in September 2011 as a birthday treat for my husband and our children could not have chosen a more perfect location! We were treated as very special guests where nothing was too much trouble including a morning cup of tea in bed with the paper! The breakfast was superb with a very varied menu. This is a very special place situated within walking distance of all that Southwold has to offer. We hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
784 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
670 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley House

Address: 11 East Cliff, Southwold IP18 6JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Barley House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing