We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Barley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barley House
Ranked #12 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April and will definitely be back. Beautiful house very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Martin and Dinka are great hosts, so helpful and friendly and they do an amazing breakfast. I would recommend going with friends so you can have the house to yourselves. There are 2 rooms and we stayed in the West room overlooking the lighthouse, it is lovely & has a wonderful power shower but next time we might try the East room which has a bath & a sea view. It is in a perfect location near shops & pubs so no need to take the car out, although we visited Thorpe Ness, Aldeburgh & Orford on Martin's recommendation & they are well worth a day out. Walberswick is lovely too and we had a tasty lunch at The Bell Inn. I don't think you could find anywhere better to stay.

Room Tip: West room if you want an amazing power shower, East room for a bath with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just got back from a two night stay in the East Room at Barley House. Great location, spotlessly clean and very comfortable accommodation. Dinka and Martin were very hospitable. The breakfasts we had were top class. We had a sea view which was lovely. There are plenty of places to eat and drink on the doorstep. I cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March, and from the moment we arrived Dinka and Martin were the perfect hosts. We had the bedroom facing the lighthouse, a very comfortable room with a superb ensuite shower room. Excellent breakfasts that kept us going all day. Parked just around the corner which was fine (restricted parking right outside). Pot of tea in the morning delivered to the room was a lovely touch (but we did miss the freedom of waking up and making our own - just a little bit!). You get the free run of a comfortable lounge, shared with the occupants of the one other room (faces the seafront), and share the breakfast table with them too, very sociable.

We shall return!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay at Barley House in Southwold in November and have just got round to writing a review. Dinka and Martin are excellent hosts, who have transformed their home into delightful bed and breakfast accommodation right on the coast. The attention to detail was of the highest standard, with all rooms being lovingly decorated. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful using locally sourced produce and home-baked bread. The recommendations for eateries in the area were great and we especially enjoyed 'The Lord Nelson' just around the corner, great food, friendly bar staff and an eclectic mix of locals and visitors. We are planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed at many B&B's all over the country and I think Barley House is one of the best, if not the best, we've ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived, and were made to feel so welcome, there was nothing that could have been improved upon. It felt more like staying with friends rather than just being paying guests. The guest sitting room was a very comfortable place to relax and enjoy the sea view. The B&B is very convieniently situated in the middle of Southwold with a great view out to sea. Next time we visit Southwold this will certainly be the place we will want to stay!

Room Tip: East room for sunrise and sea view. West room for power shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussy-eater-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

this is my first trip advisor review, but i felt compelled to write one now.

barley house is a lush, classy, BEAUTIFULLY decorated, homely, CLEAN, and perfectly located B&B. dinks and martin were so friendly and attentive to our needs, yet gave us the space to just do whatever we wanted.

i enjoyed sitting by the picture window playing games and watching the sea, i devoured their tasty breakfast (incredible fruit/granola bar as well as fresh baked bread and hot food) i strolled through the idyllic town and bought my first pair of hunter boots! (great shop...sorry i can't remember the name, but the local women were so helpful and kind) and i just UNPLUGGED in a setting that seemed pulled from the pages of a picture book.

i cannot recommend this place more. we will definitely be back.

(i would advise renting BOTH rooms, so you have the entire brilliant home to yourselves!)

Room Tip: (there was no pool, but i couldn't figure out how to not rate it!) RENT BOTH ROOMS and bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Quite honestly the nicest B&B I've ever been in. Great attention to detail, wonderful food, knowledgable and friendly owners, relaxed atmosphere, perfect location. Seriously, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Southwold if you paid me. There are not enough superlatives to describe what a fantastic experience staying here really is. We lay in bed each night watching the moonlight shine across the sea and listening to the waves lap on the beach. This B&B is one of those special places you sometimes come across in life.

Room Tip: Book the East Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreInHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southwold hotels
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
806 reviews
1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 4 in Southwold
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#5 of 19 in Southwold
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley House

Address: 11 East Cliff, Southwold IP18 6JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Barley House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing