We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super homely cottage...perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Loom Cottage (far side) in  Spinners Lane.  These are the 1st cottages on the right as you enter.   Loom/access to rear entrance via wrought iron gate (on right).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Loom Cottage (far side) in  Spinners Lane.  These are the 1st cottages on the right as you enter.
Loom/access to rear entrance via wrought iron gate (on right).
Wifi, Blu ray DVD player, 40in flat screen TV, great (up to date) films and books, plus games.
Comfy front room. Leather John Lewis sofas.
Loom Fireplace, Loads of quality books/games available.
3 Seater Sofa Bed, 2 seater sofa, armchair, footstool. Seats 7.
Home from home, tasteful décor. Quirky touches everywhere.40 ins TV, great DVDs!
Bathroom on the right of hallway, kichen/diner at rear. Stable door leads to back yard.
Hallway leading to kitchen/diner
Downstairs Bathroom with power shower over bath, shower switch in hallway. Shower switch in hallway.
Kitchen/Diner   Seating for 4. Stable door to back yard/ outdoor seating. Have breakfast outside!
Well stocked kitchen/diner. Electric touch control hob/ electric oven/ washer/dryer. Ample crockery.
Kitchen/Diner, stable door table and chairs outside
Have breakfast outside! Exit kitchen through stable door, sit in back yard
Stairs from kitchen leading to bedroom, enclosed, handrail, 10 stairs only.
Double Bedroom,  Comfy bed, cotton bedlinen, tranquil setting = a good nights' sleep!
Double bedroom, ample space
Cosy....
Twin Bedroom, comfy mattresses, headboards, 2 side lamps, quality cotton bedding.
Cosy and homely 2nd bedroom, entered via landing from stairs (not steep) with handrail.
Weekly stay Christmas/New Year Hamper
Short Stay (min 3 days) hamper for Christmas/New Year period. Lovely decorations also!
Lovely Christmas decorations in Loom.
Past Blyth Hotel, straight on past Crick Court,  shops (other side). 300m to Spinners Lane turning.
Turn right at John Bennetts Shop into Spinners Lane. Marks Fish + Chip Shop is further on the left.
The far end of Spinners Lane leads to nearby S-wold Common,  where there is additional free parking.
The garage is clearly marked, about halfway straight down The Lane, a few metres from Loom Cottage.
You are here! The first cottages you will see on the right in the lane! Watch the world go by...
Award winning Southwold Pier, see the quirky amusements, try the putting green, or the boating lake.
Take a Lighthouse Tour! See the inland (still in operation) lighthouse.
Gun Hill, famed for its' role in 'The Battle of Sole Bay..
Near the Pier, early evening.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Babs H
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Super homely cottage...perfect”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Booked a 5 night stay through TripAdvisor which was 100% easy. The cottage is just off the beaten track off the north side of the High Street. We've hardly used the car which has had a holiday too all locked up in a garage. Easy level walk to so many attractions, restaurants, shops, the pier & of course the beach. the cottage has everything you could want and is cosy & comfortable. There was just the 2 of us but it would be fine for 4. Just love it and will book again soon. 100% recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Well, this really is a perfect review! Love the 100 per cent recommendation, and also love the fact that you mentioned the space would be fine for 4! It's also helpful that you mentioned what an easy stroll it is to all the amenities! So glad you had everything you wanted, and that you loved it! Hoorah! What nice customers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolakec...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal location, great cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Really well appointed, this cottage has everything you need and feels homely. A stones throw from all local amenities and attractions, teenagers loved being able to come and go independently and we lacked for nothing during our stay. Great DVD selection! Our welcome biscuits and fizz were a kind thought. We would use your cottage again and recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
It's good to know your teenagers ( not the easiest group to please!) and yourselves had a good time in Loom Cottage. We love films and I enjoy making my selection for the cottages, glad this proved a hit with you! I keep the collection up to date, and I've also got the last 10 Booker Prize winning books in Loom Cottage! We like to keep our guests happy! Thank you so much for your lovely comments, the 5 star rating, and the recommendation, we would love to see you again! Whoopee!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorn58
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming cottage”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have stayed in this cottage twice & we return again in march. Well situated near to the top of the high st with the golf course just around the corner. Plenty of good tips & info inside the cottage, a superb town & a great stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you for this review, it's great to have feedback from a regular customer such as yourself! This proves how popular 'out of season'breaks are with customers. Southwold is now an all year round resort , and it's good to be able to offer added flexibility out of peak season, such as weekend stays/week day stays and on occasion/one night stays. We try to tailor our breaks to suit the customers requirements where possible! Thank you again, and we are so pleased to gain 5 out of 5! Hooray and have a great 2016!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy2468...
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Wow....lovely cottage. Loom Cottage and Southwold ticked all our boxes for a stress free couple of days. Kerry you have a beautiful cottage and you have thought of everything to make a stay stress free. We will be back the next time we need to escape from our stressful lives but hopefully sooner rather than later

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your mini break, and you have been so kind in giving us such a rave review. Southwold certainly is a welcome haven to relax in (a great stress buster) and we try our best to make Loom Cottage a great place to unwind as well ! Happy to help you recharge your batteries, and to use one of your words 'wow' what a great review! We certainly hope to see you again, and a massive thank you for the 5 out of 5!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ultra Comfortable, Friendly experience all round..”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Really enjoyed our stay, very good location and real homely feel to Loom Cottage. Lovely walks, and great food. We loved Southwold, and we will be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Thank you so much! Hope you will come back, we would love to see you!
5 out of 5! Hoorah! Southwold is a year round resort now, ideal for walking/exploring/eating/drinking etc at any time of year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoundonK
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location plus friendly helpful and timely advice made for a great break”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Long weekend for 50th birthday. Lovely little cottage in great central location with benefit of allocated parking.

Well equipped (small) kitchen. Lovely homely feel with great touches to make us welcome (tea and coffee, tissues, kitchen roll etc). We appreciated the extra effort with Christmas decorations.

Next to the common - walk to golf and the beach and into town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly pre-arrival information
Liked least: A dishwasher may have been more useful than a washing machine for us - very minor negative
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for this review, it sounds like you had everything you needed, and you had fun, which is great! Thank you also for mentioning all the little touches, and the service etc. It's such a perfect review I just wonder what we could have done to achieve a 5 star rating ?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waller1
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cottage was very well situated brilliant if you are taking a dog”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Common was at the bottom of the lane
The Beach was within walking distance as was the shops
The owners were very informative regarding were to go to eat and days out , we spend every day on the beach with the dog we all had a very good time (the weather helped)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Thank you, I'm glad you found the information useful and that you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing