We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff amazingly helpful and kind, let down by awful room.”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here for a wedding. We paid £300 for two nights. The room we stayed in was more out of a corporate hotel than a seaside Inn. The bathroom was mouldy and the whole feel of the room was quite uninviting. The saving grace of The Crown, however, were the staff. They could not be more helpful especially as we were staying with our one year old. Helpful hint, if you are staying with a baby and can bring your own travel cot, do. They charge for hiring one and it's the same travel cot as you would bring!
Would we stay here again? Maybe, as the service and food were excellent, just let down by the dated decor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1000greenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in Southwold 1 in each of Adnam's sister hotels The Swan and The Crown. This review applies to both hotels. Both were priced at £160 B&B for a "standard room" for 2. Neither offers good value for money at this level providing accommodation that is small, modestly equipped and at (The Swan) or below (The Crown) average charging a huge premium for location and for being owned by the town's dominant commercial enterprise. Service levels matched the accommodation, as did breakfast. The Town has some excellent B&B and Guest House Accommodation that offers vastly improved value for money. We will not return to either hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Did not stay at the Hotel only visited for a special lunch date!
Found food OK slightly over priced, but if service better would not have minded!
Drinks expensive and decor tatty, rather disappointed overall!
Would not recommend it!
Customer service lacking!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37jacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was a one night stopover to meet up with friends. The room rates were high for what you get, even though we had a pre-arranged package. There is no doubt the public rooms are very pleasant, typical English country pub and the service is good if a little brusque. Upstairs the rooms can't decide if they are country house hotel or seaside B&B. Quality but unmatched furniture with odd colour schemes, flat screen TV's which are on low tables, difficult to view from bed or easy chairs/sofa....it doesn't gel. In the evenings restaurant food is a bit hit and miss. It seems high on presentation (lots of slates in use) with plenty of 'jus', 'foam' and 'twists'. Some dishes were a bit spartan whilst something like the venison a real success. The veg option was basically a small amount roasted root veg balanced on a square of thin puff pastry, kale on the side , nothing else. Very 1970's. Southwold bears the nickname Adnams on Sea and whilst the brewery can hold its head against most, the Crown needs to do better if it is to justify those prices.

Room Tip: Front rooms look over High St and seem spacious if a bit chilly after August. Remember no lift and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalianTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We didn't stay here but DID eat here, twice over the same weekend despite staying elsewhere - basically, the food was so good that we returned on the second night for more of the same.

The main dining room/bar is chock full of character and the service was good - though slightly 'efficient' rather than overly warm.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank citroenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMadSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We have a new Head Chef at the Crown who is extremely passionate about food, and it is great to hear how much you enjoyed it. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Anyone pondering the death of the English holiday need go no further than the £140 per night Crown Hotel in Southwold and see what your money gets you. We spent three midweek nights and spent £600 in total after dinner and drinks. Yes the dining room was fantastic but our room on the top floor had very tired decor and we had to suffer the noise from the kitchen extraction fan system that runs up the length of the buildings' rear and operates from 8am till 11pm. Our bathroom window had clear glass which meant showering with the curtains pulled and the lights on every morning. The bed was comfortable but the room was rather cramped and the communal halls noisy. The television had only four channels. There was no fridge. We ordered a daily paper only to be presented with the bill for this as an extra at check out. For a £140 room I would have liked the hotel to offer free papers. Many people would prefer to spend £600 on a week long foreign holiday rather than three nights by the English seaside. I am as yet undecided. I have no major complaints about the Crown but for £140 for a standard room I think their rates are too high.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMadSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Crown, Southwold. On a positive note it was pleasing to hear that you have no major complaints about the Crown and that the dining room was fantastic. Guests however are absolutely right to expect value for money and I am sorry that you felt your room did not represent good value. Many of the Crown bedrooms have already been refurbished and there is a plan in place to attend to the remainder in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed for two nights midweek in the Crown and on arrival received a warm welcome from the smiling woman at the small reception. We were allocated room 10 on the second floor and although it had everything we needed and was very clean it was a bit dated and in need of refurbishment. Considering the Crown appears to be the 'flagship' of the Adnams hotels we think the decor has past its prime and the bathroom, in particular the shower, needs updating. This feeling of tiredness of decor is evident throughout the hotel. The room cost equated to £140/night including the breakfast which we think is a bit expensive given the tired look. The breakfast was ok but the food on both evenings was very good, the service was excellent and we really enjoyed two evenings in a very relaxed atmosphere. Southwold is a lovely place to visit and we were blessed with good weather so sitting on the bench outside the Lord Nelson, where in our opinion the best ale in the town is served, was bliss. Overall I enjoyed and would certaintly return again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMadSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thanak you for taking the time to share your experience following a recent two night break at the Crown.
A warm welcome is always a great start ! Im sorry you felt that while clean and functional your room was a little tired . We are currently in the procees of refurbishing the bedrooms and those that are complete have been gaining great responses from customers. We are fully committed to completing the remainder and have an ongoing rolling plan in which to do so.
We are delighted to hear that the food and service were good and that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. We wont always be able to provide the weather but a warm welcome can always be expected and a pint at the Nellie is always worthwhile !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 4 in Southwold
68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,073 reviews
4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
785 reviews
12.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: £98 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly on Southwold’s High Street, The Crown is at the heart of the town and just moments away from the beach. Something of a Suffolk food institution, The Crown has always offered outstanding quality food and wine in a wonderfully informal setting. The wine list boasts a tantalising range of wines by the glass, one doesn’t have to have a bottle. It also showcases a range of well kept and award-winning Adnams beers and spirits. Our 14 bedrooms are all stylish and full of character, offering a high standard of accommodation and a comfortable, memorable stay in Southwold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing