We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend break”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a Saturday night stay in a family suite at relatively short notice. The room set up was a bit quirky with the bathroom (which was vast) the other side of the landing. Room was spacious though with a separate area for a bed and cot for the little ones which worked well for us. Throughout our stay the staff were great and there were some nice touches - buckets and spades in the room for the children on arrival for example.

We had three meals at the hotel; starting with best - Sunday breakfast - just lovely. Something for all tastes and our choices were all well prepared and presented. Dinner on the Saturday evening was also fine although the menu wasn't as good as I remember from previous visits. My risotto was also a bit soggy but overall it was a decent meal and fairly priced. Same could be said for the lunch on the Saturday although I have to say service was a bit stretched at times - it was very busy though.

All in all a lovely, relaxing break for the whole family. It was good value and the kids were made to feel welcome the whole time. Might see if we can squeeze another weekend here before the year is out.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank acr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay here in Southwold. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Crown and look forward to seeing you again soon if you manage to squeeze that extra trip in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    133
    59
    22
    8
See reviews for
57
232
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Can't lie - we chose the hotel because we love Adnams beer and didn't want to stay at the Swan, which I'm sure is lovely, but looks a bit stiff. The rooms have plenty of character; yes, squeaky floorboards that might annoy some, but also some lovely thoughtful design. The bathrooms were excellent and it was all kept very clean, by a housekeeping staff who sometimes even tidied up while we were at breakfast - which was lovely!
And the breakfasts... each day a delight, with a wide variety of dishes to choose from. On our first day, the boiled eggs even arrived with cheerful knitted cosies.
As for the evening - the bar staff were great, but everyone seemed a little bit pushed. Sadly the crab linguine was much too spicy for me, but everyone else was happy with their meals. However, the wine was great, and the beer sublime...

Room Tip: The younger ones in our party stayed up under the eaves, which was great; whereas the older ones had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. It is always lovely to hear when people have enjoyed their stay with us. We would like to apologise if the crab linguini was a little on the spicy side. We are into a new season at the hotel now and we have a lovely new pasta dish of with Ragu of Bunwell Venison, Paparadelle, spinach & Wild Mushrooms. We hope to see you again soon so you can sample our new menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for the Bank Holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had Room 5 which had been recently re-furbished and was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was particularly good and well-equipped. Our only gripes were that the safe did not work without calling the manager, and the TV reception was poor, many channels being pixillated and unwatchable. As reported by previous visitors, the corridors let the hotel down, the paintwork is tired and the carpets well past replacement-time. The restaurant and bar area was very pleasant and breakfast was delicious although the service on the second morning was slow. The outside of the hotel needs re-painting, especially the rear facade which looks tatty. The staff were very helpful and polite. Overall 4 stars for a comfortable stay, but the hotel could benefit from some TLC from Adnams

Helpful?
Thank jayjayw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I've long been an Adnams fan, so was delighted to discover my wife had booked two nights at the Crown as my birthday treat. Southwold is a little 'traditional' but the Crown manages to appeal to a younger set than sister hotel the Swan.

Room brilliant - comfy, interesting with a nice bathroom. In true Adnams style, there are lots of thoughtful extras - like free wifi, guide books, bikes and even iPads you can borrow.

We ate in the hotel both nights (including package) and whilst the food was excellent, getting to our table on the second night meant a half hour wait in the bar. Better I guess than the earlier sitting being hustled out before they were ready!

So in summary:
- great value hotel, made better by motivated staff who go the extra mile;
- busy at peak times, but then the crowd does create atmosphere as well as delays
- don't miss the brewey tour - you need to book, but it is ace

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your birthday treat. Apologies for the slight delay on your second evening it’s been a very busy time of year where we try and accommodate a lot of people. Thank you for your understanding and patience on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We normally stay at the Swan when we visit Southwold but it was full. We had stayed at the Crown a few years ago and found the rooms in desperate need of refurbishing.We stayed one night, midweek. The rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard, the bathroom had a lovely powerful shower, not over the bath (which I detest), all very clean and fresh. It is expensive to eat in the dining room so we opted for fish and chips at the Sole Bay Inn, another favourite of ours. I prefer a buffet breakfast but it was waitress service. The food was good, when I asked for greek yogurt to go on my fresh fruit salad, they found me some, even though it was not on the menu. We would return - but only if th Swan was full.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at the crown. We are pleased that you liked our newly refurbished rooms. We do hope you visit again soon and try out our restaurant. We have a new menu coming in very soon which will be a set price and very good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We went to the Crown Hotel for short break. The room was very good we liked the big bottle off water in the room, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a nice bath and a very good shower. The only issue we had was sleeping with the windows open it was noisey in the morning we went on the Distillary trip and it was a real treat the tour guide was a very knowledgable and it made the visit a real experience. On the first morning we went down for breakfast and were pleased to find that it was not a buffet but a choice from the menu. My wife choose the full English and it was very well cooked and presented, I choose the smoked haddock with poached egg and Hollandaise sauce, I had a lovely piece of Haddock which had great crispy skin the egg was cooked perfectly the Hollandaise sauce was creamy and finished with a hint of lemon. The best breakfast we have had for a long time. Day two I had the Lowestoft Kipper and it was again a well cooked dish.

We looked forward to dinining in the restaurant, what a shame the breakfast chef does not cook at night. The restaurant was busy but the staff were atentive and all appeared to be well.

We had booked dinner as part of the package and I choose lamb kidneys as a starter and my wife choose a selection of breads with rape seed oil and Asphall Balsamic vinegar, My kidneys were just barely cooked and the dressing was was bland as was the carrot and pea salad. The bread was a disgrace, three slices of limp white bread and one of whole grain the oil and the vinegar were in a large ramakin Asphall makes great cidar but itstops there. My wife had a sirloin steak whic was dry and tough with grilled tomato half that was so small it was not worth bothering with, I had Crab Liguine which was flabby and uninteresting. For dessert I choose a roasted peach with burnt honey icecream? and a florentine, The peach was hot but had no colour and the icecream was lacking in flavour, the florentine was not good very sweet and not toasted or roasted what a waste of a good idea wasted. My wife had the Eaton Mess which she enjoyed ( well you can't really fail can you) The reastaurant food is over priced and the food does not deserve two rosettes, it would struggle to be described as good pub food,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COsbpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit to The Crown hotel in Southwold. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the items on our menu during your visit. We are very proud of our two rosettes and are sorry to hear that you did not feel the food you received was worthy of this title. We always take our feedback seriously and have since switched suppliers for our strip loin of beef to ensure that we have a very high quality steak on the menu. Moving forward we will also be running a fixed price menu which will display great value for money. We hope that you will return again soon and see the changes that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Swan is a very attractive little hotel, perfectly located in the centre of the lovely small town of Southwold just 5 minutes walk to the beautiful sandy beach. The rooms are comfortable and have been very well refurbished.

The cooking here is of a very high quality. The chef has a valuable knack of putting together simple ingredients (perfectly cooked) to enhance the flavours on your palate - eg a perfect combination of a fillet of mackerel with gooseberry puree and whole gooseberries (the tartness of the fruit cutting across the oiliness of the fish); pink duck breast with raspberries; and wonderful desserts that bring a smile to your face when you see them. In addition, Adnam's beers (of course) and a very good wine list with a good selection around the £20 mark.

Very good, freshly cooked breakfasts too.

Thoroughly recommended for a short break, in or out of season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay here at the crown. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We very much hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
12.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing