We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would return in a heartbeat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would return in a heartbeat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had an amazing room (No4), spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The casual restaurant suited us just fine, the food well cooked and the beer well kept!
The staff were ok, a bit young to understand good service but ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed room 4. We are currently working to bed in a new front of house team at the moment so hopefully you will find them more experienced and well trained upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    133
    57
    22
    7
See reviews for
57
228
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

It's a while since we last stayed and the rooms have been refurbished since - although they were very good before! The bedroom was large and spacious and tge bathroom huge. I don't often indulge in a bath, but had a lovely long soak in the enormous bathroom. My only criticism is how do you wash yourself when the soap is in a bottle on the wall next to the shower?? Well you can't. Please put soap for those of us who would like to have a bath!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you thought our rooms were lovely. We have passed your comments about the soaps onto house keeping and shall in future make sure there are soaps near the bath as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachamwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel to go to the Adnams brewery shop and were not disappointed. The room was spacious, with lovely features, a comfy bed and nice size bathrooms. We enjoyed the breakfast, but were disappointed we could not get a seat for dinner. The pamphlet in room states first come first serve in the bar area! But were told we needed to book. We wandered to another lovely Adnams pub instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanm569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
I think there might have been some confusion – we do indeed take bookings and we always ensure all our guests have a chance to reserve a table, in fact we do highlight this in our booking confirmation email. We are sorry you didn`t take an advantage of this and hope you will in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a Saturday night stay in a family suite at relatively short notice. The room set up was a bit quirky with the bathroom (which was vast) the other side of the landing. Room was spacious though with a separate area for a bed and cot for the little ones which worked well for us. Throughout our stay the staff were great and there were some nice touches - buckets and spades in the room for the children on arrival for example.

We had three meals at the hotel; starting with best - Sunday breakfast - just lovely. Something for all tastes and our choices were all well prepared and presented. Dinner on the Saturday evening was also fine although the menu wasn't as good as I remember from previous visits. My risotto was also a bit soggy but overall it was a decent meal and fairly priced. Same could be said for the lunch on the Saturday although I have to say service was a bit stretched at times - it was very busy though.

All in all a lovely, relaxing break for the whole family. It was good value and the kids were made to feel welcome the whole time. Might see if we can squeeze another weekend here before the year is out.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank acr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay here in Southwold. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Crown and look forward to seeing you again soon if you manage to squeeze that extra trip in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Can't lie - we chose the hotel because we love Adnams beer and didn't want to stay at the Swan, which I'm sure is lovely, but looks a bit stiff. The rooms have plenty of character; yes, squeaky floorboards that might annoy some, but also some lovely thoughtful design. The bathrooms were excellent and it was all kept very clean, by a housekeeping staff who sometimes even tidied up while we were at breakfast - which was lovely!
And the breakfasts... each day a delight, with a wide variety of dishes to choose from. On our first day, the boiled eggs even arrived with cheerful knitted cosies.
As for the evening - the bar staff were great, but everyone seemed a little bit pushed. Sadly the crab linguine was much too spicy for me, but everyone else was happy with their meals. However, the wine was great, and the beer sublime...

Room Tip: The younger ones in our party stayed up under the eaves, which was great; whereas the older ones had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. It is always lovely to hear when people have enjoyed their stay with us. We would like to apologise if the crab linguini was a little on the spicy side. We are into a new season at the hotel now and we have a lovely new pasta dish of with Ragu of Bunwell Venison, Paparadelle, spinach & Wild Mushrooms. We hope to see you again soon so you can sample our new menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for the Bank Holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had Room 5 which had been recently re-furbished and was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was particularly good and well-equipped. Our only gripes were that the safe did not work without calling the manager, and the TV reception was poor, many channels being pixillated and unwatchable. As reported by previous visitors, the corridors let the hotel down, the paintwork is tired and the carpets well past replacement-time. The restaurant and bar area was very pleasant and breakfast was delicious although the service on the second morning was slow. The outside of the hotel needs re-painting, especially the rear facade which looks tatty. The staff were very helpful and polite. Overall 4 stars for a comfortable stay, but the hotel could benefit from some TLC from Adnams

Helpful?
Thank jayjayw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I've long been an Adnams fan, so was delighted to discover my wife had booked two nights at the Crown as my birthday treat. Southwold is a little 'traditional' but the Crown manages to appeal to a younger set than sister hotel the Swan.

Room brilliant - comfy, interesting with a nice bathroom. In true Adnams style, there are lots of thoughtful extras - like free wifi, guide books, bikes and even iPads you can borrow.

We ate in the hotel both nights (including package) and whilst the food was excellent, getting to our table on the second night meant a half hour wait in the bar. Better I guess than the earlier sitting being hustled out before they were ready!

So in summary:
- great value hotel, made better by motivated staff who go the extra mile;
- busy at peak times, but then the crowd does create atmosphere as well as delays
- don't miss the brewey tour - you need to book, but it is ace

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your birthday treat. Apologies for the slight delay on your second evening it’s been a very busy time of year where we try and accommodate a lot of people. Thank you for your understanding and patience on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
12.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing