We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening in Southwold”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed using the spend £145 per couple on food and drink and get your room for free deal. This currently applies on a Friday which suited us better than sunday-thursday. Overall we were very happy with our stay. The rooms at the back look into the Courtyard so don't expect a view but the rooms are very well done, beds are very comfortable etc. The corridors feel a bit tired and the fire-doors make it feel a bit institutional but that's hardly important in the scheme of things. Our main interest was the food, beer and wine and that was uniformly excellent as was the service. I would have expected a slightly longer wine list considering Adnams have their wine shop almost next door but what we had was very good and, as presumably they hope, we spent more than our £145 minimum anyway. I'd also recommend having a pint or two in the Lord Nelson nearer the sea front although the Crown has a very cosy back bar of its own. All in all a very good experience and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinchIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

A standard double costs £175 for B&B. You would get more for this in London's West End. No fridge, no trouser press, no shoe shine. Decoration in the room was a bit tired - peeling paint and window frames in poor condition. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant appears over-rated - not one vegetarian main course on offer. Like most of Southwold, this is owned by Adnams and maybe they're resting on their laurels a little too much.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DrChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I’m so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We apologise that the outside paintwork on your window ledge had begun to peel, however rest assured we are having some maintenance works carried out at the moment on the paint work to bring this back up to standard. I must apologise as well if you were not aware of the vegetarian options that are provided on our specials menu but I must let you know that we do cater for vegetarians and always have options available.

If they are not to the individuals liking then our chefs are always happy to compose a dish on the night using ingredients that we have in house. I’m sorry we did not get to speak in person about these issues so that we could have come to some kind of resolution at the time, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you wish to discuss this any further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A long weekend in Southwold and we were recommended to stay in the Crown, which proved a great piece of advice. The room was large, clean with a nice big bed and although getting in and out of the bath was a bit Indiana Jones and the Shower of Doom the bathroom was well appointed. Very friendly and efficient service and the food was excellent. Great freshly cooked breakfast which was a lovely change from the usual buffet that most hotels now do. We also had an evening meal there which was also really good, 3 courses including a fabulous bit of pork belly.

The hotel is right in the centre of town but only 5 minutes from the beach so a very good location and it wasn't at all noisy.

The Adnams beer was also worth sampling and I commend the barman for a mean Bloody Mary before dinner!

Definitely worth 5 stars and we would happily go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

It’s wonderful to hear how you enjoyed your visit to The Crown Hotel. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

How fabulous to find an iconic Inn in such a historic town so sensitively renovated -a high standard at an affordable price ,and with the most amazing food - much better than a 5star hotel I also stayed in recently. I took a group of six people work related for one night this week , and everyone (from three different countries) was suitably impressed. Yes, there are creaky floorboards above some of the bedrooms but that adds to the charm especially when all mod cons are available in them.Am looking forward to a family visit next .

Room Tip: Lovely old wooden floors will be creaky on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

It’s fantastic to hear how you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. We hope very much to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for one night, the refurbishment of the rooms was done to a high standard, bathroom excellently appointed, albeit room a little small, however difficult to create modern size bedrooms in an old property. Dinner excellent and as to be expected a great wine list.
Breakfast also excellent, certainly would recommend, but beware that the dining is casual if you looking for starched table clothes, you will be disapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience here at The Crown. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and wine and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location.

We booked a suite as we have two young children and whilst the room was fabulous, spacious and well decorated - I still felt it was very expensive. Supply and demand I suppose!

Next time though I would book a little cottage instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RWandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room during your visit. Keep your eyes peeled for some very good offers we have on during the next few months, they are great value for money and can all be found on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed Sunday over to Monday last week. Previous reviews on the standard of the refurb were borne out - our room was lovely. All staff without exception were friendly,helpful and charming - genuinely great people who knew what good service looks like! They are a credit to the place - we will return. Beyond their control was one thing lacking that we would have loved - a small area with comfy sofas where you could sit by a window and watch the world go by with a drink (the back bar was cosy but a touch limited comfort wise).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMJSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Crown. We very much look forward to you visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#3 of 4 in Southwold
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,064 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
694 reviews
4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: £179 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly on Southwold’s High Street, The Crown is at the heart of the town and just moments away from the beach. Something of a Suffolk food institution, The Crown has always offered outstanding quality food and wine in a wonderfully informal setting. The wine list boasts a tantalising range of wines by the glass, one doesn’t have to have a bottle. It also showcases a range of well kept and award-winning Adnams beers and spirits. Our 14 bedrooms are all stylish and full of character, offering a high standard of accommodation and a comfortable, memorable stay in Southwold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing