We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letdown”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Letdown”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We came here under recommendation from friends and family. The rooms might look nice and the hotel oldy worldy but thats it.
The hotel has potential just wish they would do something and decide what it needs to be whether thats old, modern and make there mind up about the menu it could he fantastic but just using the wrong cuts

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brunofisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We always take our customer’s views very seriously and will see how we can improve based on what you have said. We hope that you will return and give us the opportunity to impress you next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    137
    61
    24
    8
See reviews for
60
238
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Last minute surprise break for partner back from a long trip back home.

Weather was glorious, if not bitterly cold.

Hotel is fantastic with our ropom (number 14) very quirky with exposed beams (some a little low!) in the roof on the top floor.

Very comfortable and a great bathroom.

Very freindly staff

Room Tip: Room 14! Very large and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in Southwold. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from our New years stay at The Cown hotel in the centre southwold.The staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room (number 14) is one of the more superior rooms at the hotel (hence the £200+ a night price tag) it was very comfortable and furnished to a good standard. The room is on the top floor set in the eaves of the building, with exposed beams and quaint features (including cobwebs). Maybe not a good room for someone over 6 foot. A lovely veiw of the high street could be seen from our sash windows. We had our own en-suite toilet and cupboard, housing dressing gowns, hanging space, hairdryer and a safe. Out of the door, down the corridor, and down a few steps was our bathroom suite. It certainly had the wow factor!! Finished to a high standard and very clean, it was lovely to bathe in the roll top bath. (unsuitable for showering!) One negative was that the vinyl floor was very slippery when wet!
We dined in the hotel restaurant. (we booked ahead) we had canapés and a choice of a cosmopolitan or prosecco on arrival. The wine list was very extensive although not all bottles were stocked. The food was good, presented very well. I did ask for my beef to be served medium but was more blue. The waitress was very efficient in dealing with the problem but by the time my food came back my partners food was almost cold. (For what we paid, this was dissapointing)
The disco played music of all genres and was good fun!
*At 11.45 myself and my partner walked to the beach to watch the fireworks. (Nothing to do with the hotel)The fireworks were fantastic and drew in quite a crowd. A real must!!!
We had a very good nights sleep, the bed was huge and very comfortable. Being at the top, it was very quiet and we couldnt hear the other guests.
In the morning we went downstairs for breakfast. Not very good value in our opinion. The waitresses were flagging and not very efficiant.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and have good memories of our stay at The Crown. The pricetag is a little excessive in comparison to where we have stayed in the past before but it wouldnt put us off staying again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us over new years. We are pleased to hear that overall your experience was a positive one and one which you enjoyed. I would like to reassure you that we have also addressed the negatives that you mentioned and thank you for bringing those matters to our attention. We look forward to seeing you again in the future where we hope to impress you across the board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the crown Hotel, our room had been recently refurbished and felt homely and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Crown where we had a great time. The staff were friendly and efficient, our room was comfortable, nicely refurbished as was the bathroom. Perhaps a little small but perfectly adequate and with 2 comfortable Lounge chairs to sit on. So often hotel rooms only provide one comfortable chair! The Christmas package was not cheap but the food was good, including excellent home cooked breakfasts. It was also nice to be waited on at breakfast rather than the usual buffet. My husband did have to return a piece of steak on Christmas Eve as it was very tough but his complaint was dealt with very professionally and the replacement was excellent.

Being a pub/ restaurant more than a hotel the atmosphere was very relaxed. There was no formal lounge area but a cosy back bar where you could go for a drink. A very nice extra touch was the hamper of goodies which we found in our room on Christmas Day. Very much appreciated! We would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Crown Hotel. The room was comfortable-I slept like a log! The shower was lovely, and there were bottles of shampoo, shower gel, soap and hand lotion enough to last a week at least. The room had a good sized tv, but not ridiculously huge, bottled water, little chocolate merigues, and other conveniences like a hairdryer and dressing gowns. The only gripe for me was no kettle, but as they do room service it's probably not a real issue. The breakfast was a delight, with a choice of things to start, then a lovely cooked breakfast (vegetarian options available) using local produce. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient, ready to cater for any reasonable request, ditto the reception staff. The sea was a short walk away, as were the shops and pubs.A lovely place to stay-would definitely stay there again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at The Crown. It’s lovely to hear the positive things you had to say about your visit to Southwold. We very much hope you visit again soon, and just to let you know that all rooms do have tea trays in the cupboard beneath the TV with complimentary tea and coffee however we are always more than happy to offer you room service as well when requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We took advantage of the dine and stay for £145 deal and were not disappointed. The food was lovely and though the restaurant was busy the staff were attentive and we didn't have to wait long for our food. We stayed in room 8 which was very comfortable, warm and not at all noisy. I particularly enjoyed the Broadside 'Old Fashioned' in the little bar before our meal. As it was December, the dining room was tastefully decorated for Christmas and felt very inviting.
Breakfast was very good and the 10% off voucher for use in the Adnams Cellar was a nice touch.
Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled to hear how much your enjoyed your dine and stay for free experience. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year. Keep your eyes peeled for many more tempting offers that we will have on over the up and coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,004 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing