We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last the service is as good as the food!”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“At last the service is as good as the food!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We'd pretty much fallen out with the crown as the service over a number of visits was so poor (slow, wrong things brought, staff not interested...) but the last couple of visits have been great. Perhaps it's because we've been lucky enought to be served by the charming and efficient Alisdair, or perhaps it's Darren's influence at front of house, but it's been much improved. The food has always been good but now it's matched by the service. Only downside now is the booking experience: you have to go through to a central number and it's not unusual to be hanging on for 15 or 20 minutes before the phone is answered. Get that sorted please adnams!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Missive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Reviewer
I am so pleased to hear about your recent visits. I am always immensely proud of the work our teams do and it is great to be able to praise Alasdair and Darren following your kind comments. We are currently looking at our reservation process and have recently implemented some changes that should see the service speed up. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    133
    59
    22
    8
See reviews for
57
232
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lunch for four last week - the Ghostship battered plaice looked wonderful but unfortunately it ended there. The batter was excellent, however the plaice was watery and tasteless, what a disappointment. The Crown should consider serving cod instead and increasing the price of the dish if necessary - that batter is too good to waste on rubbish fish! Chips were very good. The definition of Norfolk Chicken Supreme also needs to be clearer. We were expecting chicken with a cream sauce but we soon realised the name of the dish refers only to the cut of the chicken.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenerousScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to inform you that following your feedback we are now offering sustainably-sourced Cod instead. We hope to see you again soon so you can enjoy fish that is as amazing as our chips.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A beautiful hotel in a stunning location. First time visiting Southwold since a child and hadn't realised what an amazing place it is. The hotel is perfectly situated close to the beach and all the shops. Great breakfast, room well devised with plug-points next to the bed, bathroom immaculate and all the nice little extras you hope for. I most enjoyed the handmade shortbread on arrival - a nice touch. The breakfast was freshly made and superb, much better than a buffet. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you to the wonderful team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased that Southwold and The Crown lived up to your expectations it is a truly special place. We hope to see you again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

The Crown is a very welcoming hotel and the staff are happy to engage with the guests. It is a very old building and a bit quirky with lots of strange staircases to reach rooms which are comfortable and well equipped. The restaurant has a very informal atmosphere yet the food and service is extremely good. Always happy to go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlensDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Great to hear your kind words regarding your recent stay. We very much look forward to seeing you soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been coming to Southwold for over 30 years and have always wanted to stay at The Crown, so were delighted to have the opportunity to take up one of the mid week offers. It really came up to our expectations. The room was comfortable and beautifully furnished. Thanks for homemade treats! The food and service were, due to a large function in the newly refurbished Green Room, a little disappointing on the Thursday night, but more than made up for it on the Friday. Of course - the ale and wine were amazing.
Throughout our stay the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Thank you, and we hope to be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Crown Hotel, it’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem and the perfect place to stay for a little time away from home. In the centre of Southwold right on the high street this charming hotel is just minutes walk from the sea front. It is full of character and English charm. We stayed in a deluxe room on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The room was a good size, very well equipped and very clean. The exposed beams and uneven floor made it seem even more charming. The food was of a very high standard in terms of flavour and presentation. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The lovely room and the quality of food served made this hotel exceptionally good value for money. The perfect place for an informal and relaxed weekend. We would highly recommend this very English hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Reviewer
We are so pleased to hear the kind words you had to say about your stay with us. It’s always lovely to be able to share such positive feedback with our staff and customers here at The Crown. We very much hope to see you again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stradbroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent New Year's Eve and the following evening at The Crown as we had done the year before, and it wasn't as good, most people had dressed down for the occasion, and it lacked the "Special Occasion" feel. The hotel is comfortable,but what it lacks is a residents lounge, you are either in the bar or in your room.

Room Tip: Not a hotel for those with mobility problems, the stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLin1747063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your new years eve stay with us at The Crown. We have taken your feedback on board and will look into ways in which we can make this New Year's Eve feel a bit more special. I am also able to share some good news with you in that we have very recently refurbished the green room and now have a sofa and some comfy armchairs where you are able to sit and relax should you choose to visit us again.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
12.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing