We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were very pleased we stayed, good hotel, excellent room at a great price, so we stayed another night. Breakfast was the best we had all week travelling around Norfolk and Suffolk. It's position in the town is spot on right in the centre, so easy to walk around and enjoy this excellent seaside resort. Staff very friendly and attentive. Free car parking at the rear of the premises, which is a real plus point in this day and age of expensive car parking charges. There are some great pubs with in walking distance for a local pint and good food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NATBET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Reviewer
It's great to read about your enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We'd pretty much fallen out with the crown as the service over a number of visits was so poor (slow, wrong things brought, staff not interested...) but the last couple of visits have been great. Perhaps it's because we've been lucky enought to be served by the charming and efficient Alisdair, or perhaps it's Darren's influence at front of house, but it's been much improved. The food has always been good but now it's matched by the service. Only downside now is the booking experience: you have to go through to a central number and it's not unusual to be hanging on for 15 or 20 minutes before the phone is answered. Get that sorted please adnams!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Missive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Reviewer
I am so pleased to hear about your recent visits. I am always immensely proud of the work our teams do and it is great to be able to praise Alasdair and Darren following your kind comments. We are currently looking at our reservation process and have recently implemented some changes that should see the service speed up. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lunch for four last week - the Ghostship battered plaice looked wonderful but unfortunately it ended there. The batter was excellent, however the plaice was watery and tasteless, what a disappointment. The Crown should consider serving cod instead and increasing the price of the dish if necessary - that batter is too good to waste on rubbish fish! Chips were very good. The definition of Norfolk Chicken Supreme also needs to be clearer. We were expecting chicken with a cream sauce but we soon realised the name of the dish refers only to the cut of the chicken.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GenerousScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to inform you that following your feedback we are now offering sustainably-sourced Cod instead. We hope to see you again soon so you can enjoy fish that is as amazing as our chips.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A beautiful hotel in a stunning location. First time visiting Southwold since a child and hadn't realised what an amazing place it is. The hotel is perfectly situated close to the beach and all the shops. Great breakfast, room well devised with plug-points next to the bed, bathroom immaculate and all the nice little extras you hope for. I most enjoyed the handmade shortbread on arrival - a nice touch. The breakfast was freshly made and superb, much better than a buffet. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you to the wonderful team.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesHacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased that Southwold and The Crown lived up to your expectations it is a truly special place. We hope to see you again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Crown is a very welcoming hotel and the staff are happy to engage with the guests. It is a very old building and a bit quirky with lots of strange staircases to reach rooms which are comfortable and well equipped. The restaurant has a very informal atmosphere yet the food and service is extremely good. Always happy to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GlensDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Great to hear your kind words regarding your recent stay. We very much look forward to seeing you soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been coming to Southwold for over 30 years and have always wanted to stay at The Crown, so were delighted to have the opportunity to take up one of the mid week offers. It really came up to our expectations. The room was comfortable and beautifully furnished. Thanks for homemade treats! The food and service were, due to a large function in the newly refurbished Green Room, a little disappointing on the Thursday night, but more than made up for it on the Friday. Of course - the ale and wine were amazing.
Throughout our stay the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Thank you, and we hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Crown Hotel, it’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is a real gem and the perfect place to stay for a little time away from home. In the centre of Southwold right on the high street this charming hotel is just minutes walk from the sea front. It is full of character and English charm. We stayed in a deluxe room on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The room was a good size, very well equipped and very clean. The exposed beams and uneven floor made it seem even more charming. The food was of a very high standard in terms of flavour and presentation. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The lovely room and the quality of food served made this hotel exceptionally good value for money. The perfect place for an informal and relaxed weekend. We would highly recommend this very English hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Reviewer
We are so pleased to hear the kind words you had to say about your stay with us. It’s always lovely to be able to share such positive feedback with our staff and customers here at The Crown. We very much hope to see you again soon.
Yours Sincerely
Jennifer Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,049 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
761 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: £182 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly on Southwold’s High Street, The Crown is at the heart of the town and just moments away from the beach. Something of a Suffolk food institution, The Crown has always offered outstanding quality food and wine in a wonderfully informal setting. The wine list boasts a tantalising range of wines by the glass, one doesn’t have to have a bottle. It also showcases a range of well kept and award-winning Adnams beers and spirits. Our 14 bedrooms are all stylish and full of character, offering a high standard of accommodation and a comfortable, memorable stay in Southwold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing