We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here with my wife for a birthday weekend , And enjoyed every moment ,from the very pleasant and smiling reception staff to the room service waiters !We had a Fantastic meal in the restaurant
Saturday night , the staff here were very attentive and made our dinning experience a real pleasure .coffees and petit foes In the lounge with a real open fire after dinner topped our evening off ! Our room over looking the Christmas tree square was very nicely decorated and has everything
You need to make your stay easy and relaxing , we have stayed all over England in many hotels but this one with its old school charm will bring us back again ! Well done to all the staff here Hope to see you again soon .....

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevinwhit1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I’m glad that your wife had a birthday weekend to remember – we would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    193
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
85
383
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I was a little hesitant having read some of the negative reviews on here but was tempted by the Manager's Special. Glad I booked anyway!

The hotel is in a great location with parking, and Reception were extremely helpful from booking through to the stay itself. We stayed in number 16 Crisps Room (premier suite) which was a really high standard. Loved the big bathroom. Did have one problem not being able to release the sink plug (one of those lever jobs) but someone quickly fixed this.

Staff were extremely helpful especially blonde lady on Reception, nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal was excellent and very good service. Same again for breakfast. Really couldn't fault it.

Recommend also doing a brewery tour - bear in mind when checking in to hotel you get a 10% discount card for the Cellar & Kitchen shop plus a few other shops.

(After reading previous reviews one complained about cheap tv's and fittings - TV was Samsung and shower was Aqualisa?!)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joannasephina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Perfect – thank you for taking the time to share your experience – this is how we aim to do things and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Swan is in a great location, right in the middle of the town, near to the beach and most importantly the pubs! The lounge area is well appointed and very comfortable and the bedroom was relatively small but good value and with a decent view towards the lighthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJollySmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for your review – hope you decide to come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.The service, food and attitude of some of the staff at this hotel are appalling for a hotel that charges the rates this one does. Here is a list of problems we encounted. 1 The gardens rooms we had were not fit for purpose. The tv in my friends room was not working, 2, dvd player in my room not working 3, no back on remote so batteries fell out all the time, the tv problems were not sorted out untill the next day. [SORRY WE HAVE NO MORE TVS TO REPLASE YOURS AS HOTEL IS FULL] was there response, and at no time did they replace broken remote. 4, Bathroom dirty lots of hair in bath. terrible noises from water pipes that run through all the[ SHEDS]
Sorry garden rooms. Do not flush the toilet in the night as you are likely to wake your neighbours, this was not resolved so bad nights. 5, The first evening meal was ruined by a waitress who found it necessary to run past us into the kitchen all through the meal a bit like saturday night in casualty, we were sat near the kitchen and could hear the staff swearing and slagging of customers who dared to complain. 6, My soup was cold and when i pointed this out the waitress tutted. 7, The worst thing was waiting 1 hour 15 mins on the second night for our main course and then when it came it was raw [RAW UNCOOKED CHICKEN A HEALTH HAZARD !!!!!] I asked for a cooked one and things went downhill from there. 8, At breakfast the next day and because i dared to complain about the chicken the chef burnt my breakfast. I asked for crispy bacon so they burnt it black, i asked for my fryied egg to be cooked in the middle as the day before it was cold, so they burnt the egg and as we were sat near the kitchen ,and they dont realise we can hear what there saying .The chef said how was her egg and the waitress with the cockney accent said [ ROCK HARD HA HA HA] Such a shame that this place is fast going down hill and the managment are not interested. Good news is there are a lot of small family run hotels out of town and we have found a gem and will never return to this disgracefully run hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Merrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Im genuinely shocked and saddened by your recent experience and review. I would really appreciate an opportunity to discuss this with you personally, I can be contacted by calling the hotels reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for 20+ years now. Whilst it has lost a little of its old world charm it still remains iconic. I would not stay anywhere else if in Southwold.
Stayed in room 1 in the main hotel, lovely room overlooking the market square (well, triangle really!! ) the building is in need of a touch up in places but I gave no problem overlooking that.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We wouldn’t want you to stay anywhere else! Glad to hear that 20 years on you are still enjoying The Swan – see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a delightful hotel with old world charm, beautiful architecture, modern facilities and very high standards. It is ten years since we were last here but we once again had a lovely time, for a weekend stay. The food in the dining room is of the highest standard, delicious and perfectly cooked and prepared. However what is noticeable is that the staff can't do enough to satisfy you. I had one or two minor points and they were attended to graciously and swiftly. The lighthouse rooms are well appointed and ideally suited to those with a dog, and even the dog gets a welcome mat, bowl and biscuit! Plenty of hot water for after a bracing walk along the beach, and afternoon teas in the lounge.... a blissful place to stay for a break, conveniently placed in the heart of things right on the Market Place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheil473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thrilled to know that our staff went over an beyond to make for an enjoyable stay and you found all aspects to the highest standard. A lovely review – thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Breakfast on our first morning, pre cooked poached egg and the haddock was not fresh, I would expect this from a Premier Inn but not paying the prices of £160 per night. How long does it take to poach an egg? This is a shame as it put us off eating there in the evening. I must say our second day I chose smoked salmon and scrabbled egg which was much nicer, tea was good too.
We never managed to get connected to the wifi which you can only get downstairs, it is real hassle.
Shower worked intermittently, which is quite poor. I am a bit disappointed with Adnams as there food and hotels use to be something special, maybe they are just getting like any other chain hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Apologies in the difficulties you had with the WiFi, this is something we are currently reviewing. It's a shame the breakfast wasn’t up to standard and this will be passed on to the kitchen team. We hope that you will return to find all these issues resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan is currently preening its feathers and we look forward to its reopening in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing