We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
northampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Was really looking for to this stay as loved the look of the hotel.
On arrival we were given room number 44 which was located outside the main hotel, a selection of bungalow rooms!
Wasn't happy with this and said to the receptionist but nothing was done about it.
We needed torches to get to the room but these were not provided and it was raining, we had to navigate trees, broken pavements etc to find our bungalow. When we did find it we couldn't see to open it as the lighting directly above the key was out!!!!
Eventually entered the bungalow to find a lovely room which was really warm, with all the usual accessories. However stale biscuits and 1 coffee!!!!
Booked to have a meal in the restaurant but cancelled as there was no way i was going to get dressed up and walk across broken pavements in the dark in high heels in a storm!!!!!!
Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice.
However would only stay here again if it was in the main hotel!!!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank daydreamNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We have 17 Lighthouse Rooms set in the garden area and many people enjoy being outside due to the peaceful location. However I do appreciate that if the weather is not on your side then it may well be a bit cold and dark, especially in January. Good to read that the room itself was lovely and you enjoyed the breakfast. Next time you come book directly and we can allocate a room personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    193
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
85
383
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the swan hotel, was greeted by a friendly member of staff who upgraded our room, which was very clean and comfortable with views over the town and to the left sea views. We had a meal in the evening which was wonderful and breakfast was also very good. Altogether had a great time and will be booking to go back very soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
All in all a wonderful review – thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Mimms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We went for my 'special birthday', staying just one night in late December. A family of 3 + 1 large dog. The hotel is lovely, brilliantlly positioned in the town and very dog-friendly. We were in a Lighthouse room, annexed from the main hotel. The room was beautifully furnished and decorated and well-equipped. The staff is really attentive and friendly, except........
We ate dinner in the restaurant; they knew we were celebrating and so gave us the best table, right in the window. But things went downhill from there. The service was so slow that in the end we walked out before desert since they hadn’t brought the desert menu even though we had already mentioned that service was too slow – we waited 75 minutes before we received our starters! – and it was 15 minutes since our main course plates had been cleared. It was such a shame since the food was really very good and the chef had prepared a special vegetarian menu for us – but again, it was several minutes after we arrived and had been given the regular menu before we were given that to look at, by which time we had already started to bemoan the lack of choice for vegetarians on the menu amongst ourselves! This marred the evening and was so disappointing, the effort made in our ‘honour’ was more-or-less wasted due to terrible service. Other diners came and went and we were left languishing (at the best table in the house). After returning to our room, dejected, my husband went back to voice our disappointment to the duty manager. In her defence she was extremely apologetic and did everything she could to put things right. We had deserts served to our room. So, on balance, we recognise the special touches that make The Swan a good hotel, and would definitely return, although next time I think we would eat elsewhere! The breakfast was everything you would expect from a quality hotel, with good choices and quality ingredients. I would have rated the hotel excellent in all aspects but for our disappointing experience. BUT, I would not rate it less then ‘very good’ because we recognise the effort made to rectify our problem on the spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthwithMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I am pleased that we tried to rectify any shortcomings although naturally disappointed that we needed to do this in the first place. However, we are grateful that you also appreciated the effort made to offer a special menu. Many apologies for the slow service and I am delighted to read that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a lovely old market town hotel right next door to Adnams Brewery (which you don't really hear). The hotel is very traditional but with good modernised facilities. Breakfast is a veritable feast and sets you up well for the day. We enjoyed our Lighthouse Room in the garden which was like living in an up-market beach chalet with all the facilities you'd possibly need.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Rooms in garden are particularly nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our Lighthouse Rooms. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We first stayed at the Swan three years ago for my wife's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed a perfect break. We were lucky to have snowfall during dinner, which provided a picture postcard scene of the square and Christmas tree from our room (the Admirals Room). We hadn't been back since and were slightly dubious about returning due to one or two recent negative reviews on here and we didn't want to spoil our memory of our first visit. We needn’t have worried!

With the booking being a little late there wasn’t much available on the website but a phone call resulted in a very helpful lady arranging for us to have the Admirals Room (a premier room) again for the same price as a superior room and doing a deal for two nights with dinner. There were functions on in the dining room on both nights so we had to go to the Crown for dinner on the second night and decided to join the fun at the ‘George Michael’ cabaret on the first night. What a good move that proved to be. The dinner was excellent, the singer was superb and we met a lovely couple on our table. There was a great party atmosphere and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

On the second night we had dinner at the Crown with the couple we had met the previous evening and had another memorable meal. The food and service were excellent and the company was great.

Overall, we found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful, the meals and service were very good and the hotel itself has a lovely ambience. Sure, as an old building it is showing some wear and tear in places but the overall feel of the place is lovely and sitting in the lounge enjoying a cream tea and an open fire on a winters day takes some beating. The only thing I would say is that it is a little pricey but I guess it is Southwold and there are deals to be had! We will definitely return and would highly recommend a visit to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I’m glad that although we didn’t arrange snow for this weekend you still had a great time. Great to read that you indulged in a bit of George Michael – the party style seating did it’s job and made for a great atmosphere and meeting new friends. Hope you’ll come back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here with my wife for a birthday weekend , And enjoyed every moment ,from the very pleasant and smiling reception staff to the room service waiters !We had a Fantastic meal in the restaurant
Saturday night , the staff here were very attentive and made our dinning experience a real pleasure .coffees and petit foes In the lounge with a real open fire after dinner topped our evening off ! Our room over looking the Christmas tree square was very nicely decorated and has everything
You need to make your stay easy and relaxing , we have stayed all over England in many hotels but this one with its old school charm will bring us back again ! Well done to all the staff here Hope to see you again soon .....

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevinwhit1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I’m glad that your wife had a birthday weekend to remember – we would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I was a little hesitant having read some of the negative reviews on here but was tempted by the Manager's Special. Glad I booked anyway!

The hotel is in a great location with parking, and Reception were extremely helpful from booking through to the stay itself. We stayed in number 16 Crisps Room (premier suite) which was a really high standard. Loved the big bathroom. Did have one problem not being able to release the sink plug (one of those lever jobs) but someone quickly fixed this.

Staff were extremely helpful especially blonde lady on Reception, nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal was excellent and very good service. Same again for breakfast. Really couldn't fault it.

Recommend also doing a brewery tour - bear in mind when checking in to hotel you get a 10% discount card for the Cellar & Kitchen shop plus a few other shops.

(After reading previous reviews one complained about cheap tv's and fittings - TV was Samsung and shower was Aqualisa?!)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joannasephina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Perfect – thank you for taking the time to share your experience – this is how we aim to do things and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
12.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan is currently preening its feathers and we look forward to its reopening in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing