We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Faulty towers'”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beccles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Faulty towers'”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On arriving for our weekend stay we didn't find anyone on reception so unprofessional. We stayed in room 27, we've never known a room like it, groaning pipes, noisy extractor fan which we gathered must of been from the kitchen. The cleanliness of the room was dreadful, dust that had been there for a while, toilet and brush Holder was disgusting. The bed looked like it had been made by a child. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as very expensive for what was offered, we ate at the red lion, great value for money. Breakfast was ok, but to get half a mushroom on your plate seemed a bit tight, tesco is just over the road. Sour faced staff, snooty management (smile!!!!). We went outside and see the gardens which were very nice and had a tour round the lighthouse rooms by a nice member of staff but can't imagine that we would stay again. Enjoyed a nice walk along the beach our highlight of the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dean462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I’m saddened to read your review as this is nowhere near The Swan Hotel’s high standard. Please contact me personally so I can learn more about your stay (please let me know the dates, as there is no record of you staying with us in May in room 27). I can assure you that once we’ve spoken I will do all I can to ensure you do not have a similar experience again. With best regards, Martin Edwards, Manager, The Swan Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    193
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
85
383
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have eaten here on numerous occasions and it never fails to please.Sunday lunch is really great and the restaurant is a lovely quiet oasis in what is the hustle and bustle of an old fashioned seaside town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 903Millie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and what a great review! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

A fantastic hotel with lovely staff. Our family (2 adults 3 children aged 11-20) stayed last weekend for dinner, bed and breakfast all of which were great. Really, really good food and a wonderful atmosphere in the restaurant: classy but not too stuffy. Our room wasn't set up quite right - the extra bed wasn't there and we didn't have any toiletries but the staff were very professional and sorted it out quickly. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Waldo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Sincere thanks for the review and the positive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at The Swan several times and love its old-fashioned feel combined with modern levels of comfort.

It's a lovely old building, perfectly situated on the market square, just a hundred yards from the sea.

Inside it's a rabbit warren of corridors and short flights of steps up and down, and creaking floorboards.

The dining room is large and formal looking and could do with being freshened up. The main lounge is a lovely place to sit and have a tea or coffee.

Breakfasts are good, with an extensive cold buffet and a range of hot dishes.

If you can afford it, go for the Admiral's Room - a large room above the old council offices and overlooking the square.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review and positive comments, we all look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have eaten here in the past, both in the restaurant and for afternoon tea where both were fabulous! We decided to squeeze a quick holiday in at Southwold and stay at The Swan overnight. We were given room 8, a large airey room at the rear of the hotel. The bed was super kingsize and so comfortable I hardly wanted to leave it! beautiful décor which complemented the age of the room. Large bathroom, fluffy towels, very hot water in a powerful shower. Plumbing was a little noisy but unlike other reviewers I appreciate that here we have an aging hotel, you don't get ambience without things like noisy plumbing, creaking stairs and slightly scruffy furniture!! Dinner was fabulous and we had a table by the window, the only negative comment to make was that the foreign waitress asked if we enjoyed our food but it was fairly obvious she had been told to ask and really had no interest in the answer! Breakfast was awesome - we both had local kippers and scrambled egg after gorgeous muesli/yoghurt and fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice. We will return, we love Southwold and we appreciate and love The Swan too!!

Room Tip: The hotel has some chalets in the grounds, one of our friends booked to stay at the hotel and was mo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Has the towel policy where you only have change of towel if you leave the used ones on the floor; Recycle the water bottles left in room; They seem very aware of environmental issues so I'm sure they can be depended upon to push this.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review, we are pleased you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the age of seven The Swan has been deeply engrained into my memory and experience and is part of the warp of life.Lovely public rooms overseeing the Market Square,a sizeable dining room and quaint rooms in the old building and en suite rooms around the old Bowling Green make this a very special place.The cuisine is bespoke and daily with one of the best hotel breakfast menus in the country.From continental to Traditional English with fresh fish and kippers and wonderful ham and tomatoes plus blends of tea,fresh fruit and cereals.
Walking through the front door you have a wonderful traditional market square with bespoke independent shops and the sea and beach less than five minutes away.The greens and commons are fantastic for exercise tiogether with a working fishing harbour Try the passenger ferry to Walberswick.We shall continue to,go,at least annually or more often if we have the time and the cash.

Room Tip: Speak to,the receptionists about your specific needs and their rates and offers
See more room tips
Green Features: Absolutely superb with highlights on the reception desk with full support from Adnams the owners
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Sincere thanks for the review and all your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely suite in the Swan, overlooking the market place. There was plenty of room to unpack all our things, although not so much space to unpack in the bathroom. The bath was huge, with plenty of very hot water and an excellent shower over. We were very comfortable here, spending time watching the tennis when it rained, and sleeping really well - not even being aware that a little market was being set up right outside our window the first night!

This is an old hotel and is a bit quirky in its design and function. The staff are delightful and very helpful, eg in finding us places to visit. But the clientele seems rather elderly and the dining room rather old-fashioned, with its linen napery and slightly slow service. We ate there one night and had a good meal, but we thought we'd try one of the other good restaurants in Southwold the next night. Breakfasts were good, with most normal things available and a good buffet of cold items.

A great thing about the Swan is that there is no musak anywhere any time. It's wonderful! We would definitely go back. Southwold itself is a delightful place and we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I shall be sure to add Quirky to our list of adjectives used to describe us here at The Swan! We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
12.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan is currently preening its feathers and we look forward to its reopening in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing