We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Fun”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burchley House

Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Edwardbea...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Just returned from a week with ten family members. We'll equipped & very spacious premises. Let down on trivia really, no extra toilet roll in en suite , just a half roll probably left by previous occupants? Door of "Lighthouse " room stuck if shut firmly.
Beautiful flowers , on arrival, but no chocolates & wine as stated by other guests!!
Brilliant Living Space for Large Family " get togethers "

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious Living Areas
Liked least: Lack of toilet rolls
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJaques1...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect palatial party pad”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We came here as a group of 10 adults to celebrate my 40th birthday. Leaving the children with their grandparents and allowing us to take full advantage of the house and activities on offer in Southwold. We were not disappointed with any aspect of the house. Each one of us wishing it was ours and more than one of us coming away with our own list of home improvements. It is the perfect property to celebrate with others in with the large kitchen/diner/family room meaning that there was room to move but be altogether. For quiet moments to large lounge was cosy and comfortable. We want to come back very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and luxury
Liked least: Leaving and the lack of champagne glasses
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggseys
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful family weekend”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed as a large family group of grandparents, parents and children and we all loved it. The house works really well for a large group, especially as every bedroom has an ensuite. It's a short walk into town and the seafront, with an excellent park very nearby. The wine, fresh flowers and cake on arrival were very welcome. We could not fault the house or facilities and loved cooking as a family and sitting at the large dining table. We had 3 children aged 6 and under and did not need to worry about them ruining the table and carpet etc as everything is set up to be practical but tasteful.
We would recommend it to other families and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and all bedrooms ensuite
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard25...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Time in Southwold”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Burchley House with family and friends. Each bedroom had its own en suite, which was great, no waiting to use the bathroom. Finished to a very high standard, nice and clean, plenty of space and very well situated for shops pubs and beach. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: en suite to every room
Liked least: Was very warm at times
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zebedy100
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The house is amazing and loved it as my home for the week”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Went with family to Southwold and we had 5 couples, 1 single person and 2 babies. The house had everything we needed, en suites to every room, plenty of parking and walking distance to seafront and town. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen area
Liked least: Very hot in house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Place...didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Burchley House to celebrate a friends early retirement with a surprise party. The house is beautiful with everything you can imagine supplied.Welcome pack with wine chocolates and flowers a lovely touch. Beautiful bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and v. comfy beds,the living areas are perfect,we all gathered in the kitchen dining area where there was enough space for all - the lounge area was only used for a bit of specialised 'dad dancing' to DJ Ray . We had a short list of other fantastic looking houses - but without doubt, we had the very best. We booked a local caterer to cook for us all on Saturday serving canapes and champagne plus a three course meal....fabulous!
The weekend was perfect - our only regret was we couldn't stay longer!
Would highly recommend to anyone, definitely a place to go back to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPS_43_20...
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What more could we have asked for?”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Well the simple answer is nothing other than some slightly better weather. The house is superb in every respect. We were a group of 12 (6 couples) celebrating the early retirement of one if the group. The bedrooms and en-suites were excellent and even after we drew lots for the rooms no-one was disappointed although our guest of honour by some fluke drew one of if not the best certainly not far short of it. The kitchen was a joy with every device one could want ,even a catering company we used for dinner on Sat evening were impressed. It is rare not to find a fault even a small one but this is one of those occasions. Thank you to the owners and the whole group are thinking of our return trip to your house and Southwold

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space within the house and all of the rooms
Liked least: There was nothing negative
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing