We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and relaxing atmosphere....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had a lovely relaxing short break away. Nigel and Karen are great hosts. Their dogs Harriet and Lily are a welcome pet for those that have left theirs at home. The room (we had the Lighthouse) was perfect. Ideal for a person with reduced mobility because it had a walk in shower, albeit the room is up stairs but a second handrail has been thoughtfully put in place. Beautifully appointed rooms and a lovely lounge room to use to snuggle into their enormous gold squashy sofas to chill after a busy day. Ideally located for the pier and the High Street (both for eating and shopping) The lounge looks straight out to sea. Luckily we had really good weather although windy (when it tipped down where we had come from). Will definitely return!

Room Tip: The Lighthouse has twin beds but also a large walk-in shower, great for those with limited mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanCee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very good B&B but could not rate Excellent because the room and en suite was a bit cramped and seemed a bit pricey (probably ok for Southwold) Breakfast beautifully cooked. Wonderful location on the sea front.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have not left Southwold yet bit we are so impressed with Nigel and Karens B&B we just had to rate it for everyone.
They are the perfect hosts. The B&B is so beautifully furnished and very clean and spacious.
So basically if you are looking for a lovely place to stay in Southwold and love food this is it.
Best wishes Phil & Karen

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philwhitetasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Manager at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay, we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Highly reccommend Northcliffe B&B for your stay in Southwold. Great location facing the sea and beaches, close to the renowned pier, and delightful town. Karen & Nigel manage to attain that elusive art of managing a well run business, while maintaining a calm,friendly laid back atmosphere, great hosts. The house is immaculate & inviting, and our room 'The Lighhouse', was charming, with coastal theme decoration, comfy beds, and well equipped for our needs. Apart from that, the well mannered house dogs Harriet & Lilly, were an added bonus - pretty 'gals' golden retriever's, who are very much part of the Northcliffe exprerience........ Lasting memory for me, tripping down the stairs to breakfast, catching the waft of breakfast cooking........ front door open, hearing the shore beckoning, and sitting on the bench opposite the house taking in the glorious fresh morning sea air - waiting eagerly for 0830... breakfast served! Doesn't get much better than that folks

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed in the room called the Lighthouse. This was at the back without a sea view. However,this was not a disadvantage as the room stayed nice and cool during a warm day but was lovely and bright in the afternoon. It was possible to have the window open without noises disturbing us. The room was adequate in size with good facilities which were spotless. It had very comfortable beds so we slept really well.
We cannot speak highly enough of Karen and Nigel. They gave us a warm welcome, were very well organised and interesting to talk to. They clearly enjoyed their job. Breakfasts cooked by either of them were just 'top hole', we've never tasted better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a great stay in southwold. This b and b is in a great location, close to the pier. Our hosts were wonderful, and as other people have mentioned the breakfast was excellent. We would definitely recommend here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dklon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Manager at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed staying at Northcliffe, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Northcliffe. It's perfectly placed on the front near the Pier and we had a sea view room with two arm chairs in the bay window to enjoy the view.
Our hosts, Karen and Nigel, were very friendly and welcoming and the house is beautifully appointed, spotless and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts to keep you going most of the day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
13 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
743 reviews
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing