We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Potton, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely two night break. The accommodation is great. The breakfasts are lovely. And Karen and Nigel are perfect hosts. We positively recommend 'Northcliffe' and will return ourselves. Andy and Alison.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Owner at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are pleased you found Northcliffe a lovely place to stay, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    33
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
130
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights over the May bank holiday and very much enjoyed our time. The room (Pier) was small but comfortable, it was clean and it had all the usual amenities. The owners serviced the room each morning, which I thought was a nice touch (given we were only there for 2 nights). The only downsides were the very small en-suite, and the lack of soundproofing (we could hear everything going on in the next room). The hotel is perfectly placed to walk anywhere you would want to go in Southwold, and whilst there is no parking, there was plenty of free street parking around and about (you just had to hunt for a space!). The breakfast was very tasty, you could choose what you wanted off of the hot menu and there were plenty of cereals/ fruit/ yoghurts to choose from as well. The owners were very helpful and welcoming, recommending places to eat and visit, and providing a wifi key (if you asked). Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Owner at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay. We are sorry you were disturbed by noise from next door, we haven't has such comments before but we will watch to see whether it happens again. We want our guests to have the best experience possible in Northcliffe & we hope you will still wish to come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Northcliffe in May the weekend before the bank holiday. We can only describe it has a totally enjoyable experience from start to finish. The breakfasts were certainly amongst the best we have encountered anywhere, the room ( the Sunrise ) was spotlessly clean and spacious and the view from the bay window of Southwold seafront was breaktaking
We found the hosts Karen and Nigel to be very informative and charming.
Southwold and the surrounding area is very scenic and interesting - we took the walk along the coast to Walberswick, visited Aldeburgh, Thorpeness and Dunwich.
Early evenings were spent in good company in the Lord Nelson a lovely olde fashioned pub.
We certainly would return to the Northcliffe and Southwold tomorrow.

Sean & Pat
Doncaster

Room Tip: The view from the bay window of the Sunrise room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Owner at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are pleased you had a relaxing stay in Northcliffe & enjoyed your time in Southwold. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here. We stayed in the sunrise room and it was lovely, the view was outstanding! Walking distance to everything you need, great breakfast and Karen and Nigel are so helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Owner at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you loved your stay with us in the Sunrise room & we hope to welcome you back to Northcliffe soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent two nights here in the Gun Hill room, which does not have a sea view but is comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were tasty, cooked by Nigel; who, together with Karen do their best to make your stay a comfortable one.

Room Tip: Gun Hill room does not have a sea view but is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tweedles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Owner at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay in The Gun Hill room & we hope to welcome you back to Northcliffe soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our first visit to Southwold. Karen & Nigel made us very welcome and advised us of good eating places. Our room was lovely and comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent - there was so much choice. An extra attraction for us are the two golden retrievers, Harriet & Lily, they are very friendly and like lots of fuss and attention. Parking was no problem and the good weather was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Owner at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Southwold & your stay in Northcliffe. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We three couples have an annual walking weekend in May. Northcliffe was an ideal venue for our stay in the Southwold area. The 3 rooms all had a sea view and were extremely comfortable and very clean. Northcliffe is located on a very quiet street and parking outside was safe and easy. Nigel cooked the best breakfast we have had during our ten years of meeting together as a group. Karen is the perfect host and made us all very wellcome in their home, nothing was too much trouble! We would all return to Northcliffe if we visit Southwold again.

Room Tip: Use the website to choose your room. The pictures and descriptions are all very representative of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Nigel B, Owner at Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay & particularly the breakfast. It is always good to have a group of friends staying with us so they can take advantage of the guest lounge,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast

Property: Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Northcliffe Bed & Breakfast Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing