We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggies beware...”

Black Olive Delicatessen
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fabulous selection of salads, cheeses, pies, chutneys and bread...perfect for a beach picnic.

However, I'm a veggie and was disappointed to find,when I got home, that the butternut squash and feta pie contained chicken :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PonytownGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tknit, Owner at Black Olive Delicatessen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit, and liked the goods you purchased. May I just confirm that a "Light as a Feta" pie should not contain meat, only butternut squash, feta and sundried tomatoes.

I can only assume that you were given the incorrect pie in error, for which I am very sorry. Please accept my apologies and call the shop on 01502 722312 at your earliest convenience. I will arrange a refund and replacement straight away.

Best Regards
Tracy Brown
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Superb salad selection, great cheeses and scotch eggs. Brilliant place to gather yummy picnic together.

Thank AMT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have changed layout of shop since last visit and unfortunately the staff were a tad offhand not customer friendly!

Thank likelylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Back in Southwold and made a point of returning to the Black Olive for some truly great deli food. Pies, Cheeses and Chutney to die for. So why a poor marking? Purely down to attitude of a lady who I assume was the manager (shortish lady with dark hair) who needs a few lessons in customer service. Perhaps we caught her on a bad day but really poor attitude to both us, as customers, and her young staff who were only responding to our simple request to try the Suffolk Gold before deciding whether to add it to our order. She 'butted-in' and took over from the youngsters unnecessarily and without understanding our request and when we explained she had got it wrong went off in a huff, maybe through embarrassment - I don't know! My recent experience apart the place is still worth seeking out. Maybe they need to change the sign outside to Love Food Love Southwold Love Black Olive and tolerate customers!!??

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Back in southwold and happy to return to the black olive for excellent chutney and cheeses. Shame they have stopped selling the sourdough they used to have butt well worth seeking out particularly for the great locally produced cheeses they have.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luapnosnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Olive Delicatessen also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Black Olive Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing