We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A rural gem in unspoilt Suffolk countryside.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn and Grain Store from across the fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn and Grain Store from across the fields
The Grain Store The main dining and living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Barn and Grain Store from across the fields
The Grain Store
The main dining and living area
Sensitively renovated agricultural building
Main bedroom - double brass bed, flat screen TV. Towels and linen provided
Single bedroom
Bathroom and WC
Kitchen
Outside seating and garden
Southwold and coast - 5 miles
For more information and photos go to www.whitehousebarn.com
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rosiet150...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rural gem in unspoilt Suffolk countryside.”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a delightful little hideaway in the middle of the countryside but only 10 minutes drive from Southwold.
The Grain Store is very tastefully and carefully fitted out making full use of the space. It was perfect for 2 for a long weekend. The only draw back is not having a shower, but it's hard to see how you could fit one in!
The owners, Mark and Sarah, had left a bottle of wine, some milk and some biccies as a welcome as well as fresh flowers. The gardens which adjoin the main house, are really delightful and we watched out for the barn owl nesting in the new owl box.
A very pleasant spot and very convenient for exploring the coastline, nature reserves etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katewA815...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Could not fault the quality of the Grain Store - brilliant break. We hope to return soon!!
Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you all back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thank you, that's very kind. We look forward to welcomimg you all back again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
helenlane...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and comfortable retreat.”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter [ adult] and I had a short stay at the Grainstore. I have stayed in surrounding areas several times but this was my first stay in this accommodation. We were made to feel very welcome and all the useful items were available for us- washing up liquid, tea towels, soap, milk, biscuits, wine and more. Although the kitchen is small, it has been carefully thought out and well stocked.
We both slept well as the beds were very comfortable. The quaint sloping ceilings do not allow adequate space for wardrobes but there were places to hang clothes and cupboard space. We would love to return - thank you for a great holiday in a great location.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic- clean, comfortable and lovely owners”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted two days away in Southwold, and The Grain Store seemed a good option as it was slightly outside the more touristy area plus it was really reasonably priced. I liaised with Mike throughout the booking process, and he was so obliging and friendly. We had a bottle of wine, a pint of milk, and biscuits waiting for us on arrival, and we were instantly charmed by the setting. The accomodation is clean, warm and very comfortable, and the views are beautiful. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. Thank you for a wonderful weekend Mike and Sarah- we will see you again for sure.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R807HXdav...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy and great value”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with my wife and one year old baby during high season (August). The property is in a great location and was great value- in comparison to other holiday lets in the area surrounding Southwold. It was perfect for my family as my one year old could crawl around on the same level as us while we prepared dinner or relaxed. The views from the cottage were lovely and the garden was very pretty. Basically it had everything we needed, including table tennis. The owners were really welcoming and kind, giving us wine and biscuits on arrival. They set up a cot area for my son and even brought him toys to play with.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this place. Even on a day when it was bad weather, it was great as we had a cosy hideaway to watch DVD's in.
Thanks again to the Butt family for a great stay. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WareMum
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would come here again”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a happy and comfortable holiday at the Grain Store. Less than ten minutes from Southwold for seaside and beach, plus many other destinations within easy reach for those with young children. The accommodation was clean and well taken care of, with good facilities for self catering (no need to take anything at all). A beautiful building with lots of natural light, although anyone over six foot would need to be a bit careful of beams. The single bedroom would be good for children of a range of ages - small and den-like (our six-year old loved it). The Butt family were welcoming and had added many thoughtful touches (e.g. kite to borrow, good selection of DVDs, teabags/milk/wine/biscuits on arrival). We'd happily return to the Grain Store. Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing