We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of No. Fifty One Cafe

No. Fifty One Cafe
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A cafe bistro serving fresh, home cooked, locally sourced meals from breakfast, lunch, tea & coffees & homemade cakes - all made on the premises by us.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped at No. 51 for lunch: my baked potato had to be ordered off-menu and with quite a few tweaks due to a restricted diet; they accommodated my request with no problems at all, and even checked back as to how I'd like it served, to make sure it was ok. The dish was generous and perfectly seasoned, and I polished it off more than happily. My partner also enjoyed his pulled pork and apple baguette.

The venue's decor is fresh and the service attentive and pleasant. We'll definitely be returning on our next visit to Southwold.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewjunkies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at No. Fifty One Cafe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review, we try and accommodate dietary requirements so glad we could help make your lunch more enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    102
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great lunch choice for all the family”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Clearly popular with both locals and holidaymakers, No 51 is a must visit if you're in Southwold (we were just there for the weekend and popped in for lunch on the Saturday after a mooch around the village). Simple, satisfying freshly cooked food that will please all the family. It's got a lovely atmosphere and the staff are happy to chat and give tips on the area. The outside area has been recently opened, and really makes the space. Looking forward to visiting again and trying out the cakes :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, wonderful service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our second visit to Café 51, and certainly won't be our last! The food was lovely - tomato soup, full of tasty tomatoes; jacket potato with Suffolk ham and pineapple chilli relish - superb; my niece had the chicken baguette which was spit roasted on site, the owners were lovely and very accommodating to our specific orders- this will be one of many visits to come I'm sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at No. Fifty One Cafe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review, very kind and we will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent cafe/restaurant!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Sam and Ali run this excellent cafe in Southwold, offering delicious, well-cooked, home-made meals using local ingredients. They serve everything from breakfast, lunch and 'high teas'; the weekend evening meals, offering a two or three course supper are a refreshing change from eating at other, more formal venues in the town. The fact that you can take your own wine ( they have no alcohol licence) means that you are totally in control of your budget for the evening. There is a very welcoming atmosphere; Sam is an excellent chef, Ali is brilliant at putting customers at their ease and Helen is a real bonus as a knowledgeable, friendly and efficient waitress. Cafe 51 should be on the list of places to eat for every visitor to Southwold.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Highly recommend this restaurant. Limited menu but fantastic freshly cooked food. Reasonably priced, friendly staff and added bonus you can take your own wine. Will try to get back there soon

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No. Fifty One Cafe also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to No. Fifty One Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing