We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I agree with the previous post, perfect but a little faded around the edges. First impressions, the welcome, staff and food bump up my marking on the Blyth - we too stayed in the Southwold room and felt it wasn't quite up to the standard we were expecting, but maybe that’s me being picky.

When we first arrived the welcome we received was very warm and we were made to feel very much at home. Décor is lovely and bright and there was always someone about to take your drinks order or help with any questions. The food is top notch - try the pigeon starter and belly of pork for main - amazing! The cheese board is pretty good as well! Breakfast is a really good selection of both continental and cooked breakfasts. My one gripe with the restaurant, particularly in the evening, was the background music - Michael Buble is obviously a favourite at the moment!

Our room was lovely on first impressions but after the first night a couple of things stood out - all the radiators in the bedroom and bathroom were cranked on up to the max and opening windows proved to be a bit of a struggle but we got there eventually, turning the bedroom radiators down wasn't too much of a problem but the bathroom was a bit difficult. Although instructions were given on how to use the shower the temperature tap was quite difficult to turn and you either had freezing cold or scalding hot water, so be careful! And the curtains were coming off the rail on the main windows. The positives of the room - very light and airy, lovely comfy mattress and pillows, large storage with lots of hanging space and hangers, tea and coffee facilities, freeview TV. As I said above, maybe I'm just picky but the negative things I've mentioned certainly didn't make me enjoy my stay any less.

Southwold itself is beautiful and I would certainly return here and stay at the Blyth. I've stayed in lots of hotels where you are faced with miserable looking staff but not the case here and you are made to feel truly welcomed. In my opinion they do make this hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    299
    137
    43
    29
See reviews for
79
514
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedford, uk
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have stayed here about 6-8 times and are happy to report that things get better and better! This time we were offered a free upgrade to the Southwold Suite as we are regular customers. We were delighted with this as the room was large, bright and airy with everything we could have wished for.
We ate in the restaurant that evening and all of the food was really good. I thought the southwold cod with mussel chowder was particularly fine. Breakfasts of Egg Benedict and my husband's smoked haddock with spinach and poached egg, were also fantastic. I would defy anyone not to enjoy such a fabulous range and quality of breakfast...
Sure, this hotel is not perfect (perhaps a little faded around the edges) but we love the friendly welcome, the homely ambience and the sheer quality of the food, we feel it beats the other hotels we have stayed at in Southwold hands down. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliveo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlythManagement, Owner at Blyth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Hi Oliveo99

Lovely to see you coming back again and again - compliment enough in my books, but I would just like to thank you anyway for your glowing review !
Glad to hear you enjoyed the upgrade to the Southwold Room and certainly sounds as though the Southwold Cod with mussel chowder and the Smoked Haddock hit the spot - Chef certainly does like his dishes with fishes.
Being an Edwardian Hotel rolling maintenance and general improvements are something we place high up on our day to day " things to do " list, as there is, admittedly, always something requiring our attention and we have, since taking the property over in 2006, developed very keen eyes indeed. As you quite rightly mention, we are in no way perfect but it is this fact which keeps us attempting to improve what we have to offer from one day to the next, and your continued support and custom is testament to that.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back again to the Blyth, Southwold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed in hotel for one night on Tuesday 28th February 2012. The hotel has been tastefully decorated, the food was excellent and the staff were very helpful. Our room was very well appointed, of a good size, light and airy with a modern bathroon. We thought it was very good value and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for advice when you book. We were on the first floor overlooking the rear terrace area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlythManagement, Owner at Blyth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Hello Jane S

Thank you very much for giving the Blyth 5 stars and for your comments.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would want to return again in the future.

Best Wishes,


Richard Ashwell ( Proprietor )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed for one night with afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast. On arrival first impressions were very pleasant.Lovely and bright and airy with good decor. All members of staff were cheery and our check in was fine.We were a little suprised with our superior room.
When we arrived in the room it was freezing cold due to the fact that the heating had been turned off.We did read in fairness that the welcome book stated heating could be regulated by the guests and would be set originally at low, but none the less it was not the best greeting when they know they have guests arriving in this room in February when its obviously not warm outside. The main suprise though was the very small size of the room for a superior room.What size the standard room is we can't imagine.Our superior was quite dark with one small window. There was just enough room for bed small table with tv on top and small table with tea and coffee items on top. Also one small wardrobe. A mirror on the wall but no room for a dressing table so you would have to stand up at the mirror to get ready. On reading others comments regarding the same deal as ourselves it seems we must have had the smallest of the superior rooms. Unfortunately the heated towel rail did not work in the bathroom at all (and this was the only source of heating in this room) and we did mention this to a member of staff who said to just turn the tap at the bottom which we did frequently but sadly no luck so gave up. We had a nice big bath but the other problem was the hot water. There was a notice on the wall advising you run it for a while to get hot (although the taps were not marked h & c on either sink or bath which didn't help matters) and we were able to get some hot eventually but not enough really for two small baths. I tried to get my ipod to work as the hotel advertises wi fi but it was very patchy so gave up. Perhaps it would work better downstairs. My partner had a little better luck with his ipad although that also crashed a few times too. There is a bit of noise from the kitchen fan below which was situated outside near our room but obviously this can't be helped and was ok when it was switched off later in the evening after service.Unpacked and then decided to go and have our afternoon tea. Only problem was we went to relax in the lounge but unfortunately the layout is such that there is not adequate seating for more than one couple really. And there was indeed one couple in there enjoying their tea. It would have been better if they had more seating instead of just a few seats around the edge of the room with a huge gap in the middle. nothing grouped together to make it a welcoming room. It would have been lovely to have somewhere to relax rather than just our room but unfortunately we could not do this. We were shown a small room off the bar area which was nice but only had wooden tables and chairs so no chance sadly of relaxing on those. Afternoon tea was very nice though and a glass of fizz to go with it. After a pleasant stroll into town and a walk on the pier we arrived back ready for our evening meal which was also good and there was some lovely choices. The staff were very efficient and friendly and we had a lovely unhurried evening. Next morning the breakfast selection again was very good and we both had hearty cooked breakfasts which were very tasty and decent sized portions. All in all the deal was very good but we would not return to pay normal price for a superior room if this room was what they offered.

Room Tip: If paying for a superior room it would be an idea to ask to see the rooms before choosing if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kas01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have just used a Groupon voucher to stay for one night including dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. We stayed in room 5 which was a good size and nicely decorated. All staff were friendly and helpful, the quality and choice of food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlythManagement, Owner at Blyth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Hello Linda G,

Much appreciated feedback, thank you, and glad to hear you managed to take advantage of the very popular Groupon offer which proved a great success with our guests.
Your feedback has been passed onto our team and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

Richard Ashwell ( Proprietor )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just spent a night at the Blyth on a groupon deal which included afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast . This proved to be excellent value for money but we would happily return and pay full price based on the quality of our stay.
The staff were all very welcoming and the rooms stylishly decorated. The evening meal was of a very high quality and I can't wait to return there!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Limited Parking. Very friendly courteous staff. Cream tea on arrival, excellent dinner menu, good breakfast, no problems with room 3 (once the essential kitchen fan below was switched off). Superb value with 'groupon' voucher.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing