We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Outstanding stay at this wonderfukl hotel”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
norwich
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another Outstanding stay at this wonderfukl hotel”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

have been to The Blyth for the last 4 years for the new years break. It is always value for money and this year was no exception. we had a worried owner contacting me as we had not arrived on time but unfortunately there had been a mix up so it was lovely for them to call to make sure we were okay. When we arrived we were greeted as warmly as usual and as I had taken my mum this time it was great for her to see the warmth and friendliness of this hotel. We had the Aldeburgh room for the first night and it was lovely followed by The Southwold Room for the second night (due to the mix up). As usual both rooms were superb and mum loved them. The new years eve party is excellent and the room decorated really nice with some great touches. The pre dinner champers and Canapes were lovely followed by probably the best meal I have ever had for a long way at this lovely hotel. They have a new chef in Bret and he is excellent. The disco and party was great fun and the addition of the disco in the main room was good as we all danced our pants off. At midnight we had these lovely cannons of streamers to shhot followed by the usual festivities and then outside for the very very good Fireworks (well done Claire great choice). We were then treated to some lovely hot bacon rolls and continued to party. after retiring for the evening we had a lovely jazz/bucks fizz brekkie before exploring the local area.On our last evening we again had a lovely meal before retiring to our room for a rest. It was lovely to see so many old faces and friends again and the hospitality is first class (mum loved it). The hotel does get busy on New years day but if you go out its better. I love my stays at the bLyth and should my shifts allow will be returning next year again. Thanks to Rick,Claire, Jackie,Sam and all the other girls that treated us well. Top place, Tp People and a top time had by me and mum LOVED IT

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichTubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    300
    138
    45
    29
See reviews for
80
516
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before but haven't been back for a couple of years but we had a weekend there a few weeks ago and it is as good as ever if not better. Lovely room, good staff and two great dinners plus super breakfasts it really is well worth staying here. If you are in this part of the country don't miss it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

If you like good food, this is the place for you. Evening meals and Breakfasts are superb. Merlot house wine, highly recommended, and reasonably priced. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Didn't see the chef, but his meals are a delight to eat. The filleted sea bass is to die for, cooked to perfection and not a bone in sight. All in all, a great place to stay, and the service by all the staff, was excellent. Good location, a very short walk into the lovely town of Southwold. Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

A lovely hotel with lovely staff. Great accomodation and excellent food. Close to all that Southwold has to offer. We were in a party of 12 but the staff were unphased by this and served all our needs excellently. We applauded the chef for his excellent offerings. The house wines were good value as well.

Room Tip: Superior King size rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

There were several really positive things about our recent 2 night mid week break at the Blyth Hotel in Southwold. The service was excellent - very welcoming and friendly, but also unobtrusive. Dinner and breakfast were served promptly with the right amount of attention, but again not too much. The Hotel itself was very distinctive, our bedroom (the one above the front door with a balcony) was tastefully decorated with good quality furnishings and a huge bed and bath. Overall the hotel has a pleasant 'by the seaside' feel. The best thing, however about our stay was the food. We had 2 evening meals included in our package and on both occassions were served very good quality meat and fish dishes (the roast cod and pork belly particularly delicious), coupled with the great service and home made bread - we were very happy and full. Great selection of breakfast choices too. Only one negative springs to mind - the hotel was so well heated, that it was a little too hot at night.

Lovely stay and great food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Small car park but plenty of on road parking. Went to check in and we were greater by extremely friendly staff who gave us a verbal description of the hotel and it's facilities and we were also given this in leaflet form.
We were on the top floor which was up 3 flights of stairs but with just a couple of small bags this didnt matter. Wouldn't fancy it with big suitcases.
The room was spacious, clean and nicely furnished/decorated. Tea/coffee facilities and my personal favourite packs of biscuits.
The shower room was small but perfectly functional with plenty of clean towels.
We ventured down to the bar and again received a very friendly greeting and I was pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the cost of a bottle of wine was. Mind you, over £2 for a small of water was a bit harsh.
We did not dine at the Blythe but the menu looked very temping and good value.
Another highlight was breakfast, I expected the usual full English and whilst this was available there were lots of other options and I can certainly recommend the scrambled egg with chives and smoked salmon.
An 11a.m check out is reasonable and again a friendly farewell was received.
There are more expensive hotels in Southwold but I doubt they would offer anything better other than a high street location.
So, as long as you are not afraid of stairs the Blythe Hotel is a great place to base yourself if visiting Southwold.

Room Tip: We went for a superior room which was lovely, can't comment on the other rooms though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A very warm welcome and hotel information on arrival by a very cheerful and caring lady.
Bedroom over the front entrance was just what we wanted-adequate and cosy,very clean always over the three nights we were there.
The chef, I award 10/10,. Breakfasts were five star and very adequate, only a very light lunch required. Dinners were superb, but could do with more items on the menu.
Hope these remarks have impact on your decision to try this hotel.

Beware of the notice in the car park-it could cause you to take more care when the birds overnight there !!!!!!
.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing