We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Again”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
MK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Think Again”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Well you read reviews and make a decision. Stayed last week, Lets start with the good bits the bedding was clean and so were the towels. That's it.
Badly in need of a refurb, our room 8 was smelly, pillows gave us neck ache,carpets were dirty. Couldn't leave windows open as they led onto the fire escape( the route was through our room)
Breakfast not good. Old excellence awards do not reflect today's standards.
Not manned after 11 at night.
I had to double check we were in the right hotel after reading the good reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    299
    133
    41
    29
See reviews for
78
509
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Lakes
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed here in April and it was not an altogether fun experience. Nouvelle cuisine is clearly seen by the chef as an excuse for miniscule proportions, some of which didn't match the description on the menu. This culminated in an appalling breakfast with less than a teaspoon of marmalade provided....... Interiors are in need of restoration, and I'm unimpressed by hotel management who leave the hotel untended overnight.

There are plenty of good reviews on here - but sorry, can't recommend it, as it feels like they're cutting corners.

Room Tip: Try the Crown or Swan Hotels.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicenickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was our fortieth wedding anniversary trip and we had never been to Southwold before. The room was warm and comfortable throughout our stay. We had three good nights rest in the large roomy bed and three excellent breakfasts which lasted us all day!! The evening meals were gourmet standard and couldn't be faulted. The staff at the Blythe hotel were extremely friendly, helpful and obliging especially at breakfast and "Clair" who went out of her way to assist. The manager described himself as Basil Fawlty and who am I to disagree! We would definately stay there again and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ours was room 3 and I could not comment on the others. Very quiet at night with a huge bathroom ,big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suevalcabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at the Blyth Hotel as part of a Groupon deal on the eve of Wed 10th April 2013. We booked 2 rooms as 2 couples and found that our room had been upgraded, which was very pleasing. We found all the staff to be friendly and efficient. The resident's lounge was well furnished and a comfortable place to enjoy an afternoon cup of tea. We did not dine at the Blyth restaurant because we thought it a bit expensive, but the breakfast served in the morning was of a good quality. We would stay at the Blyth again as it is also a good location only a short walk from town and the seafront.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a rather wet weekend. Our room was spacious and provided everything we needed for a weekend away. We would concur with other comments that the hotel is in need of decorating but it was clean and comfortable. Don't be put off from the outside, especially if arriving from the side road as the hotel does look a bit tatty, however once inside the hotel entrance and restaurant area are bright and welcoming. Location is great - down the side road to reach the pier or along the main road to get to the shops. We went for a lovely long walk over to Walberswick and back and then appreciated the deep bath on our return. Breakfast was basic but the cooked food was done very well. We would have appreciated some fruit at breakfast or mueli as the cereals provided were a bit limited. The staff serving in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient. At £99 per night, well worth the money for a lovely little hotel in a great location. Wouldn't pay any more than that though!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susiewoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed 6 and 7 April, during the Easter break. The hotel looks a bit tired and in need of a visit by the decorators. The menu on the Sunday night was exactly the same as the previous night and, unlike then, it took over 2 hours to serve the food. We don't eat meat and we were disappointed by the lack of choice for vegetarians. As has been mentioned elsewhere on this site, breakfast is quite basic with limited choice of cerials and no fresh (or dried) fruit. For our full vegetarian breakfast on the Monday morning we got one sausage each, one egg, a mushroom or two, sauted potatoes and a tomato. The sausage was overcooked and had to be replaced.
On the positive side the hotel is well situated and has friendly and helpful staff. Our room was plenty large enough and very clean. Despite the problems mentioned the food was on the whole very nice and well presented. We have family who have stayed here 2 or 3 times previously and have enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynneandJohn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The weather may have been decidedly unpredictable in Southwold but the welcome was warm and sunny at the Blythe. Our family of 3 and bella the dog were made to feel at home at the Blythe. Bedrooms comfy and clean, bar area fresh and welcoming (cos we had bella we ate brekkie and dinner here and the food was fab). Owners had made the place all easter decorated and had some kids bits planned for easter sunday too

Highly recommended. Will visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim40in2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
673 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
990 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing