We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Blyth Hotel Southwold early in the New Year 2014”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We enjoyed a lovely few days in Southwold staying at the Blyth Hotel which was recommended on trip advisor by a friend of a friend on facebook. We had the Aldburgh room which had a huge en-suite bathroom with a large window in it, a powerful shower and a very nice bedroom attached which although on a main road was very quiet at night. The hotel was about ten minutes walk from Southwold pier. The cooked breakfast was great and so were the evening meals. Very good value for money

Room Tip: Aldburgh room was nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molennium1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I were given this 2 night stay as a Christmas gift and I have to say it is the best gift ever. We travelled to Southwold on a Monday and stayed until Wednesday, our 2 nights in this hotel were bliss. The room was a good size as was the bathroom. The heating was just right, the hotel staff were kind and friendly and very helpful. The place is very clean and welcoming, they have their own bar which is lovely and the locals are also friendly. But I have to say I have never tasted food like it, it is out of this world and all this from a chef who is only 21, this young man has a great future ahead of him. The food is local, beautifully presented and tastes wonderful. What a lovely place and a lovely atmosphere. We will be returning again and again. This time we were on our own, but would consider taking our children next time. This hotel is also dog friendly so take your 4 legged friend with you. I have given it a 5 rating overall but sleep quality I marked down, not that it was their fault, having had an operation earlier in the year I couldnt get comfortable on, what was for my taste a firmer mattress.

Room Tip: My partner and I stayed in room 3 however they do have larger rooms available with a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenT649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We came here for a weekend break on the dinner bed and breakfast deal which was good value. We were in the Aldeburgh room and our friends were in the Southwold. I think these are probably the best two bedrooms in the hotel. Ours was a reasonable size and comfortable, and the Southwold looked great as it was very big. Our bathroom was OK but there were some instructions provided relating to the shower, explaining how to turn the tap to avoid scalding. However, following the instructions seemed to create the problem with scalding. We ate in the restaurant both nights. I personally didn't think the food was that great despite it being nicely presented. For example the peas with my fish and chips were like bullets, and the grapes with the cheeseboard came out still frozen. We liked the bar and the overall ambience of the place. If we were staying in Southwold again we would come back here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank loobyloo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from another lazy weekend in Southwold and we wouldn't stay anywhere but The Blyth. It has it's own unique style which is very warm and welcoming and the staff are excellent. We find it very reasonable value and the food is delicious! The Blyth is just a great place to relax and unwind and we will be back in the near future for sure... Chris & Karen

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Tried to book with a groupon promotion but was unable to have any of the 5/6 dates I offered, as groupon promotions can only be used on certain dates.So booked for the dinner b&b instead for £120 per night for 2 people.Food was fab and to a high restaurant standard, the waitress was brilliant and very friendly and helpful.The room was nice with a large shower however the double bed was 2 singles pushed together making it very uncomfortable for my husband who had a very lumpy mattress! Nice bar and quiet lounge room.The first morning breakfast was a disaster as there was no waiting staff due to nobody turning in for work, so we had to chip in together to get through breakfast.When the owner arrived later in the day he gave no apologies for the inconvenience caused, the apologies were left for the staff on checkout to do when we paid the bill.We did have the breakfast refunded though when we made it clear we could not pay for a service we did not receive which was acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a proper double bed and hopefully not 2 singles pushed together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I visited the Blyth on January 14th 2014 for two days. This was a surprise for my wife. We had booked via late rooms.com. On travelling to the Blyth I had a phone call from Richard telling us that he had upgraded our room and had given us their Southwold suite (including jacuzzi). What a wonderful gesture. Both myself and my wife were very humbled by the kindness and genuine care shown by Richard and his staff. Would certainly recommend the Blyth Hotel. This was our second visit, the first being about 5 years ago.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy19542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked fairly late by my parents, our family group of ten were not sure what to expect. Very pleasantly surprised. Lovely lunch, beautifully presented and served by friendly attentive staff. Beautifully decorated room. Definitely represented good value and got our family holiday off to a great start.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 4 in Southwold
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
785 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
699 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: £74 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing