We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professional welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for just one night at the Blyth Hotel and was greeted by Richard on reception. My wife and I were immediately at ease with our booking and found Richard to be very helpful re all aspects of our stay, informing us of times for both dinner and breakfast, morning paper and generally made us feel welcome. The icing on the cake was an offer to upgrade our room (free of charge) to the Aldborough Room which we accepted with appreciation. Even got to meet Richards parents and had a chat. Really nice people. In the light of two experiences we had that day of a lack of hospitality by unhappy people elsewhere , we found the Blyth Hotel a breath of fresh air. The staff at evening Dinner were also a credit to the hotel, and could not fault the food which was nicely presented and delicious. We found also a high level of cleanliness here and would certainly stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlythManagement, Owner at Blyth Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Wow... what can I say, but, 'Thank You' on behalf of myself and my team...
It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Blyth and you were more than welcome with the room upgrade .. it's always nice to be considered a 'breath of fresh air'...something we all strive to be at the Blyth... Head Chef Lee and his team really appreciate your comments regarding the meals they prepared for you during your stay, along, also, with our Housekeeping Team who serviced & maintained your room.

Kind words, warmly received...

Best Wishes,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    294
    132
    41
    27
See reviews for
74
503
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived early for check in so had lunch - soup cold, 'caramalised' bananas, ha ha, for pudding - just normal chopped bananas with a bit of sugar on! Long winded bs when we said caramelised bananas were usually cooked...
Leak from our radiator in our room upstairs dripped onto my husband's head while he waited in the lobby to try and get the wifi to work.
Therefore no heating in our room, nor in the bathroom for the rest of our stay. Very very cold during the night, had to out our scarves and hats on in bed.
Shower in the bath, difficult for someone having had knee surgery to get into but we hadn't been told shower was in the bath on booking.
My husband doesn't usually wear his reading glasses in the shower so was unable to read the lengthy instructions to work it.
When it did work it was either scalding or freezing. Just one shower cap provided even though it was one of those large straight out of the ceiling, non flexible shower heads...
Awful fake smell pervaded the whole hotel, luckily I found a plug in atomiser so was able to switch it off in our room at least. Haven't they heard about people being allergic to these disgusting things, not to mention asthmatics. W!hy are they necessary? What smell is being covered up?
Breakfast very slow, interesting plastic apple juice & milk container, unique I should think. Certainly very unappetising.
Second morning's breakfast interrupted by fire alarm so we had to stand in the freezing Southwold March wind outside until they'd sorted it - yet another leaking radiator.
Wifi absolutely useless.
We will never go there again even though we visit relations in Southwold frequently.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't help with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for one night for my husbands birthday. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good. We had the Southwold room which was very spacious and good to relax in. The jacuzzi bath was fun too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner and I have visited Southwold over many years, but this was our first stay at the Blyth. It will not be the last! From arrival to departure the staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed 4 nights B&B - in Room 6. The room was large, cosy and tastefully furnished. The food at breakfast was delicious and cooked to order and though we didn't have dinner [only in that we like a change of scenery in the evening!] the menu and aromas from the kitchen were tantalising to say the least! The Blyth is but minutes walk from the beach, pier, shops and local pubs which are plentiful and we had a very good deal courtesy of late-rooms. In addition to the sizeable bar there is a delightful sitting room where we enjoyed a nightcap last thing and where there are magazines and newspapers to browse.

Some reviewers note the slightly dated décor - but this is Southwold not Knightsbridge, so if you're happy to pay Knightsbridge prices, have a word with Richard! I wouldn't say it was dated. It was charming and homely and everything was spotlessly clean!

We've stayed in every hotel in Southwold. But next visit we will return to The Blyth!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 611DominicF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights for a birthday treat for his 5oth. I am so pleased i picked this hotel to any of the others in the area. every thing was just perfect from the start to finish. Every member of staff were helpful and very friendly. The food looked and tasted fantastic. the beer was fresh and a very good price. the prices were good. Southwold is a lovely location for a nice quiet break. thank you to all the staff at the Blyth you all made this a very enjoyable break :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a three night stay at the Blyth Hotel on a DBB deal.We sampled two rooms on our stay,superior Double and the Southwold suite,the latter being very spacious but both rooms were a little tired with furnishings.Our first nights dinner was a little dissapointing but the next two nights were very nice although to have either bread or a roll served with your starter would have been nice(without having to pay for it). Cleanliness was good,staff were polite although need a little more knowledge with regards to wine available also no wine lists!!!
We have visited southwold for the past 35 years and love it although some of the changes are not for the better,we would stay at the Blyth again on a deal basis. Average to Good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ruth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I love this wonderful hotel. It has everything going for it. Superb staff, gorgeous food, warm & comfortable rooms & a brilliant location. They do go the extra mile in customer care. Its the only place I would stay in & around Southwold.

Room Tip: Speak to the boss, he is great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing