We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, but the hotel had cut corners in the quality of service.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blyth Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, but the hotel had cut corners in the quality of service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff were very nice, the hotel was clean, warm, well-decorated and in a good state of repair. Its well-located. However, it seemed that corners had been cut in the standard of service and this spoiled our visit.

There was no bar of soap in the bathroom and the liquid soap was fixed to the wall at a height that would have been convenient if you were taking a shower but inaccessible from the bath. The hot water wasn't hot enough.

Breakfast was disappointing: instead of stewed prunes, they were straight from the packet; the fruit in the bowl was tired and melon was unripe. The choice of cereals was limited and dull and there was no natural yoghurt. The artisan bread which had been praised in earlier reviews had been changed for cheap steam-baked bread. The cooked meal was heavy and poorly cooked. They had cut corners on quality across the menu and it was very noticeable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    293
    130
    41
    27
See reviews for
74
502
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Arrived at hotel and met by friendly lady who booked us in. Sadly on checking our room there were hairs in the bed; the sheets did not look fresh; the bath was dirty and the room was dusty. We knew it was reviewed as "tired and in need of a coat of paint" but this went beyond that; espcially for £90 per night. as we were booked in for 2 nights and felt we could not stay, we booked out- the lady on reception was very apologetic and said housekeeping would be spoken to. After leaving and finding somewhere else, (nice pub) for night, were told the food at the Blyth also leaves something to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our break was booked at the last minute but we found the Blyth Hotel very welcoming and the staff all exceedingly helpful. We were accommodated in a comfortable and clean small room with an ensuite bathroom. We enjoyed our two dinners sitting in the cosy friendly bar. The staff went out of their way to give us information about where to visit in Southwold as we had not been there before. The breakfasts consisted of a buffet selection followed by a freshly cooked English breakfast with a wide choice of dishes. It was a shame that no muesli was available on the buffet.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JackyMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Amazed at the reviews, in comparison to our stay. Its always bad when a hotel room isnt as comfortable as your own at home. The bed was the most uncomfortable i have ever stayed in, the rooms are basic clean and tired. The toiletries are bolted into the walls. Its is dog friendly and as such we found hairs pretty much everywhere. The windows were rotten to the core and we struggled to close it. Woken up at 5am from birds nesting in the eves. Breakfast, took one look, and went straight into town at the bakery. For an extra £20 on the night we stayed, we could have gone to the 5* Swan! The staff however were lovely so i feel bad for this review.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TALLBIRD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linslade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April recently. Very nice Hotel that is quite central for everything. Out the front door to the left and a short walk is the High Street and all amenities. A little map of the direct area would have been helpful if provided as we discovered by accident that the residential road at the side of the Hotel is a direct road to the Pier and beach. The Staff were friendly and helpful. It's a shame the restaurant stops serving at 9pm as we arrived on the Friday at quarter past 9 after a long journey and a meal in the Hotel would have been lovely. (Their food is very good.) We were offered sandwiches but set off into town, only to find out that no-one was serving meals after 9pm! The double room was compact but nice and well stocked and there was a generous sized bathroom with a big corner shower. The bed was comfy. I liked the fact that all the original features have been kept, like the fireplace in the bedroom and all the original windows, having not gone down the pvc window route. The building has all it's original wonderful character. Across the road is a place that hires cycles and there is a walk down to the harbour. Great choice of breakfasts. I can recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! We also had lunch there on the Saturday and again the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 262Izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at the Blyth from Sunday 13th - Wednesday 16th April 2014. We stayed on the stay for 2 nights get 3rd night free. We had to eat our evening meal at the Hotel but it was well worth it. The Roast dinner on Sunday was gorgeous. We also had the Hake, Belly Pork and Lamb all equally delicious. Sharon and Skye were fantastic at front of house and well done to all in the kitchen. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a 2 night stay. Our room no. 5 was very spacious and looked out over the outside sitting area to the side of the hotel. When we booked (by phone) I was promised an email confirmation which did not arrive despite me 'phoning again. We were offered a free bottle of wine if we booked a table for dinner on our first night but were not told of the 'loyalty' scheme whereby we could have 10% off food and drink on the first night.
We were however given a complimentary coffee on arrival which was very welcome.
On several occasions it was difficult to 'summon' anyone to the reception as there was no bell or similar. Calling out from the bar is not the best thing to have to do as a guest.
The bed in the room was the most uncomfortable I had ever slept on. This had been pointed out in a previous trip advisor review which I read from the book of reviews proudly displayed in the room. I too personally mentioned it to the man on the reception desk. If hotels ask for reviews on this site they should investigate these sorts of observations. In the case of this hard bed, the hotel owners clearly hadn't made any attempt to rectify the situation.
Breakfast was quite unremarkable. The long wait for the bread to toast means that the food starts to go cold, and despite the menu stating that we should ask for anything that we might require, the chef could not furnish us with some baked beans. On our second day, we were told that there had been a delivery of the 'wrong type' of salmon so we had to re select. It seemed to us that there needed to be a few more staff serving at breakfast as the waitress couldn't keep up with the demands of filling the coffee maker, replenishing the bread, finding the sugar as well as taking orders and serving them from the kitchen.
On the day we left it seemed that the cleaner had no idea that we hadn't checked out and wanted to come in and clean too soon.
Not the worst place we have stayed in and for its star rating and price was about what we could expect.
The hotel is very near the town and sea front which is very convenient.
Could be a much more quest friendly place if little touches were made e.g. arranging newspapers to be delivered instead of doing it yourself from the shop across the road, selling stamps and postcards, having a means to summon someone to reception, serving tea and coffee to guests instead of having to make it oneself and getting a much more efficient way of providing toast!

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel rather than book on line as the rooms are all very variable seemingly for the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing