We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a stay in may”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was probably 3/4 years ago a very nice hotel to stay at . But now looking very tired in all departments . Windows in need of repair & paint . Net curtains looking grey & holed . Bathroom was clean but tired . The girl behind the bar & serving breakfast was great . The owner who greated us was ok but we were not aloud in are room we were 3/4 hr early after travelling back from luxemberg by motercycle &it was a very warm day . We had too get changed in the toilet then walk into town & return to are room later to shower & change which was very dissapointing . Dont think i would stay here again . (Property needs a good spruce up )

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great stay. Good value, but breakfast needs sorting out. Waited forever, the bacon wasn't cooked. Lovely staff though! Had dinner on one night which was very good. Stayed for a wedding and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenjac181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a short stay and found it ideal. The rooms are excellent, as are the bar and dining areas. Staff are helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone....Would stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really liked this place. Cosy room with a good en suite and very quiet. The hotel has a good friendly feel to it and the staff were friendly aswell. Good choice of breakfasts and top notch real ale,(happy hour too!). Only five mins into town and ten mins to the pier. The weekend we were there it was scorching hot too! Would not hesitate to stay again. Cheers!

Room Tip: Think you would be ok anywhere, Southwold doesn't stay up late or make a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stuart t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in June 2014. There are many Tripadvisor rave reviews in a hotel booklet, but none since March 2013. There were too may niggles for us to share that enthusiasm. The staff were always helpful, but there weren't always enough of them around, especially at breakfast time, one person dealing with check-outs and diners' needs. The breakfast was good, but very DIY - for a top of the range budget hotel we expected not to have to make our own toast, tea and coffee etc. and don't expect butter and jams in nasty plastic wrappers. There is no lift, many of the rooms are on the second floor. Overnight there are no resident staff, we arrived back late one night and were unable to unlock the front door until a helpful passer-by assisted us.

Room Tip: remember there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Blyth Hotel.The room was clean and comfortable with a shower-over-bath. We were told by the hotelier to just ask if we needed anything. There was also plenty of choice for a vegetarian breakfast. The hotel has a bar and lounge facilities, and free wi-fi. Although we didn't dine in the restaurant ourselves in the evening, it was busy most nights when we passed by. We found the staff very polite and nothing was too much trouble. In fact, It had all the facilities we needed for a quiet getaway. We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay. We found it more than adequate, especially as it is only a short walk to the centre of the village. Not bad at all for a 2 star hotel!!!

Room Tip: Room 9 at the top, was a very good size, and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Ideal location for visiting Southwold and walking distance of town, coast and brewery.
Good choice of breakfast including full English.
Nice room and general decoration good but outside of building needs some attention.
Car park to the rear ok but not ideal if you have to park under the trees.
OK to park in the side street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
741 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,044 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: £74 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing