We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the bed”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shame about the bed”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The very poor bed ruined the stay. The room was very small and shabby but the bed was by far the worst thing. I explained on booking that a good bed was very important due to back problems. I understand from the manager that they have recently started an on going program to replace the beds.

Room Tip: Would recommend you request a room with a new bed if this could be an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    295
    132
    41
    28
See reviews for
75
506
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our room was very small, the only place to sit was on the bed and moving around the room needed coordination between us.The paintwork was peeling and grubby around the windows and the net curtains were grey. The room seemed neglected and in need of work. More shabby than chic. There was a warning in the shower room about problems with hot water and neither of us managed to get consistent hot water. The shower shot cold water in the air all over the floor.
The staff were friendly and try to be helpful. This was a birthday treat weekend but it it certainly did not seem good value and we were sad as we have enjoyed previous stays in the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chev648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went to the hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and service was good. It was the first time we had been to Southwold and this hotel but would certainly go back in a heartbeat. It was an excellent weekend!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 731Jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Southwold Hotels are in general very expensive. They get away with it because Southwold is 'Islington-on-Sea'. Adnams dominated, even some very average accomodation is £130-£200 a night and more. The Blyth is very good value for money on that basis. Myself and wife stayed recently, the room was comfortable and spacious with some thought clearly gone into the room facilities. It's a relatively old building so they have had to organise bedroom/bathroom space to suit - this makes it interesting as it's more like staying in a large converted house. Check out Room 5 for odd lavatory positioning! You can fall asleep when sitting on the loo and have the calming effect of cool tiles on your forehead. We'll stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 5 for quirky bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuniklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Two staff on duty when we arrived and one of these was clueless..
Meal was served cold and after a long wait. No style or finesse in the dining room.
Room cold and drafty and in need of decoration/modernisation.
No hot water in the morning.
Small refund granted because of the cold water, but refusal to accept our cancellation of the second night. We moved out anyway and booked into the Swan. A very expensive weekend overall!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Unfortunately we didn't stay! We went up to look at the room (which was booked as a birthday treat) and I've never been so disappointed. Our bedroom at home is better decorated, cleaner and better furnished. It was dark, the net curtains were dirty, as was the small window. The bed looked horrendous, top cover was not fresh to say the least and we spotted a few hairs plus the fact it was as hard as rock. The bathroom was huge with a toilet in one corner and a shower in another with the rest of the space just awful grey lino which was not at all clean. We went back down to reception and said we couldn't stay but .manageress wasn't around till later that evening.To cut a long story short when I did finally speak to her on the phone she said she would not refund deposit and was taking the entire amount. Still weekend ended well as we booked into a fabulous hotel in centre of the town, wonderful staff, gorgeous room and wonderful restaurant. They even found another room for us to stay an extra night.

Room Tip: No idea what the other rooms were like but hope they don't have this room!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank BeeB717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whissendine
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We love Southwold and decided to stay a while and selected The Blyth Hotel mainly because they offered a great 'Special Break Offer' and it had good reviews. All the staff we met were friendly and welcoming which is always nice. The room was clean, comfy and well equipped. Food was better than expected (I find similar places tend to have very average food offerings).and tried the Adnams Champagne (as a treat) and it was very nice. My wife and I had an super weekend so would recommend The Blyth to anyone wishing to spend time in Southwold. Cheers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
12.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing