We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Loverly place with nice staff and breakfast. Surprisingly close to all the shops/pubs/beach. Seemed clean and tidy and strangely quiet considering it was fully booked that night. Parking was easy enough too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    299
    133
    41
    29
See reviews for
78
509
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very good location with excellent food but that’s where it ends I’m afraid. When we arrived we were blatantly ignored by one of the staff, then after nearly 15 minutes of being left stood at the bar, the owner/manager came over and asked "what do you want". We said that we knew that we were early and that we were booked in and asked if there was a lunch menu. The reply we got was "we don’t do lunch on Mondays" in a quite grumpy and almost rude manner. We said that we had just driven for over 3 hours and could we get a cup of tea. We were told to sit down and it will be brought over to us. Quite a while later after being sat on sofas that had sweat stains down all of the arms we were given our teas. We had an issue with the Wi-Fi connection as there was no map of the local area, or information on the local area. Even after asking the manager and other staff members and always being told that they have just got a new router, we still could not get Wi-Fi in our room; with either phone or laptop. We ended up using our laptop in the bar area but gave up because the Wi-Fi was really slow. Our room was dirty in most areas and as for the toilet; it was so close to the wall and window that we felt like contortionists. The carpet in the room itself was filthy and stained the bathroom wasn’t much better as you can see in the photos. The chair in our room had no legs and felt as if we were sat on the floor. On two of the nights we had to close our window as a sewer type of smell was coming in. I mentioned it to one of the staff who said that they would pass it on, but we were not approached about it. All the room doors are heavy fire doors and slam shut, this is a big problem through the night and you can hear other guests snoring. If you use the restaurant, you will need to leave roughly two hours as the service is very, very slow. Some of the waitresses come across with a “can’t be bothered” attitude and leave you sitting there for over 20 minutes before they acknowledge you or ask if would like anything to drink. You can also hear other guests moaning about the service quality in the restaurant when waiting to be served. If you dare ask for anything or try to order your food before they are ready, you are met with an attitude that borders on contempt by some of the staff. On checking out, it took no time at all to take our money and we were not even asked if we enjoyed our room or stay. It's a good thing that we never let the Hotel ruin our holiday.

Room Tip: Wait to book until the Hotel has been refurbished properly and the staff from top to bottom have had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Manny7222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were somewhat disappointed with our stay at the Blyth after a long wait at check in our standard room was very small, the windows were old and did not close properly one was even cracked. The electric socket had a two way adapter plugged in which i considered dangerous.
The shower too me twenty minutes to get any hot water at nearly £200 for a two night stay this hotel is below par with a breakfast i considered poor i will not be returning to the Blyth.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room some are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ian881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I read the reviews after booking and have to say some of them had me a bit concerned.But now being here so far no problems....on arrival Richard came across as very pleasant..we have a room with a balcony looking into the road...bit noisy....but we are used to that and can't sleep if it's too quite....Looking forward to breakfast......

Room Tip: If you don't mind traffic noise go for room 6......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmelvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great local hotel, slightly dated but well-respected (we live about 500 yards away and were escaping from a big family party in our own home) with friendly staff, good food BUT our room was a "standard double " at £99 per night. Room 1 turned out to be, quite frankly, best suited to a generous single rather than a double. The bed was against one wall so that one of us had to climb over the other, not easy when you are 70+, to get out of bed. We were told that we could not change as the hotel was full and that under their terms and conditions we were liable for all nights of our booking if we left early (which we did). Not really a sympathetic response to our problem.

Room Tip: check it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ridley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed this week. The location of the hotel could not be more convenient, literally a couple of minutes walk from both the beach and the town centre. Once inside the hotel is attractive and the decor is really pretty and up to date. Our room at the front of the hotel was pleasant and very clean. Some of the building clearly needs a bit of work, the window frames were so old and chipped and the window was hard to close. Likewise the T.V kept turnning off because the aerial kept falling out. Other than that the hotel was fine. Personally I prefer a more warm, personable atmosphere which I don't think this hotel has. It's not that anyone was rude it's just that no one really makes any particular effort to engage. It is missing the personal touch in my opinion. There was no "yes, you are a little early for check in but would you like to leave your case here" or once we checked in "would you like a bit of help with getting your case up the stairs?" All things I have experienced at other small hotels. At breakfast when we went into the dining room there were no staff visible at all. There was a menu on the table but no one actually taking orders or so it seemed. Along with various other guests we sat there wondering whether anyone would eventually appear which, in the end they did. Unfortunately, when we ordered the waitress told us they did not have the one menu item we asked for! Nevermind, not a disaster my daughter chose something else and the toast, cereal, fruit and yoghurt provided were very nice. In summary we thought it was fine but with a bit more warmth and tlc could be really great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherryblossompink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel and enjoyed a comfortable room with good amenities. Service in the restaurant was very good and the fact that my wife is coeliac (gluten free) was no problem as gluten free bread was available for toast and the choices on the restaurant menu for evening meals was very varied - and all the meals we had were of a high standard. The choices at breakfast time were exceptional. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
673 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
989 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing