We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Suffolk welcome”
Review of Randolph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Randolph Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great Suffolk welcome”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Returning to Southwold, we chose the Randolph for a short break and were not disappointed.
IIn fact this family run hotel exceeded our expectations, a really genuine welcome, helpful staff and a great room, albeit on the top floor, but worth the climb, bedroom and en suite spotlessly clean and fresh. Breakfast excellent and dinners were memorable, the best steak I've ever eaten, and of course accompanied by a pint or two of Adnams.
Can't rate Randoph any higher.

Room Tip: If you less mobile avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat_geoffwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    95
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
193
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Friendly welcome and effortless check-in. Room on the top floor, the decor was a bit tired. Two nice tub chairs and good sized flat screen TV with full range of free-view channels. The room was cold but there was a fan heater. However, there was no means of heating the miserable bathroom, other than by leaving the door open when the fan heater was on.

The dingy bathroom is really in need of a make-over, the lighting was poor, the tiles only went approx 60cm up the wall over the bath. Above the basin there were three tiles in splendid isolation, so no expense spared there then! There was a telephone type shower handset but there was only a shower mat, but no shower curtain, this combined with the lack of full wall tiles meant in reality there is no option to shower. Also, there were no shelves or storage for wash bag etc. only a tiny glass shelf above basin that you hit your head on when leaning over the basin, say when brushing your teeth. They also had the cheek to put up one of those signs about saving world resources by not getting all the towels changed every day, but didn't provide any means of hanging or drying the used towels, in the unheated bathroom!

In the bedroom, there were cobwebs in various places and the carpet didn't look too clean, it was stained, and in addition had not been vacuumed recently. The bed was relatively comfortable with nice bed linen. There was no full length mirror in the room, only a small mirror on the dressing table.

Breakfast was good. With a fair range of cereals and a nicely cooked full English. Plus, it was good to hear some pleasant contemporary music in the background.

Overall, this stay was overpriced at over £100 per night, the general feel is more a pub with rooms rather than an hotel. The rooms are off landings rather than corridors which makes some of the doors to the rooms very close together. Regarding the price, clearly the proximity to Southwold and its quaintness, is being exploited to the full by the owners, this room would be hard pushed to make £65 per night anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Randolph. I was disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with your classic double room. As you booked online, you will have noticed that you actually booked a bedroom with bath ensuite, and not Shower/Bath ensuite. Not all our rooms have showers. This will of course be why the tiled area is only a splashback area and nothing more!. The Shower mixer tap on the bath is provided to aid hair washing. It is quite clearly not to shower with.

With regards to the floor not being vacuumed recently? I can only apologise that this wasn't done well enough and surprised that you didn't bring it my attention personally when you checked in, as it may well have been possible to move rooms to your satisfaction. I am also sorry that the signs in the bathroom suggesting that you may wish to reuse towels etc, you found to be 'cheeky'. It is just part of our environmental awareness program and used in all hotels around the world. Including those major Branded hotels that you have also reviewed in the past.

I am glad that you liked our breakfasts, and that you found the modern contemporary music in the background to your liking also!

You are quite right that bedrooms are off landings and therefore some of the doors are close together, how this affected your stay to such an extent though surprises me. Perhaps in 1899 builders had different ideas of corridor layouts?

We are proud of our offer at The Randolph, maybe we are just a pub with rooms in your eyes?, or maybe a small family run hotel in others? either way, we aim for total guest satisfaction and if something goes wrong we will deal with it immediately, sadly I am unable to do this if you stayed quiet and you chose to review us in this way instead of taking a more proactive approach.

One final note, regarding the price you paid, and your comments, yes we are quite close to Southwold, however I take particular exception to being accused of exploitation. Living, working and employing people in outstanding areas such as these do have additional costs in terms of living and business rates. Having said this, we find that our pricing is still very competitive locally and in some cases even better than Bed and Breakfasts in the area. I hope you can see my point on this.

With best wishes

David Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have stayed many times with you and we just love it!!!

Would just like to say we had yet ANOTHER wonderful stay at the Randolph.

Thank you……….it was just great and the staff were brilliant!!!!

We shall be booking again for October!!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in everything from a Standard Double to an Executive Room all are lovely and very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliespad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEATHERHEAQD
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Having mentioned on many occasions how good the Randolph hotel is to our immediate neighbours I was challenged to prove what I was saying was true So last weekend 4 of us stayed at the Randolph. We were not dissappointed on this my second visit it, was superb. Accomodation in rooms 9 and 11 at the top of the hotel was lovely. The staff are cheerful and very helpfull. The food is wonderful and the "full English" breakfast even defeated me. Another brilliant weekend in Southwold, just look out for the Adnams Ghost Ship beer, superb after a full day around Southwold, it may be stronger than you think!! .... Great............ Hopefully, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: rooms 9 and 11 are worth any extra that might be applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We've lived less than a mile from the Randolph for 3 years but never visited for some reason. We put that right tonight for an evening meal. Great value, nicely prepared and friendly service. We have eating options closer to our house but we're really sorry that we've taken so long to discover the Randolph! Good food, uncomplicated and well done. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a good hotel! staff always helpful ,room clean and comfortable , food excellent! good menu good service, would recommend this hotel anytime. Only draw back it is a bit of a stroll to the town, but on a bus route so easily to get about if you are not to good a walker.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Robbo123_13

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on us at The Randolph, we are so glad that you enjoyed our hospitality. We are delighted that you would reccommend our hotel to anyone!

Many Thanks again

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

In recent years, my wife and I have been fortunate to stay in some outstanding hotels and B&B's around the world, notably Singapore, Hong Kong, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Canada and many more. We've stayed in some good ones in England too, but rarely do you come across one as excellent as the Randolph!

Our weekend was planned for us by friends, who'd stayed there many times, and it came highly recommended by them......and their views were absolutely spot-on. The warm welcome from the owner, especially to us as we arrived first, to the friendly ambience in the bar by the hotel's staff and regulars in the bar, left us feeling like we "belonged" there.

Our room was large, and comfortable, with ensuite, and had all the "extras" you would expect in any 4* hotel throughout the world. The water was hot, there was a hairdryer, a full range of beverages (not just coffee and tea) and something we've not come across before.... A note telling us "fresh milk available from 8am until 11pm".

Breakfasts were excellent with a full range to cater for all tastes and needs, and certainly enough to enable you to skip lunch (being foodies, we didn't!). Situated in the Southwold area, their beers were Adnams of course. If you like real ales, they don't come better than Adnams, and these beers are very well kept.

On our first night, there was a local bowls club presentation dinner, so the restaurant, and obviously the kitchen, chef and staff, were very busy. Nevertheless, we were booked in to have dinner, which we took in the comfortable bar area, and our service and food was without fault and very reasonably priced.

If I had to make one comment on the down side......our double bed mattress, comfortable though it is, we found ourselves sloping towards the edge. ..., not towards the middle. ;o).

If you want the best, don't hesitate to stay in the Randolph.....we even had outstanding weather......sun and no wind. Can't wait to return one day.

Thank you David and Donna and all your friendly staff

Room Tip: The hotel is over 100 years old, so it is stairs all the way - no lifts. If you don't want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarky_snr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Clarky_snr

"if you want the best then stay at The Randolph" what a lovely way to end your review! Many thanks indeed.....

It is really wonderful when someone takes the time and effort to write a great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet with you all.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
12.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Property: Randolph Hotel
Address: 41 Wangford Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Randolph is a family run hotel in the village of Reydon near SOUTHWOLD. You will be assured of a relaxing stay in the Number One Hotel in the Southwold area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing