We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A consistently good hotel”
Review of Randolph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Randolph Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have been visiting the Randolph now for some years and it has been consistently good. The room we have (2) is cosy and comfortable, the service is generally pleasant and efficient, the range and quality of drinks available is excellent and the food is very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinFergusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear ColinFergusson

Thank you Mr F for a lovely review of the hotel. It was lovely to see you again, your year on year repeat visits please us immensely and its a pleasure to look after you all again,

we look forward to seeing you again soon

best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Have just spent 3 nights at the Randolph whilst on business,and have booked in again for my next stay in the area.
Nice old building in good state of decoration. Twin room was large, and the ensuite bathroom very spacious, and had a good night's sleep each night. Rooms were clean, worst criticism I could make is that the TV in my room was a small one.
Very friendly welcome, and staff were helpful in accommodating my needs - one night I was eager to early, but had not booked a table. All tables were taken and there were several bookings due to arrive, but without prompting, and although very busy, they offered to serve my meal in my room, and did so very quickly.
From a value for money perspective, the Randolph must be approaching the best for the area....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Jerryandleslie

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and thank you again for your subsequent bookings. We are looking forward to continuing our hospitality towards you.

Thank you also for your honest criticism of the TV's - we are looking to upgrade these to larger ones in the near future.

See you again next week

Best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Staying close by, we used the bar here on several occasions. The seating was comfortable and reasonably well spaced which made access ok for the less able like my partner.

The choice of drinks was excellent, serving a good variety for most if not all customers. Like all bars that we tried, the Adnams Beers are terrific. The members of staff definitely know how to look after the beers as well as the clients.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Brookleys

Thank you for coming into The Randolph for a beer or two recently! it was a pleasure to look after you and I am glad that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you again soon I hope

Best wishes


David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

On a day out with a friend we visited the Randolf for lunch. Well......yet again it was a fabulous!! It was hard to choose from the excellent menu as everything was so tempting - we were not disappointed with our choice !! The atmosphere along with the staff is warm and inviting and you are certainly made to feel very welcome indeed with no pressure to leave once you have finished dining. Well done to all..... the standard is just first rate!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear DB1

"The standard is just first rate!" We like your comments thank you!.........

we very much look forward to seeing you again soon

best wises

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a base for a weekend away. Very friendly staff and very comfortable room. Nice bar/ lounge and fantastic cooked breakfast. Can see why it is No1. Good value and 20 minute walk to far end of Southwold. Will definitely return in future.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank AdamD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear AdamD2

Thank you for your tripadvisor review, we are thrilled you enjoyed our hospitality.

We hope that honest and genuine reviews such as these will continue to give our future customers confidence in staying with us

with best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very relaxing atmosphere and quiet place to stay. We had a very nice,spotless,bedroom and bathroom. The Restruant served first class food. The meals including the breakfast were well presented and hot. All the staff were extremely pleasant. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear AndrewF

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that we gave you a memorable stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best Wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just another perfect stay at the Randolph!
This was our 5th stay and it's just lovely relaxing and lovely atmosphere! The staff cannot do enough for you!
We didn't eat but we had drinks in the bar and Sunday lunch look yummy!
Our scrambled egg and smoked salmon was just delightful!
We never want to leave.
Roll on March for our next stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliespad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear CharliesPad

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to think that this was your 5th stay and the 6th is already booked!! need we say more, but thanks for helping us to maintain our No 1 position on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you in March 2014

best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
806 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 4 in Southwold
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
699 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,076 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Address: 41 Wangford Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Randolph is a family run hotel in the village of Reydon near SOUTHWOLD. You will be assured of a relaxing stay in the Number One Hotel in the Southwold area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing