We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
Review of Randolph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Randolph Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights. It was wonderful. Room was excellent and the staff were lovely. The meal was very good and the breakfast was scrumptious, cooked to order. They were very accommodating and made a bacon sandwich which wasn't on the menu. Would highly recommend this hotel. Oh and the chef let me borrow is charger because I had forgotten mine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SulliMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sullimarg

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Randolph. We really appreciate you taking the time to advise potential future guests of our hospitality.

We very much look forward to looking after you again in the future.

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    95
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
193
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a terrific place that under promises - as a basic 3 star - and over delivers. Really nice friendly but not over fussy welcome, good service, spotless nicely appointed room, and comfortable bed; a lovely nights sleep. And, honestly, one of the best breakfasts I've ever eaten, in any hotel or any star. Brilliant value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Nick G

Thank you so much for choosing to review your recent stay at The Randolph. Having just sat down from a brilliantly busy Easter Weekend, this really was the icing on the cake!

We strive tirelessly to ensure that our guests enjoy our hospitality and we are immensely grateful for those guests like yourself that take the time to share their honest feedback with potential guests of the future.

We look forward to looking after you again in the future.

With very best wishes and thank you again

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just had an excellent lunch at hotel in bar area. Very pleasant surroundings and friendly staff.
Service was good too.
Food was first class and well presented.
Will definitely call again when in area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Sidwell

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our Traditional Sunday Lunches at The Randolph. We do normally serve them both in the Restaurant and the Bar areas on a Sunday, but we were hosting a Golden Wedding Anniversary that day as well, hence your positioning in the Bar. We are proud of our Traditional Sunday Lunches, Real Roast RIB of Beef (why would anyone serve any other cut of meat??) and all the trimmings. Just as you enjoyed.

Thank you again for coming to have lunch with us. We look forward to looking after you again in the future

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two night break at The Randolph and I wish to say how good our stay was.
It's common to visit chain hotels where the staff are well trained, pleasant but just doing their job. At the Randolph all the staff were very friendly and welcoming and appeared to be enjoying their jobs.
The food was excellent - both breakfast and dinner. The good thing about The Randolph is it is still a pub so locals can pop in for a pint in the evening.
Also it's in a good location, it is a pleasant 15 minute stroll to Southwold town maybe 20 to the beach.
The Adnams Brewery is worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sammyLb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear SammyLb

Well we couldn't ask for more either then! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us, if it wasn't for people like you, we wouldn't maintain our Number One Position on TripAdvisor!

We don't solicit or encourage reviews in lieu of future benefits and are therefore very grateful when these genuine reviews appear. We are still a Pub and Proud of our status within the community - we just happen to have rooms and a great restaurant too as you found out.

Thank you again for your lovely comments

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

First impressions are not always what they seem. We arrived at this hotel and my initial thought, looking at the exterior, was not a happy one but once inside, I have to admit I was wrong. The staff were very welcoming and our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very warm. We had clean towels every day, bottled water every evening and a tea and coffee tray.
The food was excellent with no skimping on the portions and breakfasts were scrummy.
There was a nice atmosphere in the bar and being so close to Southwold was a real bonus.
All in all, it was very good value for money and we would return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are above the bar/restaurant so if you are a light sleeper, choose a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Manager at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Dobby4

How wonderful it was to be looking after you recently, I am sorry that you were disappointed when you arrived. The Randolph is a beautiful old building, of which we consistently ensure its upkeep, we are not however a boutique building. But as you found, we are a wonderful family run hotel with excellent food and drink and caring and considerate staff. You are quite right, never judge a book by it's cover. Although this cover is not faded! It's part of its' charm!

We will pass on your comments to the team and thank you again for them

best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Here is a welcome change from perfect buildings and faceless management and robotic staff - what a refreshing change.

We booked through Laterooms based on The Randolph's No 1 position on TripAdvisor which is in our experience worthy.

We arrived to a very warm welcome on Sunday evening and David (of the David & Donna ownership duo) entertained us at the bar.

We had superb food, breakfast and dinners as well as being upgraded to an executive room overlooking the lighthouse and water tower.

Donna was terrific and with their staff they have a terrific product.

The slightly tired building is well loved and their hospitality is the reason to go - don't miss it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank OzPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Manager at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear OzPepper

Hospitality rules ok! yes it certainly does and we are delighted that you enjoyed ours! thank you for sharing your genuine experience with others, we are very grateful

best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Called in today as a treat for m;;@y family and we were welcomed by three young ladies who made us feel welcome and made a fuss of our children,we were seated and given a menu. _Fantastic choice all sounded delicious.our youngest daughter is teething and was a little unsettled but the young waitress came over with colouring for the littl_e ones to keep them busy while we waited. Food was amazing top marks to the chief and topped off with the friendly staff. Thank you so much the Randolph for making us feel so welcome great great waitresses and the lady with the glasses and Bob hairstyle who is obviously a great manageress for making a family meal out a very enjoyable experience!!! Top marks from us

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Manager at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear markg

WOW WOW WOW! what more can we say, apart from thank you for uploading a review. Donna was delighted that you enjoyed her and the teams service and we are thrilled that your Children also enjoyed their luncheon with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks again

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
12.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Property: Randolph Hotel
Address: 41 Wangford Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Randolph is a family run hotel in the village of Reydon near SOUTHWOLD. You will be assured of a relaxing stay in the Number One Hotel in the Southwold area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing