We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Blyth Hotel(Southwold)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown(Southwold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Southwold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Halesworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
217
106
32
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
106
32
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorfamily mealpopular with localsour night stayfriendly hotelgood sizeon arrivalfreshly cooked breakfastwarm welcomewould highly recommend this hotelboth breakfast and dinnermin walkwill visit againpowerful showerroom was clean and comfortablesmall hotelfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I can only echo what most others seem to be saying about the Randolph. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday and selected Room 11 executive double based on reviews and photos of the room, which were all accurate.

Lovely big room, nicely decorated and with a large bathroom (shower over bath) down some steps. Plenty of tea/coffee/water/biscuits in the room which was kept topped up each day, and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever experienced in a British B&B.

Cheerfully met on our first day by Cameron (???) who seemed to run the bar, welcome guests and pretty much do everything including giving us a review of the Adnams ales on offer.

We had reserved a table in the restaurant when we made our booking, but found that someone had dropped the ball at some point as there appeared to be no booking in our name and we ended up eating at a tiny table in the bar area which wasn't ideal, but it was a minor issue. The food quality was absolutely top notch. The fish and chips were clearly freshly cooked and so crispy and delicious, I can feel my mouth watering just thinking about them now! Well worth booking a table in advance by the way, as the restaurant fills up quick and it's a bit of a walk to anywhere else.

Breakfast was also outstanding. Top ingredients cooked well, and any quirky requests seemd to be met without complaint or sighs from the staff.

The Randolph was everything we ever want from a B&B when visiting anywhere in the UK, and it even exceeded both our expectations.

Room Tip: It's not a noisy area at all, so no issues there, but if you like a bit of space, can recommend the executive double room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kentish-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear KentishSteve

What more can we say apart from THANK YOU! we loved your comment about worth 5 stars, it is so nice to have all our staff's efforts noticed, we are very grateful

We look forward to seeing you again

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in August, at relatively short notice. Allocated a pleasantly large and clean room on the first floor, overlooking the front of the hotel. Although there was a small bike rack outside, we were able to store our bicycles in the kitchen outhouse, which was locked overnight. We dined in the restaurant on our first evening, which was very pleasant. Menu selection was fine, as were the beers on tap at the bar. Obviously a popular venue as it soon filled up. Breakfast was perfectly OK, with a selection of juices, yoghurts, fruits, and cereals as well as a choice of cooked items (full english, kippers, porridge, etc). Service was a little sluggish on our 2nd day, but the other two mornings were fine. Easy enough to pick up the Regional cycle trail 31 from Southwold to Beccles, and was a short distance from Southwold itself. Overall we had a very pleasant stay, and the hotel staff were welcoming, friendly, and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Purry_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear PurryGem

Thank you for taking the time to review us at The Randolph. We host lots of cycling groups here and we hope that your advice may encourage others to book with us also.

With best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A fine comfy hotel, perfectly situated for visiting Southwold, with a short walk into town. Our initial welcome at reception was friendly and most helpful and during our short stay we found all the staff helpful and accommodating. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was surprisingly busy for a Sunday evening, we soon found out why as we were well looked after and the food was excellent.
We would not hesitate to return with a bit more notice next time to have a greater choice of room.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, bath only, no shower but was perfectly adequate for a short stay.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 23billyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear 23billyg

"we will return" what more can we ask for? we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff could have not been friendlier and if you are looking for a comfy hotel on the edge of southwold this is perfect. Its not trendy, or modern but just very friendly and un-assuming.

Bathroom was a little basic and tired but breakfast was first class and a lot cheaper than staying in southwold itself and just a 15min walk to the front.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thorntog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Thorntog

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very pleased to hear you liked staying with us and look forward to seeing you again

Best wishes

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room eight which was clean and spacious, however you could hear every movement from next door. Also I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast but I think that's me being fussy, it was very very greasy and no bake beans. However, the hotel was close to the town and severed it's purpose.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank HollyDolly888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear HollyDolly888

Thank you so much for your humorous review, at first I thought you had Killed a Dolphin? I am sorry that we don't serve bake (sic) beans for breakfast, if only you had asked however we would have been delighted to have served them to you and therefore saved your time in telling potential customers about it via an online review site.

I am however delighted that you enjoyed room 8 and you noticed how clean and spacious it is.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews