We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bank Holiday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been coming to Southwold as day visitors for many years when our children were at home but this was the first time we have stayed. We had a fantastic 2 night stay at Sutherland House for a belated birthday treat for my husband which included making his own Gin at the Adnams distillery!!
We stayed in the Earl of Sandwich room which was warm, charming and very comfortable & had the bonus of the 'Wow' factor when we were shown the huge bath. Perfect location for enjoying a glass of fizz! Access to the rooms was by an outside staircase within the garden which meant we were free to come & go as we pleased once we'd checked in but a bonus on wet days was that access to the restaurant was also available inside the building! The staff and Andy were all very welcoming & friendly, the food in the restaurant was excellent as was breakfast on both mornings. Look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

So glad to read you had a lovely time staying here, see you soon. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Everybody was really friendly and the standard was superb. it is ideally situated in the high street and walking from the hotel is easy. Also ideal for exploring the surrounding area. It is a lovely part dof England.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vivienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

So pleased to see you found everybody was really friendly and I am sure you will be back to see us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We would highly recommend a stay at Sutherland House if you are thinking of a break in Suffolk. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxed and welcoming host in Andy and his staff. Nothing was to much and the quality of the food for breakfast and dinner was certainly of a high quality. We had dinner the second night and were not disappointed as everything was perfect especially the local pork. We stayed in the small room which is small but cosy, next time will try one of the larger rooms if we can manage to book one !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 666PAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your recommendation. hope to see you again in the not to distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

my partner an I stayed for 2 nights mid- week in the beautiful Sutherland suite. Full of character and very spacious. Lovely comfy bed. The rooms are above the restaurant, with private access from the gardens at the back, so you can come and go as you please. We chose to have dinner there the first night and were very impressed with the friendly service and the food was just delicious. I had scallops with their home made black pudding and halibut which was lovely. An excellent breakfast followed the next morning. Needed a brisk walk along the front after to walk it off.

We are so pleased we found this gem of a place and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

So glad to read you had such a lovely time here with us and you will be returning. Thank you so much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A great hotel with history and bags of character. Great restaurant and a lovely garden. 5 minutes to the beach. A real change to big city hotels. Staff very friendly and helpful. A very comfortable stay at reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dorisctw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were lucky enough to make use of our garden, we look forward to seeing you on your return, but can't guarantee the weather will so kind next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our recent one night stay at Sutherland House was a Special treat for my husband and I who love old buildings and good food. We had the Duke of York room with the magnificent pargetted plasterwork ceiling. The staff were all so warm and welcoming we felt like old friends.
The evening was spent in the elegant and cosy dining room enjoying superb food and excellent wine in a relaxing atmosphere.
We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review, as always I have passed your lovely comments onto the staff . See you both soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just one night stayed here - absolutely not enough! Stunning room, quirky bathroom. With both of us nearly 6' neither was going to fit the bath but that didn't matter - shower was good! All creature comforts provided.

My mini whinge about not having a tray for the teapot (I didn't want to ruin any furniture) was met with someone being despatched to the shops almost immediately! Now that's service! Everyone is mentioning fluffy white towels - totally true!

Our meal in the restaurant was excellent - I even found room for pud. Already recommending the hotel and restaurant to friends!

Room Tip: If you want history and a tale to tell - it has to be the Duke of York!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the creature comforts, hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
784 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
730 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: £87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing