We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've included a separate review of the excellent The Duke of York Suite, and apart from the unbeatable location, my remaining superlatives must be shared between the restaurant, and the delightful Andy and Kinga who run the place with effortless style and efficiency. After the first few minutes we already felt we were among friends, and friends who really know their stuff when it comes to running one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, with a truly exceptional restaurant. And Andy really knows his wines - including the superb dessert wines from my good friend Willi Opitz. We both hope we'll get the chance to come back often!
Steve & Lesley

Room Tip: The Duke of York Suite was luxuriously comfortable, beautifully furnished with a huge and spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Smpopple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Steve & Lesley Thank you so much for your kind words, it is lovely when our guests appreciate what we try to do here. I am sure we will be seeing you again soon and I will have some of that desert wine ready for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic weekend break at Sutherland House. The accommodation, food and staff were really great and having stayed at many of the hotels in Southwold I would rate this as one of the best for quality, customer service and a lovely relaxing environment. Thank you, we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

I am pleased to read you had a lovely weekend with us and in particular you found us to offer excellent customer service.
Nice to see you will be coming back to us, do remember by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rates and special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel and staff = particularly Chloe who checked us in - couldn't have been sweeter.
We have stayed in some of the nicest rooms at the Swan - which is now very tired, almost shabby - and the Crown but Sutherland leaves them standing. I can't imagine why you would want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: it is as it is - rooms are well displayed on the website. Given the location, Southwold can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
and we hope to welcome you back to Sutherland House in the near future, do remember by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rates and special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I have had two visits to Sutherland House and cannot praise highly enough the experience .
The staff are extremely friendly and the service is impeccable.
The food in the restaurant is of a very high quality and the rooms are each individual and. Full of character.
I would recommend anybody staying for more than one night to use the Sutherland Suite with its seperate lounge and bedroom areas.
Andy the host is very approachable and we enjoyed a good friendly banter with him.
Southwold in its self is a lovely place to relax and I cannot think of a better place to accompy this than Sutherland House, we will be back!
Caz and Nick.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Sutherland House with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad that you had such a lovely time with us. Your comments complementing the hotel and our staff are all a delight to read and act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here at Sutherland House

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Sutherland House in the near future, do remember by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rates and special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. We had two big rooms with wonderful huge beds and attractively furnished. Antique furniture but managing to be modernly stylish. One bathroom had an a large pedestal bath (no shower) but we were warned that it takes 40 minutes to fill! Still it looked very fine. The other had a small sit in bath with a shower above and curtained round. This bathroom we found was very comfortable. Large fluffy bath towels and liquid soap only for basin and shower. Fine for a couple of nights. breakfast was served between 9-10.00 am on Sunday and offered an excellent choice of poached eggs benedict and so on as well as a massive English breakfast with bacon, sausages, eggs of your choice and so on. Home made brown toast just to mention a few enjoyable and different features.

Thank scenario34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and were able to sample two of our rooms. Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our stay at Sutherland House was a surprise for my birthday from my partner and surpassed both of our expectations. We stayed in the very special, vast, comfortable, elegant and characterful yet homely Duke of York room with its pargetted ceiling and inglenook fireplace. Just fab. We enjoyed wine in the gardens bought conveniently from the Adnams store across the road, relaxed on the large sley bed, and dined in the restaurant after our walks to Warbleswick and explorations of Southwold. What a lot we packed into just a couple of days. We were glad we had walked so far when our food arrived in the evening as the meal was generous as well as eye-catching and delicious. We both ate half our mains in order to swap them over at half time. We enjoyed both equally - each for different reasons. Can't remember which fish each was now - but one had chorizo and tangy vegetables, while the other was more subtle but no less moreish. On occasion black plates, square platters, subdued lighting and a comfortable atmosphere added to the enjoyment. Andy, the owner/host, and his wife, are charming, thoughtful, and fun. Their constant (we were there at the right times presumably as we never missed their input, despite their hours being timed around the restaurant's opening), unobtrusive presence contributed to our feeling of welcome, ease and enjoyment. Breakfast was as amazing and beautiful as our dinner. We would definitely recommend - we had a lovely time. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Claire
I was so pleased to read that we were able to help make your birthday a special one, I will pass on your lovely comments to all of the team involved. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Sutherland House. The bed, bath (Earl of Sandwich room) & the staff were all fantastic. The food was great - special mention to the scallops & black pudding & the bread & butter pudding not forgetting the breakfasts & tapas lunches .... I could go on! The garden was a fantastic retreat from the hot (yes-hot!) weather. If you like square, air conditioned corporate rooms this is not for you. If you like a bit of quirky luxury & a warm welcome you will not be disappointed. Please try it. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LynnandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I was so pleased to see you had such a lovely time staying here, I am sure we will be seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 4 in Southwold
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
806 reviews
4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
785 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: £90 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing