We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sutherland House- A cut above the rest in Southwold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sutherland House- A cut above the rest in Southwold”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

You can't do better in Southwold than Sutherland House. The rooms are spaciously comfortable yet quirky enough in their 15thCentury character to appeal to those who don't like cookie-cutter hotel rooms. History is in the floor boards of this characterful place and I urge those with a discerning palate to take a sea side trip to soak up the atmosphere and dine on the sweetest fresh fish. I had the River Deben moules, among a selection of carefully selected locally sourced fare you're not going to find everywhere. The owner Andy is a lovely chap with lots of good stories. In no time at all you'll feel like family.

Room Tip: Any room where Royalty have slept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeByChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
What a lovely thing to say ! so pleased we made you feel so welcome here, I am sure you will be back to feel part of our little family again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    105
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
77
575
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in Southwold and had the pleasure of staying at the Sutherland House Hotel in the Sutherland suite. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly and we were quickly shown to our room which spanned the top of the house. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully laid out making the most of the features of this lovely old building. Clearly a lot of time and energy goes into the small touches which make a stay at this hotel so enjoyable. My wife particularly liked the ground coffee and fresh milk that was provided in the room. In the evening we had an excellent meal in the restaurant - my wife and I both had the Scallops followed by a stunning risotto of Lobster and Crab accompanied by a very nice bottle of Chablis. The following morning, the restaurant laid on an excellent breakfast and we could not resist the "house" breakfast with local pork sausages, bacon and homemade black pudding. A fantastic stay at an excellent hotel which I would not hesitate to recommend. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review and I am pleased to read you will be returning to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Firstly, I was shocked to read the few bad reviews on TA about Sutherland House. The Earl of Sandwich room is spacious, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Solid furniture, very comfortable and large bed and a luxurious bathroom to pad around in certainly makes for an unwinding break.

The staff were very welcoming and totally unpretentious-which is a refreshing change in hotels of this calibre. We very much enjoyed our accommodation, it's central location and a good quality breakfast menu.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbaston177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it was so nice to read that you really got what we are trying to achieve here. Hope to see you here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A lovely "hotel", but could be so much better! Mine host was very welcoming, as were the staff.
The room (The Earl of Sandwich) is a little tired and in need of a makeover: secondary double glazing, new curtains for starters. It would be easy to nit-pick, but there were some obvious things that could be done straight-away such as repair of broken toilet roll holder and tooth mug. Attention to detail in housekeeping eg., cleaning the mirrors: they were all dusty or smeared. The bedside table (glass and tubular chrome) was very dusty. Bed and bathroom were however generally clean.
One other point: Sutherland House makes a great deal of the bathroom with the huge roll-top bath. On arrival we were warned it took 40 minutes to fill. We tried it and it took at least that, and also the same to empty! Now, for an establishment that takes great pride in its "food miles" in the restaurant, not sure how environmentally friendly the bath was? We tried to use the shower which was pathetic...so a big disappointment.
Finally a little bit of interior design ideas necessary, for example the art work in the bathroom is totally incongruous for a 16th century house! The point of all this is that Sutherland House prices are similar to the bigger hotels in Southwold, which I'm afraid to say are better value!

Room Tip: The Earl of Sandwich is on the street side and also over the restaurant, so noisy until late at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest, We did thank you for bringing to our attention that the toilet roll holder was loose when you mentioned it upon your check out, it was replaced the very same day and the tooth brush holder was tightened also, I am sorry if these minor points spoiled your stay.
I am sorry you felt the bath was too big, the pictures of the 16th century ornate ceiling in the bathroom were not to your taste and that you would prefer double glazing instead of our period windows. All in all I guess this was not the type of hotel for you . May I respectfully suggest a more modern hotel without the period features would be more suited for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEDFORD
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a lovely time and will definitely be back. Especially enjoyed the location - in the centre of town, walking distance from lovely pubs and the sea - and excited to see a working vintage cinema just around the corner - something special to come back to.

We enjoyed the sound of the seagulls in the morning, the 12 inch wide floorboards, the huge bed, the broad fireplace, the exposed beams and the romantic sense of all the other travellers who must have passed through in the last 500 years. We liked the intimacy of having "rooms" rather than a full blown hotel. All the staff we met were friendly and relaxed and we felt very welcome. It would have been interesting to have found something in the room about the building's history. The restaurant was busy with good food, a nice buzz and excellent service. Breakfast was just right.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I think you have really captured the spirit of what if means to stay at Sutherland house in your review. hope to see you here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was so excited about our two night break at this hotel..
The whole place is very tired, worn furnishings,uncomfortable bed, furniture you wouldn't give house room, dirty kettle and tea pot in the room, spiders web with eggs in on the wall by the dining table. The food is average and certainly not 5 star AA rated. I think they need to re visit.
We were only on a short break and after sleepless night in an uncomfortable bed with people stomping around in the rooms above and running noisy showers into the early hours, enough was enough and we checked out after night one having to pay in full for our second night. Not at all like the web site. Please be warned !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise2965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest, we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Sutherland House; I do remember that during your brief stay here we did have some rather rowdy guests staying in the room above that were in Southwold for a stag weekend, not the typical guest I must admit and as a result caused you a sleepless night. I am truly sorry that this happened and caused you to see our hotel in a less than favorable light; I suspect that had it not been for the unruly guests above, you may have seen things a bit differently and not judged us in the way you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Following on with all the other reviews, The hotel is so different from other places, One very proud owners in Andy and Kinga, they value people in a real way with service and quality to match.Here you have a hotel with style that you will not i believe find anywhere.The Duke of York room is a must with all the glory fit for a king.The dining is relaxed with gentle banter that takes away the stiffness of other hotels.Food in our minds blows away standard in other dining places in the high street.The whole team carefully trained deliver fantastic standards across this amazing hotel.Wish Andy , Kinga and team every success as they sure deserve it.on reading the wonderful reviews go and try it .Your love it .

Room Tip: Duke of York room , large and overlooking high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest, I am so pleased to read that you had a lovely time staying here, I know i speak for all of the hard working staff when I say it was a pleasure to look after such lovely guests, I am sure we will be seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
991 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing