We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”
Review of Amber House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amber House
Ranked #5 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just spent 3 glorious nights meeting up with family at Amber House
A pefect location overlooking the sea within easy walking distance of the pier , restaurants and shops.Being 6 of us we more or less took over the place and congregated in the very large front bedroom
Di Spring is the perfect host and gave us a very warm welcome
The rooms were very clean and comfortable and as for the breakfast-well you certainly dont go out hungry.- enormous !!
We all enjoyed our stay so much that we are hoping to visit again next October

Room Tip: The large bedroom at the front overlooks the sea and is so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane503738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    15
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

What a lovely place ran by a wonderful lady in Di. Room was clean and whole B&B was spotless. view of the beach and pier on a crisp may morning was just lovely. Southwold is a great place to visit a must is the Adnams tour.

Room Tip: Seaview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewF462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I just stayed 2 nights as a break for my birthday in this B&B. We were lucky to get room 1 which is huge with a double and single bed, lots of windows overlooking the sea, en suite and comfy chairs. Lovely bed too!
Di knew she would be out when we arrived but went out of her way to call and make arrangements for us to get in so we didn't have to wait around. She made us very welcome and provided lovely breakfasts.
If I had any moan it would be the towels. They were pretty old and the bath towel was small.
Would love to stay again - in room 1. Southwold is a lovely quaint little town. We parked FOC outside the B&B and didn't need our car again. There are lovely restaurants and the Boardwalk cafe on the pier does very nice lunches.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzecorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights as we had tickets for the nearby Latitude festival. The B&B is perfectly located on the front in Southwold, close to the pier and close to various local restaurants and shops. It was also a short walk to the Kings Head for the bus to Latitude.

Di was a great host and everyone else was very friendly. Our room was on the top floor without a sea view (but we knew that when we booked so that was fine). The room was a fine size, bathroom was pretty small but perfectly adequate. I thought overall it was very good value and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you can get one with a sea view I'm sure that would be very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

You can be assured of a very warm welcome at this excellent guest house. Di Spring is a wonderful character and Amber House is splendid. The location is superb and everything spotlessly clean. A visit to Southwold is a joy and this is an wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beltayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Warm and inviting, the Amber B and B is in an ideal location for couples and families. Near pier, beach and town. Rooms are comfortable and the first floor fromt bedroom with views over the sea is very special. Had a super breakfast and great stay.

Room Tip: Try the front bedroom on first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipmacaulay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Located on the waterfront, less than 5 minutes from the pier and 10 minutes from the centre of the town. Everyone at Amber House was welcoming, the room was spotlessly clean. Room 5 is at the top and back but the Suffolk sunset views were still lovely. The B&B and neighborhood is quiet. The breakfast is good. The hosts are welcoming but not overbearing. I highly recommend this place and if I return to Southwold, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Take the Adnams brewery tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meagen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House

Property: Amber House
Address: 24 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have set out to make Amber House the home-from-home that will turn every one of your visits into a happy memory. This spacious Victorian family house on the seafront has been completely refurbished, retaining the period style of the spacious, well-proportioned interior while placing the emphasis on up-to-date comforts. We have personally designed and furnished our guest rooms, giving each its own distinctive style. All are en-suite with central heating, colour television and tea-making facilities. Three have magnificent sea views including our superb, well appointed triple room whose generous bay window affords a breathtaking panorama across the whole of Sole Bay. Amber House is our home. We want you to make it yours too, whenever you're in Southwold. We guarantee a warm welcome! Full English or Continental Breakfast, Double and Twin Rooms, Spacious Deluxe Room with double bed and a single, lots of room, sofa, armchair and superb views of the beach, pier and sea. Large Comfortable Sitting Room and Dining Room, Full Fire Certificate, Wireless Hairdryers provided, Prices for Double or Twin: £85 - £100, Triple Room: £110 for 2 sharing or £130 for 3 sharing (10% discount for 7 nights or more). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Southwold
Amber House Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing