We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really excellent foox”
Review of The Bell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bell Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We always eat here during frequent visits to this part of Suffolk. Great food at prices Londoners will rarely see. Very well worth a visit.. Very nice landlord and doggy friendly pub too. Added value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife & I called in today at lunchtime for a drink & possibly some lunch. For 1 pint of Carlsberg lager & 1 pint of the local draught Cider we were charged £8.50. Could not afford to eat. How do they get away with it ? In our local pubs less than £6.00.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank mickpPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After trying to contact this hotel for a reservation several times, with the phone being answered and then hung up. My call was then taken by a male who said 'we are busy at the moment call back later' then hung up.
What terrible customer service.
Disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014
7  Thank Winchestercircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Found The Bell Inn via the Adnams website, booked last minute and had a very enjoyable overnight stay. Rooms very comfortable and clean. We had a wonderful meal in the evening - rib eye steak and fish pie and the breakfast was lovely too. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank 163Magsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a small double room and everything was adequate. We would not have wished to linger long in the room but then there was no need. Everything was clean, the towels were changed every day which was not necessary but a nice luxurious touch and the shower was very good.
We had dinner on the first night and it was good, not great. The second night we treated ourselves to The Anchor along the road which was twice the price but worth it.
Breakfast was generous and very quickly served and there was a good choice of cooked food.
Our only quibble is with the WiFi which was so weak as not to be worth using at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We loved the Bell. Perfect for a short romantic break.

I booked a couple of nights in May as a surprise birthday trip for my husband and I was very pleased with the holiday. We were in room 3, which was very cosy (with low, beamed ceilings) and we found it charming (we're around six feet tall and had to duck, though, so if this bothers you best to book a different room - I think all the others are higher). There was a view over the river to Southwold, and the bathroom and furnishings were very tastefully done. It looked like the room had recently been refurbished and it was pristine.

The staff were all very friendly and to top it off, we had outstanding weather. Walberswick is gorgeous and we'll definitely be back.

The only negative was some pub noise from below - but to be honest this was very minor and the pub closes at 11 anyway. I hate noise and need silence to sleep, but it didn't really bother me. The food is pretty basic but tasty.

Room Tip: room three has low ceilings but gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Bell over a bank holiday weekend in May 2014. As we had our 11 year old with us we booked their family room (room 6) and must say that it’s a lovely room with a double bed and two singles. It also has a large bathroom and a sort of entrance lobby, good for shoes and coats.
The room is set over the extension at the back of the pub and you have to go outside to get to it, either through the pub or up a stairway into the beer garden. This wasn’t a problem for us and in fact was good as there was a small table and chairs outside in the sun.
The room has windows on two sides and a distant view of the sea, there is good supply of tea and cafetiere coffee, fresh milk is in a fridge in the residents only part of the pub (we only found this by accident). Due to a sloping roof, there is limited headroom in the shower, ok if you are under 6 feet tall. The only small problem with the room was it was a bit noisy one night. It’s above the back bar and there was a very chatty family party going on. Could be a problem of you have small children. Also please note that despite the WiFi sign on their web site, there isn’t any – from outside you may find a neighbours BT-Openzone.
Breakfast in the dining room was unhurried and very tasty and well cooked, I had smoked haddock and poached egg, and the Full English the next day – a good start to the day.
We also ate in the pub in the evenings (without driving or cycling home in the dark there isn’t much choice in Walberswick). There was a good choice of tasty food and we had no problem with the waiting times as other reviewers had reported. Please make sure you have the Smokies for a starter, one of the nicest dishes I have ever eaten.
Several reviewers mention about the staff never smiling. All I will say was that at least two of them did!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFromMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
50 reviews
1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Ferry Road, Walberswick IP18 6TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range: £70 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away for a relaxing one night break or stay with us longer to discover all that the beautiful Suffolk coast has to offer. The Bell Inn has 6 cozy bed and breakfast rooms to choose from, all individually designed. Our rooms include double bedrooms and larger family rooms with great views over the beach, the gardens or down to the harbour. Dogs are made most welcome in 4 and 5 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Walberswick
Bell Inn Walberswick
The Bell Inn Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing