We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food, good beer, lovely old pub, tiny rooms.”
Review of The Bell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bell Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The only negative about the Bell is the size of the rooms. When I told the staff when checking out that this was the only negative, they stated that as the Inn was so old it did not have the capacity to offer more space. Despite this everything else about the Bell is first rate. The meals were delicious - they even provided me with a portion of samphire which I had asked about, to sample. The breakfasts were superb - the usual full English but also scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and kippers. The location is close to the sea and to the foot ferry for Southwold. The village is idyllic and the locals were really friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastellNeddWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

we stayed at the bell inn for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The staff were very welcoming and friendly and our room was clean and comfortable,very cosy.Our friends had a larger room upstairs which was also very nice.We had lunch in the beer garden,the bread was lovely.In the evening we had dinner there all four of us had different things but all agreed it was great value and delicious.Its in a great location with lots of walks and a beach.Will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Have just returned from a weekend break at the Bell Inn. Stayed in room 4 with our dog and we were all made so welcome. Food was excellent and nice touches in the room such as chocs and fresh milk really appreciated. Staff helpful and friendly and entire stay difficult to fault !

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Tiny room. Filthy shower. Food appalling one night, very average the next. Affraid will not bother again. Very overpriced.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank Ben10Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Stayed in the family room, very pricey but what a room, It would be hard to find a nicer more comfortable room. Very clean too. The staff were friendly and helpful, and very child friendly. But were let down by food tasting like cardboard and served cold. In past years when we have stayed here the food has been expensive but worth every penny, however, this year (we may have hit the chef's night off as it was a Monday) the steak was £14, not much thicker than a couple of sheets of paper and as tough as I imagine old boot soles would be. Cumberland sausge was burnt but served cold. Breakfast was tasty and served hot (chef back in maybe?)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSmiths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed for two nights in room 5. Overall the experience was quite a mix.

The room was on the small side, and did not have a wardrobe. It was decorated in a 1980's Laura Ashley style. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Noise levels from other guests in the adjacent room and the room directly above were quite high, but it is an old building.

There were some nice touches in the room when we arrived, some chocolates and fresh flowers. The tea making facilities were well appointed, but two mugs that I would be ashamed to give to a builder were provided to drink from.

Breakfast was OK. A good selection of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, etc. The cooked breakfast was mediocre. Again, there was not an unchipped piece of china in sight, and we had to listen to the Chemical Brothers and Faithless from the kitchen.

We also ate an evening meal in the bar. I had a Thai curry, which was not good.

The staff were courteous and efficient.

Our next stay in Walberswick will be in a rather smart looking B&B down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonReviewer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Stayed at the Bell again and we have been regularly for 12 years. Staff, particularly the manager and the owners great. Breakfasts to die for. Only minor fault is room 2 is very small and the shower room could do with a little TLC. Perhaps it is next on their list for doing?

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConradF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
2.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
759 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
825 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Ferry Road, Walberswick IP18 6TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range: £70 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away for a relaxing one night break or stay with us longer to discover all that the beautiful Suffolk coast has to offer. The Bell Inn has 6 cozy bed and breakfast rooms to choose from, all individually designed. Our rooms include double bedrooms and larger family rooms with great views over the beach, the gardens or down to the harbour. Dogs are made most welcome in 4 and 5 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Walberswick
Bell Inn Walberswick
The Bell Inn Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing