We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent response”
Review of The Bell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bell Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
1 review
“Excellent response”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Four of us stayed in two rooms.The food was excellent and the service exemplary.Both rooms had a plumbing problem resulting in cold showers.Obviously we complained but they were unable to fix the fault.On our departure the manager told us that our 3 day stay would be `on the house`.What an excellent and totally unexpected response!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrap45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    73
    34
    7
    12
See reviews for
68
105
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights at The Bell and really enjoyed our visit. We had the family room - number 6. The room was huge - a double bed and 2 singles - with even a fold up bed tucked under the double. The room was impeccable - even had a 40 inch TV. Occassional noise in the evening as we were over the bar - but no problemo.
The bar downstairs was great - such friendly staff. We sampled all the available Adnams beers - even getting a taster before we bought anything. We were given good pointers about local places to visit. Use the nearby ferry for a gently stroll over to Southwold.
The food in the evenings was good but the breakfasts were great.
I overheard some other guests describing less than perfect experiences but we certainly had a great stay and would happily stay there again - we will ask for room 6.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The only negative about the Bell is the size of the rooms. When I told the staff when checking out that this was the only negative, they stated that as the Inn was so old it did not have the capacity to offer more space. Despite this everything else about the Bell is first rate. The meals were delicious - they even provided me with a portion of samphire which I had asked about, to sample. The breakfasts were superb - the usual full English but also scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and kippers. The location is close to the sea and to the foot ferry for Southwold. The village is idyllic and the locals were really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastellNeddWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2009

we stayed at the bell inn for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The staff were very welcoming and friendly and our room was clean and comfortable,very cosy.Our friends had a larger room upstairs which was also very nice.We had lunch in the beer garden,the bread was lovely.In the evening we had dinner there all four of us had different things but all agreed it was great value and delicious.Its in a great location with lots of walks and a beach.Will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Have just returned from a weekend break at the Bell Inn. Stayed in room 4 with our dog and we were all made so welcome. Food was excellent and nice touches in the room such as chocs and fresh milk really appreciated. Staff helpful and friendly and entire stay difficult to fault !

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Tiny room. Filthy shower. Food appalling one night, very average the next. Affraid will not bother again. Very overpriced.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben10Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Stayed in the family room, very pricey but what a room, It would be hard to find a nicer more comfortable room. Very clean too. The staff were friendly and helpful, and very child friendly. But were let down by food tasting like cardboard and served cold. In past years when we have stayed here the food has been expensive but worth every penny, however, this year (we may have hit the chef's night off as it was a Monday) the steak was £14, not much thicker than a couple of sheets of paper and as tough as I imagine old boot soles would be. Cumberland sausge was burnt but served cold. Breakfast was tasty and served hot (chef back in maybe?)

  • Liked — comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmiths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: Ferry Road, Walberswick IP18 6TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away for a relaxing one night break or stay with us longer to discover all that the beautiful Suffolk coast has to offer. The Bell Inn has 6 cozy bed and breakfast rooms to choose from, all individually designed. Our rooms include double bedrooms and larger family rooms with great views over the beach, the gardens or down to the harbour. Dogs are made most welcome in 4 and 5 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Walberswick
Bell Inn Walberswick
The Bell Inn Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing