We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked 4 days only stayed 2”
Review of The Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor
Ranked #1 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Don't be misled by the photos of the chalets on their website, which were probably taken a long while ago- they are tired and run down.
Noisy central heating.
Security lights come on and off, across the chalets in the evening
Our first meal was very disappointing as the restaurant has a problem with flies.
Food did not represent good value. So called special Ham and leek pie (very small) with a few sliced cooked potatoes and supposed Salad ( Lettuce only) over £13.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

I am really suprised to read your review of us having spent time with you after hearing your decision to cut short your stay due to' recovering from illness'. You did mention the security lights, which other people would complain about if there was no light outside. You also mentioned the heating, I did mention finding another room for you. I am sorry you found our food poor value. If you use really good quality ingredients things are more expensive. Our pies are generally though of as substantial and are almost always in the same sized pie tin.

You mentioned the flies which, as we are surronded on 3 sides by water and marsh and have a lot of beautifully kept pigs in surronding fields are unavoidable at this time of year, We would have to close all windows and doors in order to avoid this problem all the time

. You fail to give us any credit for not charging you for your full stay, or even any cancellation. I feel 2 stars does not paint the full picture all things considering. I genuinely hope that you are now fully recovered and wish that during our 15 minute conversation you had felt more able to talk to me truthfully about your feelings.
Yours sincerely
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Recently had a two night stay at The Anchor, following good reports in several guides.
When I initially enquired, I was offered a "Compact Single Room with a Double Bed built into the eaves of the Main Building" which sounded a little claustrophobic, so opted for a Garden room instead.
The room was quite spacious, although the bathroom area could have been a little more generous. Unfortunately, the interior was in need of some refurbishment - especially as the price charged was not inexpensive. In fact the whole Garden area was looking a little shabby, but we are in Autumn I suppose. There was no remote for the TV and I was promised a replacement would be purchased - it didn't happen unfortunately.
The staff at the pub were all very polite & attentive and the food served was of good quality with generous portions, so no issues there.
I was told at checkout that a closure was planned over the Winter period to make some refurbishment. Perhaps once this has been done, it will offer better value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_T429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We chose this pub because of the glowing review it was given by Fiona Duncan in The Telegraph.
My husband went to school in Suffolk but this was a first time visit for me. The Anchor staff were very friendly, very helpful and we used the pub as a touring base for the week. The food was excellent in a trendy way - we stayed in one of the chalets and had a problem with the lights - the owner himself came and dealt with the matter and an electrician was called for - lights sorted. We loved the cosy pub atmosphere. Only tiny niggle was the home baked bread was not toast friendly - but that could be due to my aged teeth! It is a superb location, the staff friendly and helpful.- perhaps the chalet's slightly over priced - but we loved our stay very much indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for chalet facing the wood and lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selina436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We chose this pub due to its good reviews in the good beer guide and walked from Southwold to get there. The food was very good and well cooked but the service was indifferent. The waiting staff chatted among themselves and didn't give a warm welcome, they turned away a couple, 2 children (and a dog) when they asked for sandwiches (which they do not serve at lunchtimes, or at least not on the day we went). Strange since they had baguettes for sale on the bar, what would it have taken to put some filling in for a one-off occasion.

We sat in the bar area which was comfortable and casual, I can recommend the crab linguine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for your review and giving us feedback on the linguine. I am sorry you took exception to our not doing sandwiches. We struggle to keep up with the bread we make every day. If people do want a light lunch we do offer, bread, cheese, ploughmans, pate, gravadlax, 2 soups, bacon and cheese wedges, humus and cruditie, garlic bread, olives and crisps. We also offer a childrens menu, as well as some daily lunch specials. We think that that is a reasonably large and varied selection.
I really am sorry that you felt the staff to be indifferent. We have shown them all your review and pointed out that it is the opposite of the attitude of the core staff, who are all disappointed in your comments. Our Summer team are now back at University and our Christmas team I can assure you will reinforce our values of care and attention.
Best wishes
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

as a local i have sat often at bar and seen good service. However, after eating with friends recently i have to say the service was very poor. The normally attentive bar staff were leaning over the bar gossiping amongst themselves. I had to ask again for water that had been ordered and not deliverrd. Our meal arrived wrong and in dribs and drabs, then when a member of the party as for a condiment it never arrived, the waitress was chatting to her friend round the corner. The apologises were weak and not from the heart.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My daughter and I





My daughter and I stayed in a chalet at the Anchor and had a most enjoyable stay. All staff without exception were charming, helpful and friendly. Any request was responded to, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.,. The cooking is outstanding and the wine list excellent and we felt prices were very reasonable for such high quality. We have stayed in other, more expensive hotels in the area but were we to return to Suffolk the Anchor would certainly be our first choice.

Room Tip: Room 14 was excellent, pleasant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had eaten at the Anchor 3 consecutive years and enjoyed the pairing of wines and beers to food, my partner was stunned by her Spanish fish stew with a Manzanilla sherry. The staff are always cheerful and helpful, on our last visit we stayed overnight and the room was brilliant both for us and our dogs who had their own lawn and patio area! It was ideal and we enjoyed every moment of our stay especially the food and wine! Highly recommended and we're hoping to be back later next month!

Room Tip: If you have dogs ask for a room overlooking the garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
2.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
760 reviews
1.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
341 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
402 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sail Lofts
Sail Lofts
#17 of 19 in Southwold
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor

Address: The Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range: £98 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A village pub with a difference. Our addiction to fresh, top quality, locally sourced where possible produce, combined with a thirst for excellence have evolved into what has been described as a "must go to place on the Suffolk coast." Our approach to food is robust; we want to put on each plate satisfying combinations of flavours and textures. We have a good range of characterful draught beers, and numerous world class bottled beers, organic soft drinks and over 150 drop dead lovely wines from some of the earth’s most inspired winemakers. We offer the same menu throughout, with more formal Restaurant dining on a bookings basis and more relaxed walk-ins, in the Bar. We also have seating for 150 outside on three terraces, with table service available for those warmer days. Our renovated flint barn is a highly versatile space, equipped with a drop-down screen and a projector, ideal for business meetings, strategy reviews, team building exercises, corporate training, presentations, film showings or private parties to mention just a few of its uses. It has been put to good use in the cause of village based charity fund raising projects as well as providing the theatre for Food Safari events, cask beer festivals and the Aldebrough Doc. Fest. fringe event weekend November 2011. Free time relaxation can include everything from Golf at several well established Courses, to Horse Riding at Bramfield Equestrian Centre, Sky Diving for all levels at Beccels, Aromatherapy in walking distance or sea fishing of Walberswick Coast with Mark Felton. Beer Academy and WSCT (Wine and Spirits) educational courses are available by arrangement. Our Hotel Accommodation: We have just undergone a thorough renovation of our Now Cedar Clad Chalets, enhancing the environment in which to enjoy the Sea View. We offer 10 rooms in total, 6 spacious en suite room garden chalets, as well as several room options in the main building. All the rooms have a large flat screen TV, with Freeview and IPod Alarm Clock docking Stations. Ample free parking is provided with direct access to the beach, Dunwich Forest or the Marshes. RSPB Minsmere, Southwold and Aldeburgh are all close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Walberswick
The Anchor Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing