We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the breakfast”
Review of The Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor
Ranked #1 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for one night in February and had a lovely meal in the bar served by very friendly staff. We were really looking forward to breakfast but it was so disappointing. Smoked haddock was ordered by my husband and I decided on kippers. The waiter came back and said they had no kippers quickly followed by the chef putting his head around the door and saying he had found a kipper that I could have. I knew this was a mistake to have it but I felt I couldn't say no. While these were cooking my husband decided to have some marmalade. Jams and marmalade were in ramekins and neither my husband or the waiter could decide which was jam and which was marmalade. Our breakfasts arrived but on tasting my kipper it was only luke warm which leads me to think it was frozen and had not been thawed out properly. My husband's smoked haddock was also luke warm. We pushed them to one side and when the waiter came to clear the plates he did not ask us what was wrong with them. My husband told the waiter that they were a real disappointment but the waiter just walked off. We decided to have some toast with marmalade but unfortunately the toast was burnt- something that should not happen. It was fortunate that we had such a nice meal the night before.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

After a great walk from Southwold we stopped at the Anchor Inn for lunch. Dog friendly, we had some wonderful food, wine and puddings!! All delicious. Choice was a little slim and when busy service a little slow, but it was Sunday and well worth the wait. Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jamiedavidson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We chose the Anchor as it is recommended in the Good Food Guide…….and it did not disappoint! The accommodation was good, the food was excellent and the service was even better! In addition to their obvious love of good food these people have a real feeling for quality beer plus great knowledge of wine…..and it is all fairly priced.

We will be back to get some more of the Anchor of Walberswick.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

After reading through some if these reviews, I am dumbfounded. I could not recommend The Anchor highly enough.

The staff are always so welcoming, the atmosphere warm (probably to do with the open fire) and the good and drink excellent.

My partner and I will occasionally pop in for a couple of glasses of prosecco and a pudding, and are always made to feel welcome and accommodated.

I wouldn't be put off reading other reviews, as this really is a little gem!!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank EmilyMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Emily,
Thank you so much for your review. It really lifts the spirit of our team, since we are all really committed to what we do and really do enjoy looking after our customers. We have a great team, both in the kitchen and out front and are really looking forward to being even better this year! Come and pick up a loaf of our bread as a 'thank you'.

We look forward to welcoming you again,
best wishes from us all.
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having visited the Anchor on New Years Day we found every table in the pub set and reserved for dining. The one remaining table was 'reserved for locals' We found it very sad that a pub with no less than three rooms one of which was a good sized dining room was so greedy for revenue from food that ordinary folk, local to Suffolk and Norfolk if not the actual village could be turned away because they went into a pub - not a restaurant seeking a drink.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sandra186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Yes, we definately are a pub and we welcome people who would like to drop in for a drink or light lunch. We are very popular with families, meeting for a walk on the beach followed by lunch., It is very fair that we accept bookings, since we are very remote. During the Summer we have 3 large seating areas outside for people. Over the Christmas period we put up a marquee for additional space which had seating and was decorated for Christmas. On the days when it was not raining and blowing a gale I ran street food outside as a more speedy option where our customers could use our heated flint barn or the marquee. On New Years day the weather was unusually bad and it was not physically possible to run my BBQ. To my knowledge, everyone Luke or I spoke to were offered a table in a reasonable time, as we re jigged our table plan to accommodate people sheltering from the wind and cold.
It definately is not that we are 'gready for revenue', merely that New Years Day is a time when lots of people go out for a walk followed by lunch. From what I understand, you have given us a 2 star rating, without sampling what we have on offer.
I am sorry that we did not manage to look after yourselves in the way we would have liked.
Best wishes
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I've stayed at the Anchor twice - during shooting trips to Suffolk. It is a wonderfully welcoming pub with very comfortable and spacious accommodation, great food and excellent breakfasts. The rooms are large, very clean and well furnished, with WiFi. Last year I stayed on Thanksgiving Night and had a wonderful meal of Grilled Oysters and the roast Turkey all washed down with excellent Adnams beer. Breakfast was local keepers with perfectly one poached eggs (an art in itself). This year I was too late for dinner but had an excellent evening chatting with the landlord and his barman over beer and then Ardbeg malt whisky. Breakfast was full English - perfectly cooked and with the best pot of strong tea I've had in ages. Set me up for a day's shooting. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. Excellent. Will return again and again and again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSAfricaHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We all enjoyed reading it, with your great attention to detail!
We will do our best to repeat it when you are next up this way.
Best wishes
SOphie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The day before we arrived at the Anchor I read a few bad reviews on here and was quite worried. However, on our arrival on a busy Sunday lunch my fears vanished. We were greeted by a smiling member of staff, who although he couldn't serve us sandwiches explained that we if we wanted only a light lunch it was okay to order just a starter from the menu. After a warming bowl of delicious homemade soup we were then shown to our room. Very happy with the cleanliness, size and amazing views. Really comfortable and relaxing. We had a bulb blow as we switched on the light, my husband reported it and within minutes it was replaced.
We ate at the Anchor both nights of our stay and were very pleased with quality of food and wine offered.
I would like suggest to prospective visitors to the Anchor to ignore the terrible reviews. We were very happy with the service offered and had a most enjoyable stay and are planning a return visit early next year.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main part of building. Room 5 has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianem78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
340 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
825 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sail Lofts
Sail Lofts
#17 of 19 in Southwold
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor

Address: The Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range: £98 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A village pub with a difference. Our addiction to fresh, top quality, locally sourced where possible produce, combined with a thirst for excellence have evolved into what has been described as a "must go to place on the Suffolk coast." Our approach to food is robust; we want to put on each plate satisfying combinations of flavours and textures. We have a good range of characterful draught beers, and numerous world class bottled beers, organic soft drinks and over 150 drop dead lovely wines from some of the earth’s most inspired winemakers. We offer the same menu throughout, with more formal Restaurant dining on a bookings basis and more relaxed walk-ins, in the Bar. We also have seating for 150 outside on three terraces, with table service available for those warmer days. Our renovated flint barn is a highly versatile space, equipped with a drop-down screen and a projector, ideal for business meetings, strategy reviews, team building exercises, corporate training, presentations, film showings or private parties to mention just a few of its uses. It has been put to good use in the cause of village based charity fund raising projects as well as providing the theatre for Food Safari events, cask beer festivals and the Aldebrough Doc. Fest. fringe event weekend November 2011. Free time relaxation can include everything from Golf at several well established Courses, to Horse Riding at Bramfield Equestrian Centre, Sky Diving for all levels at Beccels, Aromatherapy in walking distance or sea fishing of Walberswick Coast with Mark Felton. Beer Academy and WSCT (Wine and Spirits) educational courses are available by arrangement. Our Hotel Accommodation: We have just undergone a thorough renovation of our Now Cedar Clad Chalets, enhancing the environment in which to enjoy the Sea View. We offer 10 rooms in total, 6 spacious en suite room garden chalets, as well as several room options in the main building. All the rooms have a large flat screen TV, with Freeview and IPod Alarm Clock docking Stations. Ample free parking is provided with direct access to the beach, Dunwich Forest or the Marshes. RSPB Minsmere, Southwold and Aldeburgh are all close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Walberswick
The Anchor Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing