We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”
Review of The Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor
Ranked #1 of 3 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a wonderful pizza here on the weekend - great idea in the outdoor woodburning oven and really tasty. Great setting for this pub and the style inside and out very clean lines and inviting. The evening meal we had was maybe not so good for the price - the prices a bit steep and the choices maybe could have been a little more pedestrian - the aubergine bake not good value at all. On balance though a very nice place to sit and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odette-Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    63
    47
    23
    22
See reviews for
68
132
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My mother took me here for my birthday meal because we have previously enjoyed eating at this restaurant on numerous occasions, however, I have to say that we were both extremely disappointed with the appalling level of service we received especially in view of the prices charged. My mother had booked a table a couple of weeks in advance, however, when we went to be seated there seemed to be a high degree of confusion as to whether the booking had been taken or altered and we were eventually seated at a table in the bar, together with some other diners, without apology. The table was a mess with newspapers scattered all over it as well as debris from previous diners. We actually had to ask one of the staff to clean the table and also to bring us some cutlery. The cutlery they eventually brought was insufficient and we had to ask for some more after we had finished our starter. The food and wine was as usual good, if on the pricey side, however the service was memorably bad and one of the worst experiences I have ever had in terms of hospitality which is why I have given an average rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The restaurant was very over priced and the waitress added drinks to our bill which were not ours. Overall I would not come back again. The food aims at a la carte standard but falls short and the price is far too high. I had steak which was a small poor cut with chips tomato and mushroom poorly presented on the plate. Wouldnt recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterfriday86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Been going here for years and years, the food has always been top quality, The Staff have always looked after me and my friends in every way possible and they have a fantastic selection of amazing beer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlunBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Alun,
Thank you for your long and loyal support, we love looking after you and your friends and always will. It is worth so much to have the support of customers who have known us since the begining.
All the team really value your taking the time to write a review.
See you soon,
SOphie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whepstead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have been visiting the Anchor Inn for the last 8 Years. I am now lucky enough to live here & call it my local, which happens to be a great place to eat & drink - everybody is catered for. The food is fantastic, maybe because Sophie & her staff are so passionate about it, the atmosphere relaxed, the service helpful & friendly. All the ingredients for the perfect pub. I have eaten here many times & never been disappointed. I think it is hard to get everything just right, but most of the time, well in my case all of the time, they do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehorseWhepstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review, as you know it makes such a difference to the team. We try really hard to make everyone feel special when they are here, but it does occasionally get quite busy. . I hope we see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have visited The Anchor over the years, and each time we return it is just as good as ever. The food is superb (yes, the fish curry...) the garden rooms are very comfortable, and the gardens and surrounding seascape, village, pathways and pubs make this a complete delight (even in the rain). But what the Anchor has that is really special is that 'X' factor: it feels like a place where the people who work there enjoy what they do together and this creates a particular atmosphere of welcome and enjoyment. It is a happy, welcoming and beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Dogs are welcome in some of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We just returned from two nights at the Anchor over the bank holiday weekend. We ate there a couple of years ago, and the food was so good we decided we'd try staying there this time. We stayed in one of the garden chalets, which was basic but clean and pleasant. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and the food was still delicious. The bed was comfy (and I'm really fussy) and no noise disturbed us at night. It's a peaceful place. The children loved finding the basket of children's books, and climbing the trees in the beautiful gardens.

Walberswick itself is just lovely. We stayed in Southwold last time we visited the area, and Walberswick is much more unspoilt. The beach is beautiful. There are fun things for children (5 and 7) to do such as catching crabs and playing in the sand dunes. We all enjoyed the longish walk over the bridge to Southwold and the fun and friendly ferry ride back again.

The only thing I didn't enjoy was getting the bill, which was my own fault for gorging myself on the food and lots and lots of Adnams Broadside.

Room Tip: The garden chalets are peaceful and beautifully made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walberswick
1.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
676 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor

Property: The Anchor
Address: The Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A village pub with a difference. Our addiction to fresh, top quality, locally sourced where possible produce, combined with a thirst for excellence have evolved into what has been described as a "must go to place on the Suffolk coast." Our approach to food is robust; we want to put on each plate satisfying combinations of flavours and textures. We have a good range of characterful draught beers, and numerous world class bottled beers, organic soft drinks and over 150 drop dead lovely wines from some of the earth’s most inspired winemakers. We offer the same menu throughout, with more formal Restaurant dining on a bookings basis and more relaxed walk-ins, in the Bar. We also have seating for 150 outside on three terraces, with table service available for those warmer days. Our renovated flint barn is a highly versatile space, equipped with a drop-down screen and a projector, ideal for business meetings, strategy reviews, team building exercises, corporate training, presentations, film showings or private parties to mention just a few of its uses. It has been put to good use in the cause of village based charity fund raising projects as well as providing the theatre for Food Safari events, cask beer festivals and the Aldebrough Doc. Fest. fringe event weekend November 2011. Free time relaxation can include everything from Golf at several well established Courses, to Horse Riding at Bramfield Equestrian Centre, Sky Diving for all levels at Beccels, Aromatherapy in walking distance or sea fishing of Walberswick Coast with Mark Felton. Beer Academy and WSCT (Wine and Spirits) educational courses are available by arrangement. Our Hotel Accommodation: We have just undergone a thorough renovation of our Now Cedar Clad Chalets, enhancing the environment in which to enjoy the Sea View. We offer 10 rooms in total, 6 spacious en suite room garden chalets, as well as several room options in the main building. All the rooms have a large flat screen TV, with Freeview and IPod Alarm Clock docking Stations. Ample free parking is provided with direct access to the beach, Dunwich Forest or the Marshes. RSPB Minsmere, Southwold and Aldeburgh are all close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Walberswick
The Anchor Walberswick, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing